We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb Hotel with the most amazing views!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Gletschergarten

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Gletschergarten
Ranked #1 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
Ashburn, VA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Superb Hotel with the most amazing views!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights (Sept 27,28) and have just wonderful things to say about this charming jewel of a hotel. We arrived late in the evening for checkin and were greeted by tbuilding covered in beautiful flowers and swiss charm! The owners (wonderful couple) of the hotel who were the nicest and pleasant hosts greeted us personally and took care of our quick check-in process. They upgraded our room to a suite and the private balcony of our room had the most magnificient views situated right under the Alps. The hospitality and service of this charming hotel can compare to ANY 5 star hotel!! The next morning, the owners helped us plan our hikes and actually printed out our lift tickets so that we wouldn't have to wait in any lines...not that there were any. Late Sept, the entire area is practically empty. After a long day of hikes, we had dinner at the hotel and the sevice and food were great! Again, the owners made sure everything was perfect and went out of their way to accomodate anything we needed. On our last day, they even drove us to the train station so that we wouldn't miss our train! I have nothing but great things to say about this hotel and highly recommend it to anyone visiting Grindelwald. Kudos to the owners for their hospitality and service.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MMLAshburn_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    646
    87
    9
    4
    0
See reviews for
218
368
34
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Middletown, NJ
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

We made a nostalgia trip to one of our favorite places in the world - Grindelwald. We'd been there several times over the years but had not been back for some time and I know, it's said you can't go home again but for six days we did. Wonderful experiences all over again starting with this great hotel. The current fourth generation family members expertly managing the place are the best innkeepers I've ever encountered. No question was asked that they didn't know the answer to and always responded with enthusiam and good humor no matter how repititious or mundane. The place is immaculate throughout and the rooms reflect the expert carpentry and architechture of Swiss artisans. And outside, it's the quintissential chalet that one always thinks of - window boxes full of glorious flowers, peaked steep rooflines, wide overhangs and the color of aged pine. The dining room looks out to a glacier and the Eiger so the breakfast is a feast for the eyes as well. Then they offer a set price menu for a four course dinner at CHF40 - about 42 USD. In my opinion you just can't go wrong here.

One very important tip - if you're going to be there for five or more days BE SURE AND BUY THE TRANSPORTATION PASS. It will make your moving around so much easier and save you plenty. There's also a three day that doesn't cover quite as much. This and all tickets can be bought at the front desk.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tomskoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castletown, Isle of Man
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

A fantastic mix of traditional and modern which works really well. We too were offered a choice of rooms with no prompting or asking. The hosts had seemingly inexhaustible knowledge of hiking trails, bus and train timetables, weather forecasts and things to do and see. They will book and print tickets for most attractions, including ski passes they told us.

The hotel is over 100 years old but has been extended and modernised without losing that old world feel. However, everything works and nothing is tatty or shabby. The dining room has excellent views towards the Eiger and Wetterhorn and with the quality of the breakfasts it was hard to get going in the morning. The staff were always helpful and cheerful and spoke very fluent English.

Grindelwald is in a beautiful position in the Bernese Oberland with easy rail and bus access. The town stretches for quite a way and the Hotel Gretschgarten is only a 15 minute walk from the railway station but a quick call will arrange transport. Once checked in you are presented with a Grindelwald visitor pass which will get you free or discounted travel on local public transport.

A thoroughly enjoyable and stress free stay, thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisSukie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

This was a very friendly hotel. The owners were very helpful and welcoming.
The hotel was built in a traditional style, in keeping with the area and had beautiful flowers all round the building, with hummingbirds on them on the sunny days.
We paid for a superior room, which was a good size and had a private balcony. They made sure we had a quiet room, on request.
Although all hotels in Switzerland are expensive, this was on the reasonable end of things, and it was definitely a good place to stay in for a summer walking and scenery holiday.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HampshireMim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

We have been to Grindelwald many times over the last 15 years, but this was our first stay at the Hotel Gletschergarden. We stayed for 10 nights in an apartment but had breakfast and dinner in the hotel. We find it hard to praise the hotel highly enough. The proprietors try so very hard to ensure that their guests are given the very best service possible. The staff are excellent, the breakfast a very comprehensive buffet and the dinner was quite without doubt the best we have ever experienced at a Swiss hotel. In 10 nights the menu was not repeated once and the standard is consistently exceptionally high. The apartment was very nice with lovely views. We certainly would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ReviewerDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed for two nights at this very nice, traditional hotel a 10 minute walk from the Grindelwald railway station.

As others have mentioned, the owners are very welcoming. We were even offered a choice of rooms (that's a first!). The room we chose had a beautiful view from the balcony past the church opposite to a glorious vista through the valley. There is also a fantastic view from the breakfast room.

As it was raining we were offered a lift down to the railway station. Excellent service from owners that are obviously passionate about their guests enjoying themselves.

While in town we also recommend a drink at the Avocado Bar and a meal at the C & M Cafe.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndPulli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
101 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

This hotel has been in the same family for over 100 years. The owners are friendly and helpful. There have definitely been upgrades over the years and overall it is nice. There are many family heirlooms displayed which add a homey kind of feel. The balconies are bedecked with beautiful flowers. We had the prettiest tiny hummingbird come to our balcony one morning to feed on the flowers. The floors are thin and could be a problem if you are a light sleeper. The Eiger was right in front of our balcony and we were fortunate to have beautiful weather every day. Breakfast was included and it was very good. We elected to dine there in the evenings and the food was superb. Our stay was wonderful, however, it is not for the budget conscious. Switzerland is expensive, the hotels, food, everything. I would give 4.5 stars overall.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Niah707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.8 mi away
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
#2 of 41 in Grindelwald
5.0 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#4 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
0.6 mi away
Derby Hotel
Derby Hotel
#5 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tschuggen
Hotel Tschuggen
#6 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
0.3 mi away
Parkhotel Schoenegg
Parkhotel Schoenegg
#3 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alpenblick Hotel Pub & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gletschergarten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gletschergarten

Property: Hotel Gletschergarten
Address: Obere Gletscherstrasse 1 | 3818 Grindelwald, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Grindelwald
#1 Family Hotel in Grindelwald
#1 Romantic Hotel in Grindelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gletschergarten 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Over 115 years old, the traditional family-run Hotel Gletschergarten in Grindelwald offers you panoramic mountain views, free WiFi and a free internet terminal. In good snow conditions, a ski run leads almost to the hotel. Breakfast is served every morning. After a day outside you can relax at the fireplace in the lounge. Half board, including a 4-course dinner, is available on request. A free pick-up service from the railway or bus station is offered. The Grindelwald First Cable Car Station is reachable within just a few minutes' walk, and the bus stop is just 20 metres away from the Gletschergarten Hotel. Further free time activities can be organised by the help of the staff. The hotel also has a new renovated wellness area with sauna and steam bath. You enjoy free access to the sports centre of Grindelwald, which features an indoor pool and an ice skating rink. Various tickets and ski passes can be bought at the regular rates from the reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Gletschergarten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gletschergarten Hotel Grindelwald

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing