We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Sunstar Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Grindelwald
Ranked #9 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
Escondido, California
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“The Sunstar Hotel”
Reviewed October 21, 2007

My husband and I stayed at the Sunstar for one week in early October. We had a standard room that faced the town of Grindelwald. The carpet was very dirty and I called and asked if we could have another room, but they said they did not have any other rooms available. The man that checked us in was very rude and not very customer friendly. The rest of the staff was friendly and helpful. The room is average, clean and it has a mini bar in the room that is free and refilled every day with two beers, two waters, and two sodas. It was nice to have that after hiking all day. The best feature of the hotel was the view at the back of the hotel of the Mountains. It is just so Beautiful. We had to pay $22.00 a day per person for the mini bar and breakfast. The breakfast was good. Eggs, assorted breads and cheeses, sausage, bacon and fruits, cereals. About anything that would be at a buffet set up. The location is also very good because it is close to the train station and the First chair which is nice for hiking or skiing in the winter. The train station is also a short walk. Overall I enjoyed our stay at the Sunstar, but I would probably stay somewhere else next time. We traded a two bedroom timeshare in Kauaii for this and we got a standard hotel room and then was still charged the extra fees for the breakfast and the hotel tax fee. We also had to pay $10.00 SF a day for parking. I saw serveral other bed and breakfast that were cheaper and included breakfast in the room rate.

Helpful?
7 Thank Parris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    145
    44
    16
    7
See reviews for
117
130
19
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2007

We arrived at the hotel after being collected from the station by the hotel porter. The receptionist Stefanie greeted us with a welcome glass of orange and was really welcoming. She showed us around the hotel and then escorted us to our room which was facing the first cable car. Our room was lovely. We were really taken in by the personal touches like the quilts being turned down and the chocolate on the pillow every night. We also had the set menu one night which is displayed in the lift daily. It was 36 swiss francs for 4 courses and it was really nice, just a shame we didn't fancy anything on the menu the rest of the week. We did go to various restaurants nearby which were really nice, including Unkel Toms, (lovely pizzas) and Le Rendevous (nice steaks and lovely cheese fondue) We would stay at this hotel again and really want to go back in winter when there is loads of snow. All the staff at the hotel were really nice and looked after us throughout our stay

  • Liked — COMFORTABLE BEDS, FREE MINI BAR, BALCONY
  • Disliked — HAVING TO LEAVE
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank tracystravels40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2007

After a ver long day leaving home at 4-30am. We arrived at the hotel at 9pm we were told they were keeping a cold plate of food for us but if we wished to go to the dinning room straight away we could still have dinner, which was very welcoming after the food on the plane was a salami sandwich and a drink we were ready for a full meal. After dinner our bags were taken to our room and coats hung up, there was also a large plate of various fresh fruit for us. The fridge was stocked with beers, coke, water plain and sparkling,orange juice and sprite, which was repenished every day.The rest of our stay was perfect the staff were prepared to go the extra mile to enable you to enjoy your stay. The rooms were clean and every night they came to turn down the bed put a chocolate on our pillow and place a little mat at the side of the bed wich said goodnight when you went to bed and good morning when you arose. The food was varied and plentiful and well cooked and presented.During the holiday we had glorious weather the trip to jungfrau joch was spectacular plus a huskie ride was great fun. When we came to sadly leave we again had an early start this is something to be considered when booking the holiday the transfer time on the train from Grindlewald Zurich airport is 3hours plus the 2 hour check in time can make a very early start. We had to be on the 6-30am train which meant we would miss out on breakfast they arranged for a packed lunch containing 2 sandwiches plus fruit and chocolate and water to drink. the night clerk made us cup of coffee and took us down to the station in the mini bus. We are already planning a return trip next year.

  • Liked — views and central location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank pearharbour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, England
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2007

A decent hotel with nice people working there (mostly). Only let down by a lack of a personal touch. Waiters/waitresses's needed reminding at every course about 3 of our group being vegetarians (the previous hotel in Interlaken needed telling only once!),

Great views, especially from the Eiger facing rooms.

beds not great if you're over 6 foot.

Free mini bar restocked every day.

great if you're going to spend some time in the hotel but if you spend every day out and about (as most people there do), then it's probably not the best place to go to.

3.5 out of 5!!!

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank Walshy1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2007

The dismal Sunstar wins two awards from me - one for the smallest single room and bed I have encountered since I was aged 7 and the other for the humourless reception staff who determinedly resist all attempts to satisfy customer requirements other than to take their money.

This is a strange hotel. It is pretentious - dinner menus are elaborately written and presentation is showy, but the food isn't particularly nice or hot, the building is terribly shabby, and the management erratic.

It's outdated and oddly run - it's almost impossible to secure an online reservation, and most bookings are reserved for low-budget Japanese and English coach tours - so you may be manipulated into paying an unnecessarily high price for your room by having to enquire by telephone and not being able to make fair comparisons.

The buildings are downright depressing in all but the sunniest weather, and apart from a functional pool in the basement, facilities are poor - evening entertainment is the naffest keyboard playing, imagine lounge entertainment circa 1975 and you'll get a good idea

Sunstar also has the distinction of single rooms so small a normally sized adult can stand and touch both walls ... the bathroom is 1.2m wide, and the whole room the same width plus that of a door. It's claustrophobic, and institutional, and the bathrooms are just plain nasty with frameless shower tray, flapping curtain, instant flooding and cracked tiles.

There are many better hotels in Grindelwald, itself not the loveliest of resorts, but your money would be much better spent at the Regina if you can afford it, or even the cheerful Derby down by the station.

Grindelwald itself is a place for getting out of, not for lounging about - so stay in a smarter residence and don't waste your leisure time in the concrete carpark architecture of the Sunstar.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Claustrophobic closet-sized single rooms
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
16 Thank blowstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2007

My husband and I stayed at the Sunstar in July, fabulous views but the new block rooms are very dated. We stayed in room 317. the original rooms I believe are better. The stafff are very freindly and the food is lovely. To sum this Hotel up the service,food and views are 4-5 star but the rooms were 2 star , however they were, clean and the beds were comfortable the toilet seat was plastic and fittings were poor quality. A real shame as it could be amazing if they upgraded the rooms. Helen & Chris Wales

  • Liked — Views
  • Disliked — quality of the rooms
  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Spevs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester,NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2007

I wholeheartedly agree with USMA1986's review of the Sunstar. I read his review prior to leaving and we decided to take his advice. I found his review to be very helpful and deadnuts on. The Sunstar is about a mile walk from the train station, slightly uphill, but it's one of the nicest and most gorgeous villages you will ever see. You won't walk to your hotel, you will meander through the village and go through the shops like we did. If I can recommend 1 thing....do yourself a favor and check your bags (ski's and all!) directly through to the hotel ....we did and we could have kissed our travel agent when we finally got to Grindelwald after 15 hours of planes, trains and automobiles to get there.(costs about $20/bag , and we groaned at first, but I can't express how worthwhile it is to walk into your hotel room and see your bags sitting there waiting for you, and the last time your saw them was when you checked into Swiss Air at JFK!!) and do the same thing in reverse. Check them at the front desk the night before you leave and you won't see them again till you arrive at JFK.
But back to the Sunstar....I wouldn't call this a 5 star hotel, but I would stay here again in a heartbeat. The rooms are bright, clean with a scandinavian feel, bedding is pristine white sheets w/ white down comforters (no blankets or top sheet, used at all in Switzerland) they use down comforters w/ clean white duvet cover only. The beds, although small were very comfortable (my best friend and I shared a room and although we were expecting 2 queen beds, we received a room w/ 2 twins, but that certainly was not a deal breaker for us....you push the beds together if you want to make a queen bed or pull apart about 12" for 2 twins, so we laughed and played the Waltons for a week..."Good night MaryEllen, Good night John Boy! Bathroom was bright, and very clean. Our room faced Eiger mountain and it was spectacular. We opened the curtain to our balcony and the jaws will hit the floor. Unbelievable....Your room comes with a complimentary minibar fridge in each room that gets refilled for free (yes I said free) each day with 2 beers, 2 types of water, 2 types of soda, chocolates....all complimentary, very nice touch and so worthwhile to come back to at the end of the day. They only refill what you take out. We stock piled our beer each day and had a little balcony party the last evening we were there!!
The staff in the hotel couldn't have been nicer or more helpful. Whatever we wanted to do they looked up train tickets for us, made reservations for us, got us transportation when we needed it, told us where to find the great local bars & nightlife and where to go to see some great local bands playing. After 6 days with them, they felt like family...when we came in after a long day of skiing they would greet us with a smile and want to know everything we did....we found everyone behind that desk to be very, very nice people.
They have an absolutely wonderful breakfast buffet every morning.in the dining room. Not your typical American bacon, eggs & pancakes fare (they do have scrambled eggs, but very runny)....this is European food. So alot of deli meats, cheeses (but what fabulous cheeses! Brie, Swiss, Gouda, you name it and it was all wonderful). Breakfast bratwursts, cereals (You won't be finding Lucky Charms and Raisin Bran)...sorry. All you'll see is Muesli, Granola and Oatmeal. Fresh fruit and a vast variety of homebaked breads (the pretzel bread was to DIE for!! Make a breakfast sandwich of pretzel bread, with a huge slice of brie cheese and jam just like the locals do...and you'll find heaven! )Two of those every morning kept me skiing till the afternoon!
They have a locked ski room for your boots (boot heaters too! nice touch!) & ski's on the first floor., close to the street. Grindelwald First gondola was right across the street, so very nice to drop ski's and head right to the little bar. across the steet for the apres ski crowd. In retrospect, I probably would not haul my ski's and boots over again. A few in our party did rental boots and ski's for the week and they were of excellent quality and the skiers who used them loved them. So my boot & ski bag are staying home next time. ...very convenient also to pick up buses to the other mountains also. We scheduled massages as well with the spa....and it was wonderful. One person in our group did not like his, but he tends to like to a very firm massage, so we take him with a grain of salt. Everyone else loved theirs....
We actually are all planning on heading back here for Christmas that's how much we loved this place. So if you want to have a blast with us, your all more than welcome to come too!!
Have fun!!

  • Liked — Convenient to transportation to all ski areas.
  • Disliked — Twin beds so close together. Was expecting Queen size beds, so to sleep on a twin was a challenge again!
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank lillycat62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.6 mi away
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
#2 of 41 in Grindelwald
932 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#4 of 41 in Grindelwald
544 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gletschergarten
Hotel Gletschergarten
#1 of 41 in Grindelwald
800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Parkhotel Schoenegg
Parkhotel Schoenegg
#3 of 41 in Grindelwald
323 reviews
0.4 mi away
Derby Hotel
Derby Hotel
#5 of 41 in Grindelwald
482 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alpenblick Hotel Pub & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunstar Alpine Hotel Grindelwald? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunstar Alpine Hotel Grindelwald

Property: Sunstar Alpine Hotel Grindelwald
Address: Dorfstrasse 168, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Grindelwald
#5 Family Hotel in Grindelwald
#5 Spa Hotel in Grindelwald
#10 Romantic Hotel in Grindelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunstar Alpine Hotel Grindelwald 4*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This holiday and spa hotel is in an outstandingly panoramic location, quiet and central but with uninterrupted views of the famous North Face of the Eiger, Wetterhorn and First. Inside, the hotel is decorated with lots of warm wood, and the spacious lobby has an open fire, creating a cosy atmosphere. The large, comfortable bedrooms with their light wooden furniture are perfect places to relax in. Those in certain categories have a balcony. The half-board "Ambiance" restaurant has picture-perfect views of the mountains, tempting you to linger and eat to your heart's content. Gourmet diners are also superbly catered for in the à-la-carte "Adlerstube" restaurant. In the spa centre, you'll find all kinds of ways to unwind: try the large swimming pool, the Finnish sauna, the Roman baths with four climate zones, the hydro-massage showers, the solarium or the rest room. The hotel also offers an attractive range of sports, from a fitness centre to aquagymnastics and aerobics. If you take your holidays in the glacier village of Grindelwald, you'll have the opportunity to enjoy all the many and varied activities that are available in the Jungfrau region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sunstar Alpine Hotel Grindelwald reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grindelwald Sunstar Hotel
Sunstar Grindelwald
Sunstar Hotel Grindelwald
Grindelwald Hotel Sunstar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing