We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel let down by one or two issues”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Grindelwald
Ranked #8 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
romford...essex
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good hotel let down by one or two issues”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

I went to Grindelwald for 5 nights for the Eiger ultra trail. I stayed at the sun star Alpine hotel. The staff are friendly, the amenities are very good with pool and wellness centre. The views of the Eiger north face is jaw dropping. My room was a single with balcony but believe me it was small but the price did not suite, but this is Switzerland? I did have a few issues with there not being enough evening food cooked when I got to the restaurant at 18.30. But I was able to go up for more, but it would be good to have all your main meal in one seating. Again in the morning breakfast was also not great for hot food had to wait on two occasions for egg to come out of kitchen but the bacon and sausage was getting cold. These are only minor things but need addressing to make this a great hotel. I did not use the bar as it was a sporting holiday and drinking was not on the agenda. All in all a very good hotel let down by silly issues. Would I go back well yes I would.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sporty44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    135
    43
    15
    7
See reviews for
116
122
18
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

This hotel is located at the base station of one the major ski lifts. The other major skiing area can easily be reached by the bus stopping at the hotel. There is a ski shop adjacent to the hotel as well. Staff is friendly and professional. Rooms are clean. Food quality is average. I can recommend this hotel for a skiing trip in the Wengen area.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PSL3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

The hotel faces the mountains and we could see the mountains just lying on the bed. The room had a unique transparent shower area right in the room itself which was very romantic indeed. Excellent ambience in the restaurant area. A must stay if you are travelling in this area to the mountains.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janelle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
102 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

Well located in town. Nice spa with outdoor area, pool indoor and gym. Bar is fine If not the most modern and the staff and rooms are pleasent. It's not five star but it is absolutely comfortable. Worth considering for the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 403Jrw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

A really good value for money offer in this great location. We took this package which includes 3 nights half board, the mini bar and 2 tickets one for Jungfraujoch and one for First. The normal price for the tickets alone is over SFr 200 so at just over SFr 600 per person for the package this is a great deal. The hotel staff were all very friendly and helpful. The hotel is 10 minutes walk from the train station. Great pool and spa area after a days hiking. Food was excellent. A set dinner but with 3 choices with 5 courses. If nothing suits there was always another option.

Room Tip: The slightly more expensive package offers rooms with a view of the Eiger. I presume the cheaper pac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CH-GB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City, Arizona
Level Contributor
392 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

We had no reservations but were welcomed by "Marco." Our room had a spectacular view. The ala carte restaurant was closed, but the daily menu was 5 extremely fine courses. The wine list was excellent. During dinner a pianist played 40s tunes that added so much pleasure to our meals.
The breakfasts were very extensive and the waitstaff so very efficient and helpful. The be rooms include bus passes. The wellness center also was complete and beautiful.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DOCBABE_SCOUT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

It is off season for the area, but the staff here have been very helpful finding things to do. One day it snowed - and all the lifts are closed because it is off season. The hotel has a full spa area that makes it very enjoyable to have a down day. Three steam rooms with different aromatherapies, dry sauna, swimming pool and a work out room. All nicely appointed.
Rooms are clean and comfortable, and in this valley the views never stop.

Room Tip: We had a corner room with views on two sides of the valley, very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.6 mi away
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
#2 of 41 in Grindelwald
5.0 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#4 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gletschergarten
Hotel Gletschergarten
#1 of 41 in Grindelwald
5.0 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Derby Hotel
Derby Hotel
#5 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
0.1 mi away
Parkhotel Schoenegg
Parkhotel Schoenegg
#3 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Spinne
Hotel Spinne
#16 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunstar Alpine Hotel Grindelwald? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunstar Alpine Hotel Grindelwald

Property: Sunstar Alpine Hotel Grindelwald
Address: Dorfstrasse 168, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Grindelwald
#5 Spa Hotel in Grindelwald
#5 Family Hotel in Grindelwald
#10 Romantic Hotel in Grindelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunstar Alpine Hotel Grindelwald 4*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This holiday and spa hotel is in an outstandingly panoramic location, quiet and central but with uninterrupted views of the famous North Face of the Eiger, Wetterhorn and First. Inside, the hotel is decorated with lots of warm wood, and the spacious lobby has an open fire, creating a cosy atmosphere. The large, comfortable bedrooms with their light wooden furniture are perfect places to relax in. Those in certain categories have a balcony. The half-board "Ambiance" restaurant has picture-perfect views of the mountains, tempting you to linger and eat to your heart's content. Gourmet diners are also superbly catered for in the à-la-carte "Adlerstube" restaurant. In the spa centre, you'll find all kinds of ways to unwind: try the large swimming pool, the Finnish sauna, the Roman baths with four climate zones, the hydro-massage showers, the solarium or the rest room. The hotel also offers an attractive range of sports, from a fitness centre to aquagymnastics and aerobics. If you take your holidays in the glacier village of Grindelwald, you'll have the opportunity to enjoy all the many and varied activities that are available in the Jungfrau region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sunstar Alpine Hotel Grindelwald reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grindelwald Sunstar Hotel
Sunstar Grindelwald
Sunstar Hotel Grindelwald
Grindelwald Hotel Sunstar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing