We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT Experience staying up on the mountain in Grindelwald”
Review of Berggasthaus First

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Berggasthaus First
Ranked #4 of 22 Grindelwald B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 19, 2012

For a mountain hut, this place is not cheap, but as a first mountain hut experience for our group, it was absolutely fantastic. The Gasthof is situated above Grindelwald, at the top of the cable car from First. It has a huge terrace affording views straight onto the Eiger, and across towards Kleine Scheidegg.

Accommodation was in dormitories of varying size, all modern, quite new, clean and bedding provided. Shower facilities also relatively high standard; although the corridors to the rooms themselves do make you feel as if you are entering the depths of the cable car station… (you are)

We enjoyed half board here, so an excellent 3 course dinner, then in the morning, a breakfast buffet you could take your tray out to the terrace and (if you were late as us) sit in the sun opposite the Eiger in your PJs watching people arrive with their skis! It’s well situated too for hiking higher up into the mountains for off piste skiing and Europe’s longest sledge run.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cazski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (30)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 30 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2011

Found this berghaus mentioned in a small travel guide for the Alpine Pass Route. Hard to find, as was tucked underneath the First lift station. Well worth the stay of 2 nights! Views were amazing. Our small dorm room looked out at Schreckhorn, the Eiger and down to Grindelwald. Full moon, sunrise and paragliding views. Huge deck on restaurant with goatskin throws to ward off chills. Food(half board)was excellent with one dinner made to our request. One of the best breakfasts in Switzerland! Service was excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for the corner room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peakpair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, traveled with family
Thank Doris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Buongustaio1309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank g-cardozo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, traveled with friends
1  Thank pilz705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016, traveled with family
Thank enosoph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.0 mi away
Alpenblick Hotel Pub & Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Central Hotel Wolter
Central Hotel Wolter
#17 of 41 in Grindelwald
251 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#3 of 41 in Grindelwald
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Berghaus Bort
Berghaus Bort
#6 of 41 in Grindelwald
179 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Caprice
Hotel Caprice
#19 of 41 in Grindelwald
160 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bernerhof
Hotel Bernerhof
#1 of 22 in Grindelwald
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berggasthaus First? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berggasthaus First

Address: Postfach 32, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Grindelwald
Price Range: $60 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Berggasthaus First reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing