We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable hotel in the centre of town.”
Review of Hotel Kreuz & Post

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Kreuz & Post
Ranked #9 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Comfortable hotel in the centre of town.”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We had two rooms at this hotel; one single and one double. The single room was at the back of the building and the double room was at the front. The double room was large and had a balcony overlooking the main street and the three main mountains (Eiger, Monch and Jungfrau). There was a minibar, TV and free Wi-Fi. The room was quiet when the windows were shut, but when open, there was a fair amount of street noise.

The single room had a mountain view but not of the famous three, and was still very pleasant despite not having a balcony. It was a quiet room with bath and comfortable bed plus minibar, TV, Wi-Fi.

Breakfast was rich and plentiful with cereals, breads, eggs and cheeses.

The hotel staff were friendly and welcoming. The hotel is opposite the bus station and only 50m to the train station.

A good hotel to stay at if visiting Grindelwald for a night or two. If staying longer, I would choose a self catering apartment as the restaurants in town are quite expensive

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    112
    28
    9
    6
See reviews for
66
154
20
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Only had time for 1 night stay, and got good deal - greatly reduced price - and they made front facing room available upon check-in, which we took, as it had a balcony with spectacular views of Eiger. Spent several hours just relaxing and watching the view/crowds from this balcony.
Staff speak English very well, and are most helpful. Very comfortable room. Very modern.

Room Tip: Take front facing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John-Tammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ichtegem, West-Vlaanderen, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed June 8, 2012

excellent stay @ this hotel !
Friendly people.
Very beautiful interior.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

We booked a week in Switzerland through Kuoni to go walking in September 2011. The hotel staff picked up our bags from the station - they had been transfered from London City airport right through to Grindelwald using the SwissAir/Train service - which was just a few minutes away.

The room we were booked into was very basic, in line with what you'd expect, but what I hadn't been expecting was the noise which came through the ceiling from the jacuzzi/sauna on the top floor of the hotel.

However, we raised this at reception and were quickly shown to a much better room at the back of the hotel, where we couldn't hear the noise at all, which was so much better. Throughout the stay, the service was fantastic.

The restaurant was also fantastic - great, fresh food and about 7 courses every night! The menu was quite limited, but changed daily. I think vegetarians might struggle to find something they really liked every day, but we loved it.

Whilst there was no pool at the hotel, there was a huge, beautiful pool with amazing views over the mountains just over the road which we used quite a few times. There's also the above mentioned sauna and jacuzzi area which is also very nice...if not a little loud if your room is nearby.....

Room Tip: Our first room was quite basic and noisy (because of the jacuzzi). It was room 315, I think. The sec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsFLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

As a group of 27 we had a hard time finding a large restaurant with some atmosphere that could accommodate a large family group .. The staff at tis hotel were wonderfully kind, attentive and professional. The meal was formally served at decorated festive tables in a lovely dining room. All ages were catered for and we felt the Xmas festive spirit in this gorgeous Orel in the picturesque village of grndelwald. Price was approx US$100 per person for 4 courses of traditional Xmas cuisine

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellingsparkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neuchatel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 26, 2012

Grindelwald is one of the most beautiful places i've ever seen, and the views of the Eiger from the room were just spectacular. The room was clean and very nice. Reception staff were vey nice and helpful in every moment. The Spa is little but really nice. Very good hotel to live a great experience in a wonderful place.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fer1285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2012

Fabulous staff, wonderful food and great entertainment from DJ Steve (who played drums as well with Whyman & Whyman, a rock and blues combo of considerable talent). The view from the balcony was stunning. The hotel was very warm, bed very comfortable and a pleasure to rest our weary bodies after skiing or walking. The Challi bar in the hotel is well worth a visit, live music (see above) and good atmosphere. Hope to return.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lenny440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#3 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
0.2 mi away
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
#2 of 41 in Grindelwald
5.0 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
0.1 mi away
Derby Hotel
Derby Hotel
#5 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Gletschergarten
Hotel Gletschergarten
#1 of 41 in Grindelwald
5.0 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Grindelwald
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tschuggen
Hotel Tschuggen
#7 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kreuz & Post? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kreuz & Post

Property: Hotel Kreuz & Post
Address: Dorfstrasse 85, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Grindelwald
#6 Spa Hotel in Grindelwald
#7 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Grindelwald
#8 Family Hotel in Grindelwald
#12 Romantic Hotel in Grindelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kreuz & Post 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Schones Hotel an bester Lage im Zentrum von Grindelwald neben der kleinen Jungfraubahnstation. 42 Zimmer und Suiten mit traumhafter Bergsicht. Rustikale und elegante Restaurants und Panoramasaal. Intern. Kuche. Verschiedene Aufenthaltsraume und Seminarraum. Wellness. Fitness. Dachterrasse. Gratis WIFI und Parkplatze ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Kreuz & Post reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kreuz And Post
Hotel Kreuz Post
Kreuz Post Grindelwald

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing