We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Swiss quality and service. Top-notch!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Gletschergarten
Ranked #1 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
107 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Swiss quality and service. Top-notch!”
Reviewed January 8, 2012

My wife and I spent our New Years here and it was truly memorable. We have never seen so much snow -- a perfect winter wonderland!

Pros:
- Excellent location. Only 5mins walk to First gondola station. The bus station (called Kirche) is only 10 meters from the hotel with excellent connections to central (7mins journey). All ski buses stop at Kirche which is really convenient.
- Service was incredible. The owners were super nice. They always greeted us at dinner and showed genuine interest in our experiences in Grindelwald... and also provided a ride to the train station on our last day
- Food for breakfast was good. Excellent selection of cold meats, cheese, bread/croissants, yoghurt, fruits, juice and tea/coffee.
- We had half-board included -- 5 course dinner was always delicious and beautifully served. It was plentiful after a day of skiing.
- We stayed in a superior room, facing to the back of the hotel, which meant it was really quiet (even on the New Year's Eve).
- The hotel also has a sauna and steam room. Perfect to relax in after skiing.

Cons:
- none

Overall: We recommend you visit Grindelwald. We have been to many ski resorts in Switzerland and I can comfortably say Grindelwald offers the best ski/non-ski activities and beautiful views. Gletschergarten Hotel has a very special atmosphere we truly appreciated.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank airicCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    655
    91
    9
    4
    0
See reviews for
221
374
36
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2012

Myself with my wife and 7.5 years old daughter stayed in Hotel Gletschergarten during 21-24 December, 2011 and I am very happy to say that it was a really wonderful experience to stay there.

I had booked this hotel directly by email and the responses were very prompt and professional and the booking procedure was very efficient. This is a family run hotel, managed mainly by Gabriela and Gerhard (Garry) Michel-Breitenstein. For us what was very important is that not only did they deliver everything that they promised, but they often went above and beyond their call of duty in many respects. For example, we were leaving on 24th morning and Gabriela was extremely kind to give us nice Christmas gifts on 23rd evening. This to me indicates how much care they take of their guests, which is really great.

The hotel itself is a very beautiful chalet, in a nice part of the village and the view from the hotel is fabulous. The breakfast is sumptuous and the two dinners we had there were excellent. We had a superior double room, which was spacious enough for three of us and had a feeling of warmth and care associated with it. Indeed, we were very pleased to stay there.

I should also mention that Gabriela's mother, a very nice and kind lady, whose grandfather had settled in that property, was very affectionate to all of us as well. Together they do a great job in providing a warm, kind and friendly atmosphere which made our stay even more pleasant.

I would recommend this place to everyone without any hesitation.

Room Tip: The room with balcony facing the mountains is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KumarGupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2011

We wanted a White Christmas in Switzerland this year and couldn't have chosen a more magical place. We were welcomed by Gerhard at the train station (after arriving from Zurich) and whisked up the road to Chalet-Hotel Gletschergarten in a lovely warm car. As it was snowing at the time, this was the perfect way to arrive. From the moment we arrived we felt special. We were greeted by Gabriela's parents Finn and Elsbeth at reception and then shown to our spacious room (“Jungfrau” Room 33) on the third floor. We stepped out onto the balcony and had the most magical picture postcard view of the surrounding Alps. There were also beautiful views of Mt Eiger from the Restaurant downstairs each morning at breakfast. It was an absolute pleasure to eat here every night. The menu changes daily and Gabriela is more than happy to have the Chef make a change if you are a bit of a fussy eater (we only asked for one change during our 7 night stay). The Owners and all hotel staff provided a continuous warm and wonderful service during our stay and couldn’t do enough to help with bus time-tables. There is nothing to fault here. The Hotel also has a coin-operated washing machine and dryer for use by guests, a pool table, sauna and steam-room, internet room and a gorgeous lounge area with an open fire place - perfect for a pre-dinner drink or after-dinner coffee. There is a little bakery/cafe across the road and the most beautiful church also. It is a short stroll into the village if you wish to do some shopping. We highly recommend this family-run Hotel in every way.

Room Tip: If travelling alone, request a room with a bath, rather than a shower only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjfuntimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2011

Am still reminiscing about our wonderful stay at this hotel. Gerhard and Gabriella are wonderful hosts, always very polite and asking how we were enjoying our stay. They were very helpful while we were there and responding to our email enquiries about Grindelwald before we arrived. This is particularly noteworthy as we come from the other side of the world and are unfortunately unlikely to return any time soon. The food is fabulous. We were picked up from the train station promptly even though we arrived earlier than anticipated. This hotel made our stay in Switzerland a highlight of our trip.

Room Tip: The rooms in the building opposite the hotel are excellent value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SleepingGypsyFrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 13, 2011

Gabriela and her family welcomed us to what was originally their family home and we were made to feel like one of the family. We couldn't fault it. Room 21 with views over the meadows at the back of the hotel was delightful, and the view of the Eiger from the front porch, complete with a beer after a long day's walking, was equally stunning! The rooms are extremely comfortable and the food excellent. We opted for the fixed price meal for each of our 4 night stay and were not disappointed and the breakfast was varied and generous. The hosts' knowledge of the area is vast and we were able to make good use of the area for our stay. With Internet acces and a laundry facility our time in Grindelwald was a complete success. We cannot recommend this too highly....

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellesley, MA
Level Contributor
87 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2011

We took our two teenagers to Grindelwald for a family ski trip in Feburary 2011. The familie Michel-Breitenstein and their staff at Hotel Gletschergarten could "write the book" on hospitality and customer service. From assistance with ski rentals and lift tickets, to accommodating our "selective" teenage eater at dinner, the service was truly exceptional. On top of the service, is a wonderfully family friendly atmosphere--at meals we observed large multi-generational families from around Europe vacationing together--grandparents, children and grandchildren. The owners told us that some of these families have been coming to the Hotel Gletschergarten for 25--30 years. We can understand why. The staff does everything it can to make your stay enjoyable, and you can catch the bus to the gondola right outside the door---and we were able to ski all the way back to the hotel at day's end(well, you have to walk about a block).

While not luxurious, the rooms are spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The fireplaced library was the perfect place for our post dinner coffee, hot chocolate and game of chess. There is also a game room in the basement that boasted a ping pong table and other games. The kids enjoyed having this available as an after dinner activity.

For our return trip home, we had to leave very early in the morning--before the kitchen was open. As a final lovely touch, the owner arranged to have some delicious sandwiches made the night before for us to take along as a breakfast on the go. We've traveled around the world, and stayed at some very posh places---but I can't say enough about the comfort and hospitality of the Hotel Gletschergarten and the familie Michel-Breitenstein.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WallyWGMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 3, 2011

As I child, I lived in Switzerland for 2 years and always dreamed of staying in a chalet but never had the opportunity. So when our recent trip took us to Grindelwald and the Hotel Gletschergarten I knew my dream had come true. Window boxes brimming with beautiful geraniums were the first thing to greet us, followed by our extraordinary hosts, Gabriela and Gerhard, who showed us to our rooms with a connecting deck and view of the Eiger/Jungfrau range. We enjoyed cocktails on the front porch every evening and a delicious prix fixe dinner prepared by a chef who has worked there for 27 years. The included breakfast is guaranteed to please with a large selection of fresh breads, fruit, cheeses, meats, yogurt and cereal.

Our initial itinerary had us spending 4 nights in Grindelwald and 4 nights in Zermatt. However, after 2 nights in Zermatt we found ourselves longing for the beauty and ambiance of Grindelwald and the Hotel Gletschergarten. Luckily, they were able to accommodate us on short notice.

The clientele at the hotel is very international, and it is not uncommon to hear German, French, Japanese and English being spoken in the dining room. Our hosts spoke several languages and Gabriela's mother speaks TWELVE languages. Their knowledge of the area came in handy when it came to making our hiking plans and giving us a nice alternative on a slightly rainy day.

The rooms are comfortably furnished and spotlessly clean, with comfy duvets and flat screen TVs in most rooms. We had a superior room on the first 4-day stay and we stayed in a standard room and what was termed the "backpacker" accommodation on our return short-notice visit. All exceeded our expectations. There is a computer available as well as a washer and dryer should you need them.

If I am lucky enough to return to Switzerland, my first priority will be a return visit to Grindelwald and the Hotel Gletschergarten!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cami W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.8 mi away
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
#2 of 41 in Grindelwald
5.0 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#3 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
0.6 mi away
Derby Hotel
Derby Hotel
#5 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Parkhotel Schoenegg
Parkhotel Schoenegg
#4 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tschuggen
Hotel Tschuggen
#7 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alpenblick Hotel Pub & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gletschergarten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gletschergarten

Property: Hotel Gletschergarten
Address: Obere Gletscherstrasse 1 | 3818 Grindelwald, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Grindelwald
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Grindelwald
#1 Romantic Hotel in Grindelwald
#2 Best Value Hotel in Grindelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gletschergarten 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Over 115 years old, the traditional family-run Hotel Gletschergarten in Grindelwald offers you panoramic mountain views, free WiFi and a free internet terminal. In good snow conditions, a ski run leads almost to the hotel. Breakfast is served every morning. After a day outside you can relax at the fireplace in the lounge. Half board, including a 4-course dinner, is available on request. A free pick-up service from the railway or bus station is offered. The Grindelwald First Cable Car Station is reachable within just a few minutes' walk, and the bus stop is just 20 metres away from the Gletschergarten Hotel. Further free time activities can be organised by the help of the staff. The hotel also has a new renovated wellness area with sauna and steam bath. You enjoy free access to the sports centre of Grindelwald, which features an indoor pool and an ice skating rink. Various tickets and ski passes can be bought at the regular rates from the reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Gletschergarten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gletschergarten Hotel Grindelwald

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing