We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Recommended”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Kreuz & Post

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Kreuz & Post
Ranked #10 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
Rhoose, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Recommended”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

A 2 night stay half board in a south facing room with balcony and uninterrupted views of the Eiger.

A really nice hotel. Simple, clean but perhaps a little dated in places. Excellent service and amazing food! Our 5 course dinner both nights was superb. Very convenient for the railway station. Free WiFi.

Room Tip: A south facing room is worth any extra expense.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevemhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    112
    28
    9
    6
See reviews for
66
154
20
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

When booking the hotel our goal was to spend 5 days of relaxation and the possibility of hiking in the Swiss mountains. Immediately upon arrival at the Grindelwald train station we realized we had chosen well. We were looking at the Hotel Kreuz & Post some 60 meters away just as is shown on the web site. We arrived with no particular plan but within an hour the super friendly and helpful receptionist helped us getting “installed”. On their advice we purchased the Jungfrau Pass and were on our way to an alpine cheese festival. The Junior Suite we had booked was spacious with a large balcony looking out to the Eiger Mountain. The food and the service in the restaurant are authentic Swiss. We recommend this family operated Hotel as the best choice in Grindelwald.

Room Tip: Book a room with Eiger View. It is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelKreuzPost, Manager at Hotel Kreuz & Post, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Robert R

thank you very much for this wonderful review, it makes us very happy!

Best regards from Grindelwald to Thousand Oaks, California

Helena Konzett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

Stayed here for 02 nights, to avoid ''touristy'' interlaken. Just stones throw from the grindelwald station.
I had booked well in advance and on the day of arrival, it was told that the restaurant was closed on that particular day and would open only the next evening. I mean c'mon, you could have told that earlier while i was getting the bookings done. The reception guy really had no clue of the things around, when we asked for things like where can we eat, places which would be open etc. Had to self naviage (though was easier being a small hill town).You may be tempted by the look of things on their website, but that's how it goes. The rooms are very dull and corridors are too tight, its a very very basic kinda hotel and far too pricey. The restaurant is still better than the hotel but nothing outstanding either.

If you plan to just sleep, probably get yourself a cheaper hotel than this and a better nights sleep.
Avoid it if you really want to enjoy your stay in this beautiful land.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank globe_traveller_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelKreuzPost, Inhaber at Hotel Kreuz & Post, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear „global_traveller_20“

we always welcome constructive feedback of our guests. However, it makes us sad that you didn’t try to speak with us personally about your dissatisfaction. Further it is extremely surprising that you publish such negative reviews almost 1 year after your stay with us and this even twice and as an anonymous person.

In the low season “November” our restaurant is closed on Monday. Just 5 of 50 hotels/restaurants are opened in the low season in Grindelwald. We are one of this 5, just with 1 day of rest on Mondays. This doesn’t mean that our hotel guests have to go out to find a restaurant, because our house guest can always eat the half board- Menu in our dining room which is open 7 days a week.
As you wrote in your review our Restaurant has a very good reputation. We wouldn’t & we never described the restaurant as “chic”. Our guests like the typical Swiss rustic style and the traditional good food.
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We truly value the opinions of our customers and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations.

As our first priority is to satisfy all our guests. We always appreciate if guests give us their
feedback directly as in that way we can react and find a solution or explain directly. If you come back to our hotel and restaurant I would love to have the opportunity to speak with you directly, so please ask for me. We hope to see you again in the future and wish you the very best.

We hope that one of our happy guests will read this and they may answer you as well

Kind regards from Grindelwald, from the beautiful Berner Oberland

Hotel Kreuz & Post
Helena Konzett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

The hotel is perfectly situated to allow you to enjoy Grindelwald and the area fully. The staff were very helpful, the room we had was spacious and the breakfast very good. The south facing rooms with balcony are great with views out to the Eiger.

Room Tip: South facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rousesonholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
160 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

We spent 3 nights here and I wished I had stayed longer. From the moment we arrived we where greeted in a friendly and welcoming way, Lena was very helpful and started our stay of on the right note. The only small thing is the beds are firm but I didn't mark the hotel down for this as they exceeded my expectations in all the other ways. The breakfast was good. The hotel is less than 100m from the station so its easy to get to when dragging along suitcases.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Brenda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
76 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

We had booked two nights, through Travel Republic, at the Jungfrau Lodge in Grindelwald. We, there were two couples, arrived at the hotel, took our six bags from the car and went to reception. We were met by an embarrassed Receptionist who told us that we could not stay at the Jungfrau Lodge as our rooms had been double booked. Instead they had paid themselves for a transfer to the 4* Hotel Kreuz & Post in the town centre.

WHAT A RESULT!!

An upgrade and a far better location, right next to the Railway station in the heart of the town.

The rooms were amazing, directly facing Mt Eiger, with a super balcony to use to take in the extraordinary mountain views. Excellent room size, with the room in very good condition, plenty of towels, toiletries. Lovely comfy chairs to sit on and a very good quality bed. We had two days breakfasts and two nights dinner at the Hotel all of which were of super quality and very well cooked and presented. It was nice to see one of the Hotel owners going round the dining room asking if all was well. Lovely, helpful reception staff who were informative and understanding of the travellers needs.

Hotels in Switzerland are not cheap but I felt that the tariff for the Kreuz & Post was fair and represented good value.

We took the train ride to the top of the Jungfrau--it just has to be done. Jaw dropping scenery that just takes your breath away (it was -3c when we were there!!!).

One of the best days of my life---period.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Porscheboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
123 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Nice looking hotel almost on the station compound overlooking the bus-stand. The receptionist gave us a room with a balcony- that was so superb! Room was very spacious and beautiful. They also issued us a city-pass for our whole stay which allowed us traveling by bus to kill time, that is if you are left with any! We were slightly disappointed with the breakfast- but may be it was our fault that we thought Swiss breakfasts are similar to German ones! Definitely would stay here again.

Room Tip: If booking through internet, call them afterwards and ask for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lazy_1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#3 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
0.2 mi away
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
#2 of 41 in Grindelwald
5.0 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
0.1 mi away
Derby Hotel
Derby Hotel
#5 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Gletschergarten
Hotel Gletschergarten
#1 of 41 in Grindelwald
5.0 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Grindelwald
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tschuggen
Hotel Tschuggen
#7 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kreuz & Post? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kreuz & Post

Property: Hotel Kreuz & Post
Address: Dorfstrasse 85, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Grindelwald
#6 Spa Hotel in Grindelwald
#8 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Grindelwald
#8 Family Hotel in Grindelwald
#12 Romantic Hotel in Grindelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kreuz & Post 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Schones Hotel an bester Lage im Zentrum von Grindelwald neben der kleinen Jungfraubahnstation. 42 Zimmer und Suiten mit traumhafter Bergsicht. Rustikale und elegante Restaurants und Panoramasaal. Intern. Kuche. Verschiedene Aufenthaltsraume und Seminarraum. Wellness. Fitness. Dachterrasse. Gratis WIFI und Parkplatze ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Kreuz & Post reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kreuz And Post
Hotel Kreuz Post
Kreuz Post Grindelwald

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing