We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Previous reviews were not wrong - excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Gletschergarten
Ranked #1 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Yet another review from me scoring highly, why, because I use TA a lot and only choose, if possible, hotels that rate highly with other reviewers. This gem is no exception. It's all been said before but it is warm,welcoming, comfortable, clean, well fitted out, delightful staff eager to please, well situated just through town away from the hustle and bustle, delightful buffet breakfast (with boiled eggs if you ask) tasty and well presented evening meals but fixed menu (which didn't bother us as our hosts were happy to be flexible within it). Very attentive and knowledgeable hosts Gabriela and Grehard who couldn't do enough to see that all was well and provide whatever you asked for, information in abundance and tickets for trains etc.
We had south facing balcony rooms and were worth the extra charges, pity it wasn't a bit wamer so we could have enjoyed the outside seating more but the weather will be what it is. Bathroom was more than adequate and well fitted with plenty of hot water, bedroom roomy and very clean and comfortable.
A must - the train up to the top of Europe, the Jungfrau but I would suggest that you get up and off. weather had been cloudy for a few days so when we took the trip so did hordes of others but the system copes! . .
We are already thinking of a return, perhaps with family, but as I have said in other reviews there is such a lot of world to see.Thanks again Gabriela and Gerhard - congratulations on a job well done.

Room Tip: I would think most have a view of the mountains in some form but our south facing room was excellent...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (831)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Gletschergarten
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

484 - 490 of 832 reviews

Reviewed May 25, 2013

this hotel a simple , romantic place for relaxation and lovers, first time when we first step to the hotel asked for a room , we were surprise how friendly is the owner how was on charge of the hotel , he and his wife , he show us the room , it was simple but very nice with nice mountain view , and very clean , hotel management is one of the best service we seen . owner and his nice wife was doing all their best to make guest happy and comfortable , when ever you asked about any thing they will help and provide it , i asked for iPhone charger and the owner give us his own charger to use ,

we loved them , dinner also was nice , beside breakfast , we feel comfortable , we love hotels that make us feel we are their home guest , trying to satisfy us .

location was also good near the supermarket and restaurants and close to the mountain .

owner wife whom was also working at the hotel was very friendly and helpful , they are both nice when we checked out she gave me a very beautiful table napkins as a gift , this was a very sweet from her , i still keep it as a memory of that romantic place.


Grindelwald have a very panoramic views specially during sunset , i thought we are dreaming or its the heaven , i toked some photos using my mobile and it was really beautiful the ice on the mountain and the landscape .

i recommend this hotel as its very affordable comparing to other hotel nearby which is very pricey , and i don't think there service will be the same .

free parking is provided, breakfast , and dinner if you want you can pay for it



always stay in a place like home ,and i always recommend to stay in a hotels that is family operated , they will work from their heart , and will treat you as you are their personal home guest.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mai s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Hotel Gletschergarten is one of the friendliest hotels we have stayed in. Gabriela and Gerhard are the most perfect hosts as nothing is too much trouble,they offer lifts if needed,advice on where to visit especially when the weather is bad.
Our room was warm and cosy with the most beautiful view and a big balcony (pity we could not use this as the unseasonal weather) breakfast is plentiful and dinner is beautifully served by the charming Miguel.
Take time to enjoy a drink before dinner in one of the lounges with a open fire.

We loved our short stay here and look forward to our next visit.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Beautiful hotel at a beautiful location, few minutes walk from the train station. The owners Gerry and Gabriella were charming and helpful during our 3 night stay. Gerry himself picked us from the train station on arrival and dropped us back ,which was very thoughtful of him. We were given room with the most beautiful view which we truly loved. Room was very clean and interior is well maintained. They guided us for our jungfraujoch trip, tickets for all the mountain tours are readily available with them which is a great help. Overall we had a comfortable and pleasant stay at this hotel and would love to stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NaziaSharjah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

First things first: the hotel is a pleasant walk through the village from the train station but please note that they will gladly pick you up and drive you to the railway station if so desired (we did not know). In general, if you are on an adventure outside the hotel and need some help, do not hesitate to call the hotel for tips on food, transport etc ...
We stayed here on a romantic ski holiday in March 2013. Previous reviews are accurate. The hotel is just perfect if you are looking for more traditional chalet style accommodation. Staff is very friendly and helpful, and the hotel has many corners that gently take you back in time to humanity's first ski trips. Our room had stunning views on the horns and Eigerwand.
We hope to return one day, be it in winter or other seasons.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Cartman79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Spent 1 week at this wonderful hotel and loved the entire stay. Gabriele and Gerhard are wonderful hosts who accomodated everything from transportation to and from the train station to recommending the best skiing conditions each day. The hotel set-up is perfect for skiers as there are secure, warm places to store equipment so that it is dry and ready for the next day. The rooms and food were wonderful. The hotel location was very convenient. A varied and wonderful breakfast was included in the room price. The hotel restaurant staff was very capable and friendly. Also enjoyed relaxing in the gathering room every evening by the fireplace. This is the place to stay in Grindlewald!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank maskier14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The location is just a few minutes walk from the centre of the town. The staff are warm and friendly and always willing to help,
If you were to give them any criticism it would be the menu could have been changed around a bit. A tad "same same" after a week. However the whole experience was rather enjoyable.
Would we stay there again?...Certainly.

Room Tip: I think any room would be acceptable. They are a good size. We walked out onto a balcony and good en...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank yneverknow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.8 mi away
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
#2 of 41 in Grindelwald
956 reviews
0.3 mi away
Parkhotel Schoenegg
Parkhotel Schoenegg
#4 of 41 in Grindelwald
352 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#3 of 41 in Grindelwald
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Derby Hotel
Derby Hotel
#5 of 41 in Grindelwald
511 reviews
0.7 mi away
Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof Grindelwald
0.1 mi away
Alpenblick Hotel Pub & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gletschergarten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gletschergarten

Address: Obere Gletscherstrasse 1 | 3818 Grindelwald, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Grindelwald
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Grindelwald
#1 Family Hotel in Grindelwald
#3 Best Value Hotel in Grindelwald
Price Range: $206 - $301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gletschergarten 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Over 115 years old, the traditional family-run Hotel Gletschergarten in Grindelwald offers you panoramic mountain views, free WiFi and a free internet terminal. In good snow conditions, a ski run leads almost to the hotel. Breakfast is served every morning. After a day outside you can relax at the fireplace in the lounge. Half board, including a 4-course dinner, is available on request. A free pick-up service from the railway or bus station is offered. The Grindelwald First Cable Car Station is reachable within just a few minutes' walk, and the bus stop is just 20 metres away from the Gletschergarten Hotel. Further free time activities can be organised by the help of the staff. The hotel also has a new renovated wellness area with sauna and steam bath. You enjoy free access to the sports centre of Grindelwald, which features an indoor pool and an ice skating rink. Various tickets and ski passes can be bought at the regular rates from the reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Gletschergarten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gletschergarten Hotel Grindelwald

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing