We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Grindelwald
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Gletschergarten(Grindelwald)
$212
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$457
$362
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Caprice(Grindelwald)
$235
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Kirchbuehl(Grindelwald)
$302
$236
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Tschuggen(Grindelwald)(Great Value!)
$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Derby Hotel(Grindelwald)(Great Value!)
$198
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Grindelwalderhof(Grindelwald)(Great Value!)
$367
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Central Hotel Wolter(Grindelwald)(Great Value!)
$174
$163
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Spinne(Grindelwald)
$229
$153
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$344
$293
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (429)
Filter reviews
429 results
Traveler rating
183
169
48
20
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
183
169
48
20
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssoft drinks and beerreplenished dailyfree mini bartrain stationunderground parkingswimming poollarge hotelreception staffcable carstunning mountainshalf boardlarge tour groupsski liftlounge areafinnish saunawalking holidaydirectly across the street
Filter
Updating list...
182 - 187 of 429 reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2012

the StarHotel is nice with nice amenities. Love the pool with the view of the mountains. The room is fine -good storage and comfortable overlooking town. Food is plentiful. Dining choices at this time of year are limited, so. Go out when we want something else. The hotel is near the bus line and activities.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank laurym1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

I was here only for three days and I was not impressed by this hotel. I wouldn't characterize it as a 4* hotel. Everything was average: the room (very modest), service (staff is not nice and not available), the catering was terrible, there was no variety and not enough food to feel satisfied. The location is nice though and if you get a room with a mountain view, the view is amazing.
In my opinion it is over-priced and over-rated.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with mountain view.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mia2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We had read some average reviews of this hotel before we arrived and frankly we were concerned. In the event we were delighted. The room was very good with excellent views. Service was fine and breakfast was outstanding. Yes, the room facilities were not right up to the latest one has come to expect in a modern hotel but we were not in Grindlewald to watch the TV or play on the Internet.

Swimming in the pool whilst looking up at the North Face of the Eiger will long live in my memory. The gym was very good for a hotel facility.

Room Tip: Face the Eiger.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveLewis87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Stayed here during a walking holiday, second time we have had accommodation here. Very spacious lobby and nice rooms although we overlooked the main street and up the mountain to First this time. Last visit we had fantastic views of the Eiger.
Both breakfast and dinner were enjoyable and waitresses were excellent.
One downside is that the hotel is dead at night.

Room Tip: Check what side of the hotel you will be located in. There is also a newer wing which doesn't appear to have same character but never stayed in it.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graeme S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

I spent three days at the Sunstar Hotel in Grindelwald during a scientific meeting. The hotel is comfortable and rooms are clean. Not very well furnished for a 4 star hotel. The suite didn't even have a music system or a dvd player (crazy for normal standards). The service is absolutely inadequate and insufficient. Courtesy doesn't seem to be important for the hotel management. Rough answers from simple waiters and slow service even for a simple coffee. The doorman/receptionist during night time was even worse if possible. Rude and mannerless.
I can only say that if I had to pay the stay there, which I didn't, I would have left in a couple of hours and they won't anyway see me again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sard-eller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews