We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grindelwald”
Review of Hotel Bernerhof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Bernerhof
Ranked #1 of 22 Grindelwald B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 29, 2012

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank LAWRENCE B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (156)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

66 - 72 of 156 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2012

Convinient location about 50 m from the train station, good breakfast, a little bit noisy as the walls are very thin.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jasendoktor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2012

great little hotel in beautiful town. great location - friendly helpful staff - free coffee (nespresso!!) would defo recommend.

Only suggestion: It would be good to have a guide to the different ski resorts as there is a huge choice - how to get there = good place for beginners/intermediate etc
for example you can get the bus to bodmi (great for beginners) which is 15 mins away = the train to Schedigg which is 30 mins away or the gondala to First which is 40 mins away

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank supertramp33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2011

A nice small hotel, entrance not easy to see because a bit hidden among shops, room a bit out of date but perfect position for a trip to jungfraujoch.
The bath and the room was clean, although the dimension, particularly the toilet, is really really small.. If I were a fat man, don' t know how...
Breakfast included, sufficient as variety. Wifi is also for free.
We used as base for excursion to Jungfrau and the location in fron of the station is perfect for that.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank giangui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2011

Good things first - The location is excellent and the rooms were clean; breakfast layout was good and the staff in the breakfast counter very polite and helpful.
Bad things - when you check in they hand you some 10 commandments disobeying which they will charge you more which include things like ( your kid dirties the linen we charge more, you leave the room untidy more than necessary we charge more etc etc - which is a put off) but what is worse is that we noticed that the bedsheet was torn in our room. when we asked for a change the response was the sheets were clean and how did it matter if they had holes!!!!
Also given that it is on the main road it is very noisy till late and you cant sleep till pretty late as you need to keep the windows open for ventilation. I have never got this - why dont they have better ways of ventilating if they dont put aircons. So for ventilation you will need to keep the windows open and it will be noisy.
The room sizes are tiny but to be fair we were aware of that when booking

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AKJ07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2011

It's a nice hotel at a good location not only near the train station but also with a amazing view. Staffs are very helpful and friendly.
The only disadvantage is that the breakfast is not very good. They only offer cold food in the buffet.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shinebow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2011

I was with my girlfriend's family and friends and stayed 2 nights in this hotel. We were greeted by the friendly staff who was very helpful in suggesting itinerary when we were quite at a lost on what to do. The staff also packed breakfast for us when we told them we had to leave early the next morning before breakfast time to catch the first train up to Jungfrau.

The room is a little small for comfort but thats the only complain I have about this place. The view outside (of Jungfrau) was excellent. We had a small television, a working fridge and an absolutely clean bathroom. A safe was provided and the cupboards could all be locked with keys.

The breakfast buffet was also commendable. There was a huge variety of food (considering I usually stay in hostel on my own) ranging from bread to hams to cheese and yoghurt. They even had a boiler for us to boil our eggs to our liking with timing guidelines at the side. One should note that the hotel also has a fully-functional cinema with decent english movies.

Location-wise was perfect for us as it was a near the train-station which the only train that will take you up to Jungfrau terminates. Parking was not a problem as there were plentiful space for 5CHF a day. There was Co-op just 100m away and all groceries could be gotten from there.

All in all a pleasant stay with a great view. The staff made the whole entire experience worth the extra cash splashed out for a hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marcusfpj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.0 mi away
Central Hotel Wolter
Central Hotel Wolter
#17 of 41 in Grindelwald
250 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#3 of 41 in Grindelwald
580 reviews
0.1 mi away
Derby Hotel
Derby Hotel
#5 of 41 in Grindelwald
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Parkhotel Schoenegg
Parkhotel Schoenegg
#4 of 41 in Grindelwald
359 reviews
0.2 mi away
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
#2 of 41 in Grindelwald
970 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tschuggen
Hotel Tschuggen
#7 of 41 in Grindelwald
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bernerhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bernerhof

Address: Dorfstrasse 89, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Grindelwald
Price Range: $149 - $312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bernerhof 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Hotel with a cosy bar, directly at the station and sport-center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Bernerhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bernerhof Hotel Grindelwald

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing