We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Views views views”
Review of Berggasthaus First

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Berggasthaus First
Ranked #5 of 22 Grindelwald B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Views views views”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

This place was awesome. What can I say about the views but outstanding. The mountain streams churning their way down to Grindewald - the mountain range views - even got to see a rainbow over the valley. The hospitality of the staff was amazing. We got upgraded to a small dorm all to ourselves as we were there in off season. That is always a nice touch when that happens, and shows that the staff are doing some PR work. The half board meals were really great, and we could linger over them and never felt rushed. It was like the staff was catering only to us - but again it helps to be off season. Our dorm view probably had the best view of the whole place. It was a dorm with 2 bunk beds in it, in a corner of the building. The bathroom facilites are shared, but clean and big and lots of hot water - sometimes toooo hot. The cable car ride up from Grindewald was almost never ending - it took over 30 minutes to get up top with a change in the middle. Had the cable car to myself and enjoyed the views as much as I could as it was a bit cloudy and hazy. All in all for the 2 night stay we had there with our meals, it was really really reasonable price wise - and oh , did i mention the views?
The view from the rooftop terrace was outstanding - you felt right there - in harmony with the mountains and nature.

Room Tip: Do not go expecting romance in the rooms as they are all bunks, and unfortunately the mattress is ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dody_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    9
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
10
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

My husband and 12 yr old son hiked for 5 days in the Jungfrau region of Switzerland. This was one of our night stop offs - great service, food and very clean rooms and facilities! I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuekBrooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

For a mountain hut, this place is not cheap, but as a first mountain hut experience for our group, it was absolutely fantastic. The Gasthof is situated above Grindelwald, at the top of the cable car from First. It has a huge terrace affording views straight onto the Eiger, and across towards Kleine Scheidegg.

Accommodation was in dormitories of varying size, all modern, quite new, clean and bedding provided. Shower facilities also relatively high standard; although the corridors to the rooms themselves do make you feel as if you are entering the depths of the cable car station… (you are)

We enjoyed half board here, so an excellent 3 course dinner, then in the morning, a breakfast buffet you could take your tray out to the terrace and (if you were late as us) sit in the sun opposite the Eiger in your PJs watching people arrive with their skis! It’s well situated too for hiking higher up into the mountains for off piste skiing and Europe’s longest sledge run.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cazski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2011

Found this berghaus mentioned in a small travel guide for the Alpine Pass Route. Hard to find, as was tucked underneath the First lift station. Well worth the stay of 2 nights! Views were amazing. Our small dorm room looked out at Schreckhorn, the Eiger and down to Grindelwald. Full moon, sunrise and paragliding views. Huge deck on restaurant with goatskin throws to ward off chills. Food(half board)was excellent with one dinner made to our request. One of the best breakfasts in Switzerland! Service was excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for the corner room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peakpair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.0 mi away
Alpenblick Hotel Pub & Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Hotel Caprice
Hotel Caprice
#20 of 41 in Grindelwald
151 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Wetterhorn
Hotel Wetterhorn
#26 of 41 in Grindelwald
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Grindelwald
0.0 mi away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#3 of 41 in Grindelwald
545 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jungfrau Lodge Swiss Mountain Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berggasthaus First? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berggasthaus First

Property: Berggasthaus First
Address: Postfach 32, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Grindelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Berggasthaus First reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing