We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay in the Mountains”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Gletschergarten
Ranked #1 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Stay in the Mountains”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Our group ranged from grandparents to grandchildren and we all enjoyed a relaxing and comfortable stay with excellent food. Our hosts were well informed and helpful and were most accommodating to our wishes---they really made us feel like part of their family. Totally recommended.
John and Jenny Mills---Wellington,New Zealand

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

779 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    674
    92
    9
    4
    0
See reviews for
222
387
36
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

My partner and I spent the first week of the new year here and I couldn't imagine any better place to have a perfectly relaxing holiday. Gary and Gabriella are amazing hosts, always helpful and they even picked us up from the train station. They and the hotel staff created a warm, welcoming and cosy atmosphere. The room was really clean, lovely and spacious, a real cute nest after a day of skiing. The food was brilliant including the breakfast too.
The best hotel I've ever stayed in with the views of the village, mountains and especially we were fascinated by the Eiger.
Wonderful experience, strongly recommend to anyone!

Room Tip: Corner rooms have amazing view of the mountains (Eiger too).
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hedvig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clemmons, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed January 6, 2013

My wife and I spent Christmas week of 2012 at the Gletschergarten and we cannot say enough superlative things about the hotel, the owners or the hotel staff. This was our third stay at the Gletschergarten over quite a few years and the newest generation of the family, Gary and Gabriela, are perfect hosts. We presented them with several service "challenges" while we were there, not the least of which was my request for some help in recording the Helene Fischer Christmas Show on TV on Christmas Day! Gary came through with a solution that was spot on, and I have my recording. Try that somewhere else!

If you are looking for a "modern" hotel that is all cold plastic and hard stainless steel, this is not the hotel for you. However, if you are looking for a "family treasure" that has been in the same family and lovingly cared for through 4 generations, going on now more that 113 years, this is the place for you! If you are looking for personal attentive service that is absolutely second to none, this is the hotel for you. If you are looking for world class food, expertly prepared and presented, this is the place for you. If you are looking for a holiday experience that is uniquely Swiss in every regard, this is the place for you.

This was our second time to spend our Christmas here and Santa came to visit on Christmas Eve. He had holiday surprises for everyone. In the dining room there was proper Swiss Christmas Tree with real candles on it. A special treat for sure.

Oh, and did I mention the views? The rooms have huge balconies and the views of the Alps in every direction are nothing short of breathtaking!

In summary - an excellent value and another memorable experience. We'll be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We spent 3 nights at the Gletschergarten in December. It's a fantastic and comfortable family hotel, with absolutely stunning views of the surrounding mountains (see attachjed picture). The hotel is only about 50 metres from the "First" gondola, and you can ski back down to just across the road at the end of the day. Being right near the village, there are lots of bars and restaurants within an easy stroll. The family have owned the hotel for generations, and couldn't have been more friendly, helpful or accommodating. They picked us up from the train station on arrival, and made sure that we had everything we could possibly need. A buffet style breakfast is included, and the light and spacious breakfast room has amazing views of the Eiger. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Our room looked out to the left of the hotel on the third floor, and the view was fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GemmaTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toowoomba
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We have just been back for our 2nd family stay at the Gletschergarten.

As always, hosts Gary and Gabriela - and their 3 boys and Gabriela's parents - created for us the perfect environment - warm and cosy rooms, friendly and professional service, fabulous food and a log fire. The views of the village, the church bells, and the Eiger you can almost touch - these completed the perfect experience for us. Thanks. Stan

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank stanToowoomba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Coast NSW
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

The hotel is situated towards the eastern end of the village, an easy walk from the train station. Rooms are quiet spacious by European standards with large bed and sitting area. There is no fridge but the rooms have free WiFi. The Chalet owners Gary and Gabriela are great hosts and always helpful and friendly. The chalet is situated on the main road through town so the rooms facing the road can experience road noise but only during the day. The chalet is constructed of timber thus noise from other rooms can be heard especially footsteps from rooms above but did not find it too bad. Our stay was during winter and found the chalet was kept too hot but at least windows can be opened. Meals are a set menu, changed every day and quality was excellent and adequate quantity.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the 3rd floor an away from main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mbuckland007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 26, 2012

I am currently spending the last day of my week-long stay at Hotel Gletschergarten, and the staff here have been amazing and gracious. The food has been impeccable every night, and the rooms are very comfortable, not to mention the gorgeous snowy view.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.8 mi away
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
#2 of 41 in Grindelwald
921 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#3 of 41 in Grindelwald
537 reviews
0.6 mi away
Derby Hotel
Derby Hotel
#5 of 41 in Grindelwald
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Parkhotel Schoenegg
Parkhotel Schoenegg
#4 of 41 in Grindelwald
315 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alpenblick Hotel Pub & Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Grindelwald
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gletschergarten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gletschergarten

Property: Hotel Gletschergarten
Address: Obere Gletscherstrasse 1 | 3818 Grindelwald, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Grindelwald
#1 Family Hotel in Grindelwald
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Grindelwald
#2 Best Value Hotel in Grindelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gletschergarten 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Over 115 years old, the traditional family-run Hotel Gletschergarten in Grindelwald offers you panoramic mountain views, free WiFi and a free internet terminal. In good snow conditions, a ski run leads almost to the hotel. Breakfast is served every morning. After a day outside you can relax at the fireplace in the lounge. Half board, including a 4-course dinner, is available on request. A free pick-up service from the railway or bus station is offered. The Grindelwald First Cable Car Station is reachable within just a few minutes' walk, and the bus stop is just 20 metres away from the Gletschergarten Hotel. Further free time activities can be organised by the help of the staff. The hotel also has a new renovated wellness area with sauna and steam bath. You enjoy free access to the sports centre of Grindelwald, which features an indoor pool and an ice skating rink. Various tickets and ski passes can be bought at the regular rates from the reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Gletschergarten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gletschergarten Hotel Grindelwald

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing