We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunstar Hotel Grindelwald

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sunstar Hotel Grindelwald
Ranked #9 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
Spain
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2010

We stayed at the Sunstar Grindewald over New Year and we couldn't fault the hotel. We had a suite (as we were two adults and two children ) which was tastefully decorated and very clean and comfortable. The view from the window of the three mountains including the Eiger was stunning. The hotel has a large but very cosy reception area and lounge with an open fire and views out onto the valley and mountains. The swimming pool was very popular with our young children and the spa looked great although we didn' t use it.

We found the welcome very warm and the hotel staff to be, without exception, kind and very helpful. The dining room staff in particular made a real effort and nothing was too much trouble. We commented to each other how well run the hotel seemd, without you ever noticing anyone telling anyone else what to do. However, the manager himself was always around and was always ready to exchange pleasantries and offer advice. We found the food excellent and varied and thought that half board was good value for money. We would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LennySpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    133
    41
    15
    7
See reviews for
113
120
18
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2010

Great location. Clean and adequately appointed rooms for a ski vacation but really only 3 star quality. We found the food to be quite good and plentiful. The New Years buffet was quite good although I question whether it was worth the 60CHF surcharge on top of the daily half board rate.

What was disappointing is that the management have attitude. On the first night, our 11yr old son wore shorts to dinner (I admit we didn't check the dress code). The restaurant manager cornered him, told him he was "disgraceful" and that this was a quality restaurant and sent him to change. Near us was another very large family group whose children drove their remote control cars around the restaurant and ran screaming and yelling between the dinner tables - this was apparently not "disgraceful" behaviour as it was allowed to continue unabated.

The hotel is clearly more comfortable catering to large tour groups and is less prepared to serve individual families.

Location wise you can't beat it - particularly when you come off the slopes at the end of the day.

I would not recommend it because I am not convinced it is value for money. Other than the pool, other leisure facilities (eg the gym) were extra charge which was a surprise to us - for the daily room price it should be free.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank exctb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2010

We chose this hotel so that my partner could ski and I could have a pleasant time while he was donig this. It advertises spa, pool, steam room etc. It was important to him to be able to use internet 24 hours a day due to international business needs. Well, pool was fine but steam room only available from 2pm - 6pm and for anything else (gym, sauna etc) you had to pay extra by the session. This seemed like a cheek and was not clear from their web page. The manager rather snootily pointed out that they hadn't said it was free either.
Internet access is via a card that you buy. The first three didn't work; we were told to take it up with the providers Swisscom as "all the other customers could use it". (We only spoke to one other guest who had also had great difficulty!)
Room was fne but not really 4* standard. Good to have soft drinks daily in complimentary mini bar but no tea or coffee making facilities so hot drinks had to be bought downstairs.
Evening entertainment was embarrassing. We played "guess the tune" a the resident pianist made this nearly impossible.
the catering was magnificent and the New Year's Eve Gala Dinner well worht the extra we paid. Food of exceptional quality throughout. Shame that there was nothing for a non-skiier and that management so mealy mouthed.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebsGYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Sunstar Hotel for 4 nights in late June. The room and bathroom were large but the decor was terribly dated and the bed was not so comfortable. Our room had a nice-sized balcony as well but one couldn't really enjoy it because it had not been cleaned for quite some time (I am not talking about being swept, more in the area of power clean to get rid of mildew and such).

The hotel is situated in an ideal location for skiers and hikers. It is a 10 minute walk from the train station or if one so chooses a short bus ride.

The breakfast buffet is of okay quality and offers a decent variety. There were a couple of mornings that the eggs, bacon and sausages smelt and tasted old (perhaps that was simply my taste buds, I don't know). The same can be said for dinner, a couple of evening the meal was quite wonderful but on others, it simply tasted to me as if we were having leftovers.

The wellness area was above average and the staff in all their efforts was quite outstanding.

However, given its age, the Sunstar Grindelwald currently is a three star hotel. It is the type of one that is comfortable enough for a couple nights, especially if you plan to be out and about.

In the end, if you are looking for a place to sleep, this might be your place but if you are looking for a relaxation, hangout on the balcony, and enjoy the view sort of place, this is not it.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leisurebunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2009

My wife and I stayed here for 5 nights and the hotel was much more than expected! The staff was very friendly and helpful when needed, always greeting us as we went by the front desk. We booked tickets to 'Top of Europe' and a paragliding (thrill of a lifetime!) trip at the desk. The in room mini bar was great, with local beer, water and sodas at no charge and refilled everyday. This was great because those are an easy $2-4 each at most shops. We stayed on the half-board plan and were not sure what to expect. Dinner was 38CHF and after eating at other restaurants in Switzerland, we knew this was a fair price. The service and food exceeded all expectation! A 4 course meal with 2-3 entrees to chose from each night, absolutely the best veal I have ever had. Beef and lamb on other nights. We looked forward to seeing the menu posted everyday. Nice pool and lobby, about an 8 minute walk to the train station. The weather was great when we were there, and the mountains behind the hotel seemed so close. We still miss sitting on the balcony, listening to the goat and cow bells in the distance! We highly recommend and want to go back one day ourselves.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bat9093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London England
Level Contributor
153 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2009

Great hotel to stay in for the skiing season. Right opposite the ski lift up to the top of the mountain and the bus stop to the nursery slopes is right outside. Good ski hire shop iin the hotel and good store facilities for boots, skis etc. Right in the centre of town with excellent restaurants opposite. Fabulous lobby area just perfect for a drink and playing cards in the evening by the fire after a days skiing! Rooms lovely with fantastic views of the mountains. Good half board food and buffet breakfast! Free mini bar in the room!!! My only complaint was that you had to pay to use the gym and to pay £8 just to go on the running machine for 40 mins (as there was nowhere to run outside due to heavy snow) seemed a bit extravagant! Staff helpful too!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2008

We stayed here during a car club trip. There were 25 of us in the group and we all found the hotel to be very good with a high standard of accommodation. Even the minibar if free! We stayed here for 2 nights. The staff were helpful and the food was very good. Prices were reasonable too considering that the Pound has dropped so much against the Euro recently. Breakfast was the usual help yourself BUT the food choice was vast. We will be going back again as Grindelwald has so much to offer and the hotel is fab.

  • Liked — Comfortable and Clean
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iain_G_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.0 mi away
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
#2 of 41 in Grindelwald
5.0 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#4 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Gletschergarten
Hotel Gletschergarten
#1 of 41 in Grindelwald
5.0 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Derby Hotel
Derby Hotel
#5 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.5 mi away
Parkhotel Schoenegg
Parkhotel Schoenegg
#3 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Spinne
Hotel Spinne
#13 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunstar Hotel Grindelwald? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunstar Hotel Grindelwald

Property: Sunstar Hotel Grindelwald
Address: Dorfstrasse 168, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Grindelwald
#5 Spa Hotel in Grindelwald
#5 Family Hotel in Grindelwald
#10 Romantic Hotel in Grindelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunstar Hotel Grindelwald 4*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This holiday and spa hotel is in an outstandingly panoramic location, quiet and central but with uninterrupted views of the famous North Face of the Eiger, Wetterhorn and First. Inside, the hotel is decorated with lots of warm wood, and the spacious lobby has an open fire, creating a cosy atmosphere. The large, comfortable bedrooms with their light wooden furniture are perfect places to relax in. Those in certain categories have a balcony. The half-board "Ambiance" restaurant has picture-perfect views of the mountains, tempting you to linger and eat to your heart's content. Gourmet diners are also superbly catered for in the à-la-carte "Adlerstube" restaurant. In the spa centre, you'll find all kinds of ways to unwind: try the large swimming pool, the Finnish sauna, the Roman baths with four climate zones, the hydro-massage showers, the solarium or the rest room. The hotel also offers an attractive range of sports, from a fitness centre to aquagymnastics and aerobics. If you take your holidays in the glacier village of Grindelwald, you'll have the opportunity to enjoy all the many and varied activities that are available in the Jungfrau region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Sunstar Hotel Grindelwald reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grindelwald Sunstar Hotel
Sunstar Grindelwald
Grindelwald Hotel Sunstar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing