We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel. Fantastic place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Grindelwald
Ranked #9 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
Bishop Auckland, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel. Fantastic place”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We have stayed at this Hotel now for 5 out of 7 Swiss Holidays. The other 2 years we tried Sunstar Hotels in different parts of Switzerland.
All Sunstar Hotels are great, clean, tidy, welcoming, excellent food , staff and facilities.
Train fares are expensive but we buy Swiss rail passes, and for £30 per day you can travel anywhere in the Bernese Oberland by train, bus or boat. Also the hotel give you a card which allows free bus travel anywhere in the local area.
Just love the views, the food and the staff (including Jasper the Dog!)
Can't wait to go back in October.

Room Tip: Ask for a superior room for best views, better still book a suite. For lunchtime snacks, if you rea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidfJ9390PJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    144
    44
    16
    7
See reviews for
117
130
19
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baughurst, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
367 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

The experience with the Sunstar hotel started even before we left England. We made a late change to our itinery and booked the Sunstar, the emails from the hotel were so helpful that we had a really good feeling about our holiday. When we arrived, which was late evening they could not do enough for us. The bags miraculously appeared in our room and a member of the front desk staff gave us a most informative résumé and tour.

We awoke the first morning to a stunning view of the Eiger, this was followed by breakfast again facing this magnificent site. Other reviewers have mentioned how good the buffet breakfast is, so I shall not repeat this.

During our stay we used the gym and swimming pool, both were very good, excellent equipment and cleanliness plus a very helpful attendant.

The weather for our stay was variable, from baking sun to heavy rain. Like most Swiss hotels it does not have air conditioning, so if it is hot try to get a draught of air through the room.

The only fault we had was that our room was at the end of a corridor and the wifi was not available, so we had to use the Internet in the lobby, this also fluctuated in quality.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights as part of a walking holiday. The hotel is a little ugly from the outside but inside is large, well kept and clean. It has a lovely lounge area with fireplace that I imagine is great in winter. Very handy for mountains and ski lifts etc.

Dinner has an excellent view (up into the mountains). We were half board and both breakfast and dinner food were very tasty. There are multiple courses with multiple options, some desserts were a little unusual (example: nougat parfait and rhubarb) but when tried were really nice (so try them!). The wait staff are really good. My mother is coeliac (cant eat gluten) and they were excellent with her dietary requirements and willing to edit anything or offer her other options + Gluten free bread etc.

Bedrooms are lovely, our balcony pointed to the street but our room was still nice and quiet. The free minibar was a nice touch. Lovely pool area with outdoor deck and loungers facing mountains.

All staff were very friendly. The only thing we found a little unusual was that at some point the two managers came around to talk to all diners, but without an introduction?! So as we had not met them on arrival (this hotel is too big to offer that) we had no idea who they were...

Side note: We also stayed at the Sunstar Wengen. BOTH hotels are wonderful but they are VERY different. Grindelwald is much more formal and much bigger, Wengen much cosier and more personal.

Room Tip: If you ask for a room facing the back, your balcony will have an excellent view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyumen, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Being in Grindelwald, I stayed in Sunstar Hotel. Though I can point a couple things not very comfortable, all in all it was a perfect stay! There were no conditioner in the room and I strongly needed it, especially at nights. And there was some noise from time to time, as if a washing-machine had been working...
All other sides of living in this hotel was perfect!!! Most of all I likes the surroundings: fantastically beautiful mountains, fabulously beautiful Grindewald and amazing nature!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gallera70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights as part of a walking holiday. The hotel is well situated at the end of the village, within a few yards of the cable car lift to First. It would therefore be ideal for skiers.
It is a large hotel with a pleasant reception area and a very large and well furnished lounge. There is also a large indoor swimming pool and a spa. The whole place is modern, clean and up to date.
The dining room is large with good views of the valley. We were initially taken to a table in the window which was alongside another containing a couple we did not know and separated from it by about 18 inches. This seemed uncomfortably and unnecessarily close considering there here many other tables available well separated from their neighbours. I expect the reason for this was to give as many people as possible window seats. Unwilling to have to share our conversation with others, we asked for another table which was readily supplied. However, the head waiter should certainly ask whether diners want to share a table before putting people so close together.
The food here ( we were half board) is very good with a reasonable choice and we enjoyed every course each evening.
The bedrooms are very clean and quiet and have excellent views to the mountains. There was a pleasant balcony well shielded from the adjoining ones. The minibar is free in Sunstar hotels and , although soft drinks and beer only are provided, this is a nice touch and we were able to enjoy pre-dinner drinks on the balcony.
We found the reception staff helpful and knowledgable .
All in all a very good choice if you are staying in Grindelwald

Room Tip: Ask for an Eiger view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrahamK215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

Amazing hotel, top notch 5/5 wi-fi, clean, great breakfast, top amenities, and many various value added services. If you want a 5/5 experience in this resort town go for this hotel. Highly recommended

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DanielKJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

- Clean hotel
- Friendly staff
- Good room views of the surrounding mountains
- Good breakfast selection
- 5 course evening meal, good value for money
- Ideal location for exploring the surrounding mountains as it is based opposite the cable cars for 'First' and only a 10 minute walk to the train station where you can catch the train to Jungfraus
- If this is your first time to Switzerland be prepared for the cost of the trip to Jungfraus as it is approx 170 CHF per person. This price includes your return train ticket (approx 2 hr journey) and your entrance to the visitor centre. It may seem highly priced but it is worth the money
- In addition to the Jungfraus trip, other public transport appears expensive (trains, cable cars, boats). However, each time the service is reliable, clean and overall good value for money so I would only advice to be prepared for the cost in advance

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RGCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.6 mi away
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
#2 of 41 in Grindelwald
932 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#3 of 41 in Grindelwald
545 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gletschergarten
Hotel Gletschergarten
#1 of 41 in Grindelwald
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Parkhotel Schoenegg
Parkhotel Schoenegg
#4 of 41 in Grindelwald
323 reviews
0.4 mi away
Derby Hotel
Derby Hotel
#5 of 41 in Grindelwald
482 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alpenblick Hotel Pub & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunstar Alpine Hotel Grindelwald? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunstar Alpine Hotel Grindelwald

Property: Sunstar Alpine Hotel Grindelwald
Address: Dorfstrasse 168, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Grindelwald
#5 Family Hotel in Grindelwald
#5 Spa Hotel in Grindelwald
#10 Romantic Hotel in Grindelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunstar Alpine Hotel Grindelwald 4*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This holiday and spa hotel is in an outstandingly panoramic location, quiet and central but with uninterrupted views of the famous North Face of the Eiger, Wetterhorn and First. Inside, the hotel is decorated with lots of warm wood, and the spacious lobby has an open fire, creating a cosy atmosphere. The large, comfortable bedrooms with their light wooden furniture are perfect places to relax in. Those in certain categories have a balcony. The half-board "Ambiance" restaurant has picture-perfect views of the mountains, tempting you to linger and eat to your heart's content. Gourmet diners are also superbly catered for in the à-la-carte "Adlerstube" restaurant. In the spa centre, you'll find all kinds of ways to unwind: try the large swimming pool, the Finnish sauna, the Roman baths with four climate zones, the hydro-massage showers, the solarium or the rest room. The hotel also offers an attractive range of sports, from a fitness centre to aquagymnastics and aerobics. If you take your holidays in the glacier village of Grindelwald, you'll have the opportunity to enjoy all the many and varied activities that are available in the Jungfrau region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunstar Alpine Hotel Grindelwald reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grindelwald Sunstar Hotel
Sunstar Grindelwald
Sunstar Hotel Grindelwald
Grindelwald Hotel Sunstar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing