We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing view to wake up to!”
Review of Hotel Kreuz & Post

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Kreuz & Post
Ranked #12 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 4, 2011

Hi, we stayed here after we went to the "Top of Europe" - the Jungefrau, 3500 meters up. We saw this picturesque town while climbing the mountain with the train. As it was not planned, it was a "wlak-in" choice.
The hotel is situated on the main road, right next to the post office and the train - excellent location.
The room was on the 5th floor and sadly the internet - which we paid for - did not function at all (it did when we tried it back at the reception floor).Room was a bit "heavy", although elegant. Dark blue. We had twin beds, a TV, nice sized closet, small but clean bathroom. The view was AMAZING - right in front of us the JungeFrau mountain and snowy peaks. Breathtaking. Price is fair if you take into account how expensive Switzerland is! There's parking for your car in the back of the hotel. Breakfast was very nice - a range of foods. Decor is heavy country style. The town itself is so nice - You can take a walk, there are stores and restaurants right next to the hotel on the main street, We had cheese Fondue in one of them while looking at the view..Priceless almost...As we checked in - we received a voucher to use the town pool which is a few meters away. We dont swim, but if you do - it's a good deal. There is also a supermarket - COOP - very close by to the left of the entrance of the hotel, where the rest of the stores are. WIll I stay here again? YES! Do I recommend it? YES YES YES :-)

Room Tip: Only agree to a room facing the view /mountain!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spirit2809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (372)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

146 - 152 of 372 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2011

Very helpful management. The people who wait on you are attentive - you don't have any trouble trying to catch their eye.
Food has a nice presentation, but unlike some other upscale hotels, this food is meant to be eaten, not photographed - it's delicious!
Good central location: ~ 50 meters past the end of the railroad terminus and main cog railroad, across the street from the main bus stop.

When we vacation, we usually pick one or two new places and one "safe" place that we know we'll enjoy. The K&P is one of our "safe" places. We stay there every time we're in the Interlaken area.
The wellness center is small but nice - jacuzzi, sauna, steambath, exercise machines, lounge area.

Room Tip: Rooms on south side have a nice view of the major mountains, e.g., the Eiger. Rooms on the north si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ernie58120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

The very warm and friendly staff made us feel at home and not wanting to leave the hotel. The Restaurant got a new look since our last stay and the food and service continues to be the Best.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CStKauai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

Stayed two nights at the start of an INNTRAVEL walking holiday. Comfortable room, good food and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrancesAndLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

The rooms are very nice and confortable. On our balcony we have a great view to the Eiger.
After our walking tours we relaxed in the aqua-spa, the sauna and steambath.
The team was very friendly, they have pamperd us and every evening they prepared a delicious 6 course dinner with a personally adaptation.
We will tell our friends in Belgium about this unforgeteble hotel in Grindelwald.
We stay in the hotel on the 1st of august, the birthday of Switzerland. In Grindelwald and hotel Kreuz&Post are many festivities.

Room Tip: The rooms facing south have a great view on the Eiger. Our room 405 was super!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrindelwaldEdegem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

We stayed 2 nights whilst on a walking trip in the Bernese Oberland. The hotel is perfectly located for rail travellers - directly opposite the platform. We arrived late and were swiftly ushered to the restaurant where a splendid meal was provided. The hotel room was comfortable, spacious and had a great view of the Eiger (unfortunately shrouded in mist for most of stay). Breakfast was a generous buffet; service friendly and efficient. Bircher muesli highly recommended.

Room Tip: Pay a bit extra for room upgrade - worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terence K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2011

This hotel was fantastic. It was conveniently located very near the train station and bus stop. The room was clean and new looking, with no dirty carpet and peeling paint. The view of the Eiger mountain from the room fed my soul. My body was fed with a delicious five course meal that was delightfully presented. I got an 8 day package with half pension and room that fit nicely with my SwissPass. For only 1225 SF I thought it was a very good deal. The people working at the hotel were all wonderful and friendly. The area of Switzerland that it is located in is the most beautiful place that I have seen on the earth. I plan to go again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rwzima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 2, 2011

Dear guest from Valencia

Thank you so much for writing such a great review on tripadvisor. It was a pleasure to have you and your wife as guests for more than a week. We know that the view from our superior rooms towards the Eiger is absolutely magnificent and there is so much to see. We are glad you enjoyed it as much as we do, living in this beatiful little village.

It is true, that our location is one of the best in Grindelwald as we are so close to the train and bus station so all major gondolas, trains etc. can be reached very easy.

We also want to thank you for praising our delicious food and the friendliness of our staff.

We would be very delighted to welcome you back next year and in the meantime we wish you all the best.

Kind Regards,


Family Konzett & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#3 of 41 in Grindelwald
619 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Grindelwald
Hotel Belvedere Grindelwald
#2 of 41 in Grindelwald
1,014 reviews
0.1 mi away
Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof Grindelwald
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Spinne
Hotel Spinne
#15 of 41 in Grindelwald
288 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Gletschergarten
Hotel Gletschergarten
#1 of 41 in Grindelwald
866 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Grindelwald
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kreuz & Post? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kreuz & Post

Address: Dorfstrasse 85, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Grindelwald
#7 Family Hotel in Grindelwald
#8 Spa Hotel in Grindelwald
#10 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Grindelwald
#12 Romantic Hotel in Grindelwald
Price Range: $252 - $503 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kreuz & Post 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Schones Hotel an bester Lage im Zentrum von Grindelwald neben der kleinen Jungfraubahnstation. 42 Zimmer und Suiten mit traumhafter Bergsicht. Rustikale und elegante Restaurants und Panoramasaal. Intern. Kuche. Verschiedene Aufenthaltsraume und Seminarraum. Wellness. Fitness. Dachterrasse. Gratis WIFI und Parkplatze ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Kreuz & Post reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kreuz And Post
Hotel Kreuz Post
Kreuz Post Grindelwald

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing