We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Kreuz & Post

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Kreuz & Post
Ranked #10 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
Duluth, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Just returned from trip and spent 5 nights at Kreuz & Post!! Great service, great hotel and staff was superb!! Great access to train station! Had great meal in restaurant with superb service! Helena (owner/manager) personally greeted and visited with us!! All good!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    112
    28
    9
    6
See reviews for
66
154
20
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

We were looking forward to going to this restaurant and went on the last night of our holiday. What a total and utter mistake.

The staff were unhelpful to the point of being rude! I ordered the special which was advertised outside and I didn't get it but I did get something similar but I definitely didn't pay the price of the special.

The staff were fawning over a table of 4 and I think it was pretty obvious that they could not have cared less about us. Very weird atmosphere in the place not helped that it wasn't busy.

Totally embarrassed when I asked discretely where the toilets were and the waiter pointed to a sign and told me in a loud voice to follow the signs to the toilet.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ChunkyMonkey53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meridian, Mississippi
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a trip to Switzerland and we adored Grindelwald. It was a real pleasure to stay at the Hotel Kreuz & Post. Our room was on the front of the building and we had a super view of the mountain. We were only steps from the train station and from great restaurants. I didn't have an opportunity to eat in the hotel restaurant, but heard that the food was wonderful. I would definitely recommend this hotel to other travelers.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the front of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mdpwalton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhoose, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

A 2 night stay half board in a south facing room with balcony and uninterrupted views of the Eiger.

A really nice hotel. Simple, clean but perhaps a little dated in places. Excellent service and amazing food! Our 5 course dinner both nights was superb. Very convenient for the railway station. Free WiFi.

Room Tip: A south facing room is worth any extra expense.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevemhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

When booking the hotel our goal was to spend 5 days of relaxation and the possibility of hiking in the Swiss mountains. Immediately upon arrival at the Grindelwald train station we realized we had chosen well. We were looking at the Hotel Kreuz & Post some 60 meters away just as is shown on the web site. We arrived with no particular plan but within an hour the super friendly and helpful receptionist helped us getting “installed”. On their advice we purchased the Jungfrau Pass and were on our way to an alpine cheese festival. The Junior Suite we had booked was spacious with a large balcony looking out to the Eiger Mountain. The food and the service in the restaurant are authentic Swiss. We recommend this family operated Hotel as the best choice in Grindelwald.

Room Tip: Book a room with Eiger View. It is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelKreuzPost, Manager at Hotel Kreuz & Post, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Robert R

thank you very much for this wonderful review, it makes us very happy!

Best regards from Grindelwald to Thousand Oaks, California

Helena Konzett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

Stayed here for 02 nights, to avoid ''touristy'' interlaken. Just stones throw from the grindelwald station.
I had booked well in advance and on the day of arrival, it was told that the restaurant was closed on that particular day and would open only the next evening. I mean c'mon, you could have told that earlier while i was getting the bookings done. The reception guy really had no clue of the things around, when we asked for things like where can we eat, places which would be open etc. Had to self naviage (though was easier being a small hill town).You may be tempted by the look of things on their website, but that's how it goes. The rooms are very dull and corridors are too tight, its a very very basic kinda hotel and far too pricey. The restaurant is still better than the hotel but nothing outstanding either.

If you plan to just sleep, probably get yourself a cheaper hotel than this and a better nights sleep.
Avoid it if you really want to enjoy your stay in this beautiful land.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank globe_traveller_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelKreuzPost, Inhaber at Hotel Kreuz & Post, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear „global_traveller_20“

we always welcome constructive feedback of our guests. However, it makes us sad that you didn’t try to speak with us personally about your dissatisfaction. Further it is extremely surprising that you publish such negative reviews almost 1 year after your stay with us and this even twice and as an anonymous person.

In the low season “November” our restaurant is closed on Monday. Just 5 of 50 hotels/restaurants are opened in the low season in Grindelwald. We are one of this 5, just with 1 day of rest on Mondays. This doesn’t mean that our hotel guests have to go out to find a restaurant, because our house guest can always eat the half board- Menu in our dining room which is open 7 days a week.
As you wrote in your review our Restaurant has a very good reputation. We wouldn’t & we never described the restaurant as “chic”. Our guests like the typical Swiss rustic style and the traditional good food.
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We truly value the opinions of our customers and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations.

As our first priority is to satisfy all our guests. We always appreciate if guests give us their
feedback directly as in that way we can react and find a solution or explain directly. If you come back to our hotel and restaurant I would love to have the opportunity to speak with you directly, so please ask for me. We hope to see you again in the future and wish you the very best.

We hope that one of our happy guests will read this and they may answer you as well

Kind regards from Grindelwald, from the beautiful Berner Oberland

Hotel Kreuz & Post
Helena Konzett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

The hotel is perfectly situated to allow you to enjoy Grindelwald and the area fully. The staff were very helpful, the room we had was spacious and the breakfast very good. The south facing rooms with balcony are great with views out to the Eiger.

Room Tip: South facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rousesonholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#4 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
0.2 mi away
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
#2 of 41 in Grindelwald
5.0 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
0.1 mi away
Derby Hotel
Derby Hotel
#5 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Gletschergarten
Hotel Gletschergarten
#1 of 41 in Grindelwald
5.0 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Grindelwald
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tschuggen
Hotel Tschuggen
#7 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kreuz & Post? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kreuz & Post

Property: Hotel Kreuz & Post
Address: Dorfstrasse 85, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Grindelwald
#6 Spa Hotel in Grindelwald
#8 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Grindelwald
#8 Family Hotel in Grindelwald
#12 Romantic Hotel in Grindelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kreuz & Post 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Schones Hotel an bester Lage im Zentrum von Grindelwald neben der kleinen Jungfraubahnstation. 42 Zimmer und Suiten mit traumhafter Bergsicht. Rustikale und elegante Restaurants und Panoramasaal. Intern. Kuche. Verschiedene Aufenthaltsraume und Seminarraum. Wellness. Fitness. Dachterrasse. Gratis WIFI und Parkplatze ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Kreuz & Post reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kreuz And Post
Hotel Kreuz Post
Kreuz Post Grindelwald

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing