We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Grindelwald
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Gletschergarten(Grindelwald)
$214
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Caprice(Grindelwald)
$236
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Tschuggen(Grindelwald)(Great Value!)
$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Kirchbuehl(Grindelwald)
$304
$213
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Grindelwalderhof(Grindelwald)(Great Value!)
$369
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Berghaus Bort(Grindelwald)(Great Value!)
$160
$151
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$311
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Spinne(Grindelwald)
$194
$154
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Derby Hotel(Grindelwald)(Great Value!)
$199
$192
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$268
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (430)
Filter reviews
430 results
Traveler rating
183
170
48
20
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
183
170
48
20
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssoft drinks and beerreplenished dailyfree mini bartrain stationunderground parkingswimming poollarge hotelreception staffcable carstunning mountainshalf boardlarge tour groupsski liftlounge areafinnish saunawalking holidaydirectly across the street
Filter
Updating list...
182 - 187 of 430 reviews
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We were very happy with our choice here. Rooms were large, clean and comfortable, with all the extras you'd expect from a 4-star hotel, breakfast was generous and the spa was very good. Most important, the overall value was well worth the room rate. Staff was also very friendly and helpful. Location was great, right between the train station and the cable car station. Grindelwald in general was a wonderful overnight location with amazing scenery.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Talli_b98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

the StarHotel is nice with nice amenities. Love the pool with the view of the mountains. The room is fine -good storage and comfortable overlooking town. Food is plentiful. Dining choices at this time of year are limited, so. Go out when we want something else. The hotel is near the bus line and activities.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank laurym1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

I was here only for three days and I was not impressed by this hotel. I wouldn't characterize it as a 4* hotel. Everything was average: the room (very modest), service (staff is not nice and not available), the catering was terrible, there was no variety and not enough food to feel satisfied. The location is nice though and if you get a room with a mountain view, the view is amazing.
In my opinion it is over-priced and over-rated.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with mountain view.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mia2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We had read some average reviews of this hotel before we arrived and frankly we were concerned. In the event we were delighted. The room was very good with excellent views. Service was fine and breakfast was outstanding. Yes, the room facilities were not right up to the latest one has come to expect in a modern hotel but we were not in Grindlewald to watch the TV or play on the Internet.

Swimming in the pool whilst looking up at the North Face of the Eiger will long live in my memory. The gym was very good for a hotel facility.

Room Tip: Face the Eiger.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveLewis87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Stayed here during a walking holiday, second time we have had accommodation here. Very spacious lobby and nice rooms although we overlooked the main street and up the mountain to First this time. Last visit we had fantastic views of the Eiger.
Both breakfast and dinner were enjoyable and waitresses were excellent.
One downside is that the hotel is dead at night.

Room Tip: Check what side of the hotel you will be located in. There is also a newer wing which doesn't appear to have same character but never stayed in it.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graeme S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews