We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect family-run hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Gletschergarten
Ranked #1 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 7, 2012

Stayed for 6 nights skiing and it was the best hotel all round I've stayed in. Perfect combination of hospitality, service, food, accommodation and location. Will definitely be back

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (830)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Gletschergarten
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

563 - 569 of 830 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2012

Four of us stayed in two rooms in Gletschergarten Hotel a couple of weeks ago for a ski holiday and birthday celebration. The place has old charm, the owners are very friendly and service-minded, everything was impeccable. I was particularly taken in with the spectacular glacier view from the breakfast and dinner room, as well as with the gorgeous dinner service.
Loved their sauna space too.

It's a bit of a walk to First cable car but the free bus stops right next to the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gavastik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2012

Very pleasant experience.
Efficiently run.
Good staff.
Spotlessly clean.

Dinner a bit too formal for the setting but food was tasty and well presented.
Good breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank garylevy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2012

Hotel Gletschergarten has so many things going for it. Very friendly staff, nice breakfast (included with room rate), free WiFi throughout hotel and in your room, every room has a view, nice clean rooms with modern bathroom, serves a nice dinner and has a wonderful fireplace room that's cozy to hang out in after dinner. The location of this hotel is great. You can easily walk into town or take the bus. The bus stop is right in front of the hotel. This hotel is in a very quiet location, so if it's noisy in the middle of town, you won't hear it from here. To ski at First, just hop on the bus and get off at the next stop. When you're done skiing at First, just follow the blue run (#21) or the red run (#22) back to the hotel. It literally ends at the hotel!

Room Tip: Every room has a view of the mountains. The "small single" room is very tiny and would onl...
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank natsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2012

Before writing my second review of this hotel, I thought I would check out the 'poor' comments to get some balance in my own opinion. I was sad to read that some other folk had not enjoyed their time there. Naturally if one has a sick child as occurred with one reviewer one seeks as much help as possible and I can understand the frustration they must have felt. and yes, there are many modern, bright and fancy hotels in the area. I guess it is all in the beholder's eye. This is the second time I have stayed in two years. Yes the hotel is old fashioned, but you know what? It won't kill you! There is something comforting and consistent about it. Here's the thing...old fashioned suits Grindelwald. In a homogenised world where everything is starting to blend in with everything else I like experiencing a differing world and place. I don't think I could GO BACK if the hotel updated. It wouldn't represent to me a time gone past. a time that worked and still does for those who appreciate it. There is a restaurant part way up the Jungfrau at Alpiglen which we revisited this time. But it had been renovated...and gone was the wood stove where visitors dried out their gloves and shoes by. gone was the old wood tables and chairs, replaced by new stuff lacking character. The owners of Gleitchergarten have always been polite and helpful to us. They have always gone to great lengths to drop us in town if needed. This is someone else's country, things are done differently. People behave differently. This hotel is not 5 star where your every (me me me) need will be met, but step out of yourself and enjoy the difference it has to offer and the incredible natural world which surrounds it. I WILL STAY THERE AGAIN, WHAT EVER TIME OF YEAR.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pinky333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2012

We spent a wonderful week with Gery and Gabriella and just loved it. The hospitality was fabulous, their thoughtfulness and kindness just great. We would highly recommend a stay at the Gletschergarten. The Hotel is charming and reflects it's 100 odd year lineage very well while living up to modern requirements also. It is very comfortable and very handy to transport and all the good things that the village of Grindelwald has to offer. Can also highly recommend the coffee and cake at the C&M Cafe just above the second bus stop down the hill!

Jennifer and Michael
Bonnet Bay Australia

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2012

What can I say, a true gem of a hotel in a postcard perfect, winter wonderland that is Grindelwald. Our perfect 4 day break would not have been complete without the beautiful family run hotel, Gletschergarten. From the moment Gery came to collect us at the train station to the final farewell when Gabriela left us back, we were blown away with the hospitality that we received. The hotel is a traditional Swiss chalet set in the valley, with breathtaking panoramic views of the Alps from the front and rear of the hotel. My wife celebrated her birthday the day we arrived and in the evening at dinner in the hotel, we had a beautifully dressed table with chocolates and candles. Also on the table was a gift and a postcard from the hotel wishing my wife many happy returns. On top of that the 4 course dinner was really lovely. Overall, the thought and genuine care shown for their residents is something that I have never experienced before.

Grindelwald itself is simply beautiful! Even though not skiing Gerry talked us through the other various activities on offer. The cable car to First is less than a 5 min walk from the hotel. We hired sleighs and spent 2 incredible days hiking and sleighing round the mountain on various purpose built runs. To relax the tired muscles we had a lovely steam and sauna in the basement of the hotel. If that isn’t your thing you could always warm the hands with a tipple beside the log fire in the lounge.

I cannot wait to return to Grindelwald and would not even contemplate staying anywhere other than the Gletschergarten. Thank you again 

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marty1878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.8 mi away
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
#2 of 41 in Grindelwald
954 reviews
0.3 mi away
Parkhotel Schoenegg
Parkhotel Schoenegg
#4 of 41 in Grindelwald
349 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#3 of 41 in Grindelwald
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Derby Hotel
Derby Hotel
#5 of 41 in Grindelwald
509 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alpenblick Hotel Pub & Restaurant
0.7 mi away
Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof Grindelwald
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gletschergarten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gletschergarten

Address: Obere Gletscherstrasse 1 | 3818 Grindelwald, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Grindelwald
#1 Family Hotel in Grindelwald
#1 Romantic Hotel in Grindelwald
#3 Best Value Hotel in Grindelwald
Price Range: $207 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gletschergarten 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Over 115 years old, the traditional family-run Hotel Gletschergarten in Grindelwald offers you panoramic mountain views, free WiFi and a free internet terminal. In good snow conditions, a ski run leads almost to the hotel. Breakfast is served every morning. After a day outside you can relax at the fireplace in the lounge. Half board, including a 4-course dinner, is available on request. A free pick-up service from the railway or bus station is offered. The Grindelwald First Cable Car Station is reachable within just a few minutes' walk, and the bus stop is just 20 metres away from the Gletschergarten Hotel. Further free time activities can be organised by the help of the staff. The hotel also has a new renovated wellness area with sauna and steam bath. You enjoy free access to the sports centre of Grindelwald, which features an indoor pool and an ice skating rink. Various tickets and ski passes can be bought at the regular rates from the reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Gletschergarten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gletschergarten Hotel Grindelwald

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing