We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Gletschergarten
Ranked #1 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wow”
Reviewed September 2, 2011

It's the setting that bowls you over. This picture perfect hotel is set against the high mountains (Eiger, Schreckhorn, Wetterhorn) and you could quite happily spend hours just looking at the view. The hotel has character, you know, it's not one of those plastic and anonymous multiples, here you feel like you're in Switzerland. What's more the place is family run, now (I think) into the fourth generation, so they go that extra mile to help their guests.
This is a great centre for walkers, or people who simply like the mountains and for those who need a lungful of fresh air. The perfect stress-buster.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a mountain view and balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pip1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    655
    91
    9
    4
    0
See reviews for
221
374
36
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2011

My wife and two sons stayed for 6 nights in August. We had the two first floor rooms at the front with an enormous shared balcony. We often sat out on this soaking up the amazing views of two mountains and the glacier. These two rooms also had access to the free wifi - which was something we wanted. The only disadvantage of the balcony is that the occasional bus or noisy motorbike would go past during the day. It was very quiet overnight though.

Gabriella and Gary and Gabriella's parents made us feel so welcome - probably more than in any hotel we have ever stayed in. They organised lift passes, tickets up the Jungfrau and even paragliding for us.

We ate in for 5 of our 6 nights. The food is good and good value for Switzerland.

The public areas (dining room and lounge) are lovely. The bedrooms and bathrooms were very clean although somewhat dated, and the bathrooms could probably do with updating. The bath and shower worked really well though - so this comment is more about the decor.

So overall we would thoroughly recomend the Gletschergarten.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rthomp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 11, 2011

After 34 years this was the Swiss Alp experience I had dreamed of showing my daughter. We were greeted so warmly and made to feel so welcome by Elsbeth. We had only been in our room a couple minutes, my daughter said “this is charming can we stay an extra night” - I was thrilled! The room, the deck with geraniums, an extraordinary view, church bells, cow bells, it was such a sense of peace. Elsbeth’s daughter Gabriela and her husband Gerhard were very kind and informative, helping with tickets for excursions and both masters at travel timetables. Our highlight was evenings, sitting on our deck engrossed in the changing light on our mountain view, enjoying a glass of wine, bread and apricots. Our stay at the Gletschergarten is also the highlight in our travel stories shared with friends. My daughter would like to go back in a couple years and my wife is anxious to experience the joy of Grindelwald too. Leaving for the train with Finn, Elsbeth’s husband, felt like too soon and dispensing with our itinerary may have been a wise choice, the experience meant that much. We thank the Gletschergarten family. I told Elsbeth that Seattle was great but Gindelwald was “perfect”!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Byron L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 5, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed with Gery and Gabby for a few days back in june. If we had known the Jungfrau region better we would have stayed here for the entire week we were in the region. To say Gery and Gabby made us feel at home would be an understatement. We left the place feeling like part of the family and dreaming up our next (hopefully winter) holiday with them! We stayed in the 'chalet' just off of their home. It was super cute and exactly what we wanted. We had a view of the Eiger right outside our bedroom window. Every morning we would talk to Gery about which mountain we should hike. His suggestions were always perfect! Thank you guys for such a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shannonehill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
1 review
Reviewed July 23, 2011

Hotel Gletschergarten was a wonderful hotel, in a wonderful Swiss village. My wife and I traveled to Switzerland as part of a 20th anniversary trip so we wanted something special. Our Swiss travel guide, Greg Witt from Alpenwild (who also did a great job with hiking and accommodations), highly recommended this 3 star hotel. I pushed for something nicer, but Greg insisted. Thank you Greg! We stayed at the hotel from 7/9/11-7/12/11. The owners, Gerhard and Garbriella were fantastic as was the rest of the staff. In fact, Gabriella recommended a hike which we had not planned on taking. It turned out to be the highlight of our 2 week vacation. The hotel was charming and very clean. We ate both breakfast and dinner there. What a treat. The dinners were like 3 course home cooked meals. Our room was very spacious, and had a beautiful view. The hotel is located further down the main avenue of Grindelwald so it is quieter than being in the heart of the action. Yet, it is only about 1 km from the train station and steps away from two key trams. If we go back to Grindelwald we will absolutely stay at Hotel Gletschergarten. Thank you Gerhard and Gabriella for a memorable stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HLB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JACKSONVILLE BEACH
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 18, 2011

Excellent service ... felt most welcome (again) our second stay for 5 nights. Location superb, dining is excellent. We'll be back!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoBeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northfield, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2011

Outstanding hotel, located just a bit away from the bustle of downtown Grindelwald, but within an easy stroll to shops, restaurants, and the train station. We had a spacious and immaculate room with a picture postcard view of the mountains, including the Eiger. The owners and staff were gracious, informed, and extremely helpful. The hotel dining room is spacious and comfortable, with outstanding views over the mountains. The included breakfast was excellent, as was the one dinner we ate at the hotel. This was our first visit to Grindelwald, and we had reviewed a number of hotels before booking at this one. We couldn't have been more pleased. When we return, deciding on a hotel will be an easy decision; we'll definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dws11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.8 mi away
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
#2 of 41 in Grindelwald
5.0 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#3 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
0.6 mi away
Derby Hotel
Derby Hotel
#5 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Parkhotel Schoenegg
Parkhotel Schoenegg
#4 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tschuggen
Hotel Tschuggen
#7 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alpenblick Hotel Pub & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gletschergarten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gletschergarten

Property: Hotel Gletschergarten
Address: Obere Gletscherstrasse 1 | 3818 Grindelwald, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Grindelwald
#1 Family Hotel in Grindelwald
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Grindelwald
#2 Best Value Hotel in Grindelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gletschergarten 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Over 115 years old, the traditional family-run Hotel Gletschergarten in Grindelwald offers you panoramic mountain views, free WiFi and a free internet terminal. In good snow conditions, a ski run leads almost to the hotel. Breakfast is served every morning. After a day outside you can relax at the fireplace in the lounge. Half board, including a 4-course dinner, is available on request. A free pick-up service from the railway or bus station is offered. The Grindelwald First Cable Car Station is reachable within just a few minutes' walk, and the bus stop is just 20 metres away from the Gletschergarten Hotel. Further free time activities can be organised by the help of the staff. The hotel also has a new renovated wellness area with sauna and steam bath. You enjoy free access to the sports centre of Grindelwald, which features an indoor pool and an ice skating rink. Various tickets and ski passes can be bought at the regular rates from the reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Gletschergarten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gletschergarten Hotel Grindelwald

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing