We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic Class.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Grindelwald
Ranked #8 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
Challex, France
Level Contributor
73 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Rustic Class.”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Location: Perfectly situated near the center of Grindlewald, views of the mountains and all you need nearby. Approx 20 minutes from Interlaken.
Facilities: Self service breakfast was very good, omelette chef etc. Great start to the day. Check in extremely friendly and efficient. I had a small dog as well, and they are very accomadating, even having a dog behind reception. Provided a tag to hang on the door when I left my little one alone in the room.
Room: Had a single room, perfectly spacious for one person. Wooden Swiss feeling, large bathroom, very comfortable sleep, flat screen TV and own balcony.

Conclusion; Good value friendly staff, and comfortable rooms with mountain views. Great Swiss hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    143
    44
    16
    7
See reviews for
117
126
19
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

A lovely hotel, which is ideally located in Grindelwald. I would choose it simply for location (a minute away from first cable car) and for the stunning views from the rooms, lobby and dining room. Some nice outside space too. Breakfast is rich and staff are friendly. We found the five course dinner a bit dated, not the best food we had in Grindelwald just ok, there are better options close by, such as C & M.

Room Tip: Insist on a room facing the Eiger. The views are to die for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reisb88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchcombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

This is a larger hotel than the Sunstar in Wengen and although the service could not be faulted in its professionalism it was inevitably slightly less friendly. However the food was of an excellent quality - our half board dinners were five courses (starter, soup, salad, main, sweet) with several options for soup and main. The free mini-bar (soft drinks and beer) was most welcome but it was a shame that there was no kettle in the room. We had a superior room which had a balcony and a lovely view: there was also an excellent view from the dining room. The hotel is right opposite the cable car station to First. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Superior room for views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martinb53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thonex, Switzerland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Really enjoyed our 2 weeks stay.
Free train tickets to get there, pickup from station, wifi, drinks from the minibar and guest card for the local buses. Excellent wellness facilities including large pool and steam bath.
Hotel caters for a lot of overseas tour groups who depart early and arrive late each day (7am-9pm) which means having a room on the First side feels like being above a bus station.
Grindelwald and Jungfrau region are very full at this time of year: on several days the train to Jungfraujoch was full / booked out. Otherwise it's a great location for walks and sightseeing around the region,

Room Tip: Facing the Eiger costs more per day but probably would result in better sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dwwr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishop Auckland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We have stayed at this Hotel now for 5 out of 7 Swiss Holidays. The other 2 years we tried Sunstar Hotels in different parts of Switzerland.
All Sunstar Hotels are great, clean, tidy, welcoming, excellent food , staff and facilities.
Train fares are expensive but we buy Swiss rail passes, and for £30 per day you can travel anywhere in the Bernese Oberland by train, bus or boat. Also the hotel give you a card which allows free bus travel anywhere in the local area.
Just love the views, the food and the staff (including Jasper the Dog!)
Can't wait to go back in October.

Room Tip: Ask for a superior room for best views, better still book a suite. For lunchtime snacks, if you rea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidfJ9390PJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baughurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
367 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

The experience with the Sunstar hotel started even before we left England. We made a late change to our itinery and booked the Sunstar, the emails from the hotel were so helpful that we had a really good feeling about our holiday. When we arrived, which was late evening they could not do enough for us. The bags miraculously appeared in our room and a member of the front desk staff gave us a most informative résumé and tour.

We awoke the first morning to a stunning view of the Eiger, this was followed by breakfast again facing this magnificent site. Other reviewers have mentioned how good the buffet breakfast is, so I shall not repeat this.

During our stay we used the gym and swimming pool, both were very good, excellent equipment and cleanliness plus a very helpful attendant.

The weather for our stay was variable, from baking sun to heavy rain. Like most Swiss hotels it does not have air conditioning, so if it is hot try to get a draught of air through the room.

The only fault we had was that our room was at the end of a corridor and the wifi was not available, so we had to use the Internet in the lobby, this also fluctuated in quality.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights as part of a walking holiday. The hotel is a little ugly from the outside but inside is large, well kept and clean. It has a lovely lounge area with fireplace that I imagine is great in winter. Very handy for mountains and ski lifts etc.

Dinner has an excellent view (up into the mountains). We were half board and both breakfast and dinner food were very tasty. There are multiple courses with multiple options, some desserts were a little unusual (example: nougat parfait and rhubarb) but when tried were really nice (so try them!). The wait staff are really good. My mother is coeliac (cant eat gluten) and they were excellent with her dietary requirements and willing to edit anything or offer her other options + Gluten free bread etc.

Bedrooms are lovely, our balcony pointed to the street but our room was still nice and quiet. The free minibar was a nice touch. Lovely pool area with outdoor deck and loungers facing mountains.

All staff were very friendly. The only thing we found a little unusual was that at some point the two managers came around to talk to all diners, but without an introduction?! So as we had not met them on arrival (this hotel is too big to offer that) we had no idea who they were...

Side note: We also stayed at the Sunstar Wengen. BOTH hotels are wonderful but they are VERY different. Grindelwald is much more formal and much bigger, Wengen much cosier and more personal.

Room Tip: If you ask for a room facing the back, your balcony will have an excellent view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.6 mi away
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
#2 of 41 in Grindelwald
921 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#3 of 41 in Grindelwald
537 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gletschergarten
Hotel Gletschergarten
#1 of 41 in Grindelwald
779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Derby Hotel
Derby Hotel
#5 of 41 in Grindelwald
475 reviews
0.1 mi away
Parkhotel Schoenegg
Parkhotel Schoenegg
#4 of 41 in Grindelwald
315 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alpenblick Hotel Pub & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunstar Alpine Hotel Grindelwald? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunstar Alpine Hotel Grindelwald

Property: Sunstar Alpine Hotel Grindelwald
Address: Dorfstrasse 168, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Grindelwald
#5 Family Hotel in Grindelwald
#5 Spa Hotel in Grindelwald
#10 Romantic Hotel in Grindelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunstar Alpine Hotel Grindelwald 4*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This holiday and spa hotel is in an outstandingly panoramic location, quiet and central but with uninterrupted views of the famous North Face of the Eiger, Wetterhorn and First. Inside, the hotel is decorated with lots of warm wood, and the spacious lobby has an open fire, creating a cosy atmosphere. The large, comfortable bedrooms with their light wooden furniture are perfect places to relax in. Those in certain categories have a balcony. The half-board "Ambiance" restaurant has picture-perfect views of the mountains, tempting you to linger and eat to your heart's content. Gourmet diners are also superbly catered for in the à-la-carte "Adlerstube" restaurant. In the spa centre, you'll find all kinds of ways to unwind: try the large swimming pool, the Finnish sauna, the Roman baths with four climate zones, the hydro-massage showers, the solarium or the rest room. The hotel also offers an attractive range of sports, from a fitness centre to aquagymnastics and aerobics. If you take your holidays in the glacier village of Grindelwald, you'll have the opportunity to enjoy all the many and varied activities that are available in the Jungfrau region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Sunstar Alpine Hotel Grindelwald reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grindelwald Sunstar Hotel
Sunstar Grindelwald
Sunstar Hotel Grindelwald
Grindelwald Hotel Sunstar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing