We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Hotel in Convenient Location”
Review of Derby Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Derby Hotel
Ranked #5 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 7, 2010

The Derby Hotel is in a great location right in town and a short walk to everything. We literally walked off the train at Grindelwald and into the Hotel (literally a one minute walk). This is such a relief if you have backpacks and suitcases. No need for taxis or pick ups.

Trains dont travel after a certain time at night, so they do not disturb you.

We got a standard double at 206chf per night and added half board at 35chf per person.

After hiking all day and being exhausted and hungry, it was great to shower and just come down to a decent 5 course meal in the hotel. I can be quite a fussy eater, but the food was really nice. After looking around Grindelwald, there is no way we could have gotten better value anywhere else. I ate everything because I was enjoying it and it was fun having five courses (although we both left very full....).

If you stay at this place and expect to be hiking all day, come back starving and wanting a comfortable good place to stay and a feast at night - this place will suit you perfectly.

It was a few minutes walk to cafes and shops. It was about a fifteen min walk to First Gondola up the hill (or you could catch the bus if you really wanted too I guess). From First there are some of the most spectacular awesome hikes - some of the most memorable that I've ever done.

The only negative about the Derby was on saturday night quite a few teenagers congregated till late around the train station as if it was their local hangout...and made a bit of noise. It only happened on a sat night and we were there 3 nights.

Overall, if you just want a nice comfortable, good value,, well located place to stay, and want to be able to easily walk with lots of luggage from Grindelwald Station to your hotel....then this is perfect.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank misstravel39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (553)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

316 - 322 of 553 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2010

Spent two nights after arriving from Chamonix and doing the TMB. Room overlooked rail station -- entertaining, convenient, and surprisingly quiet. Rooms are compact but very comfortable. Meals excellent, especially the regional specialties. Some may find the food pricey, but if you're traveling to Switzerland expecting bargains, you're suffering from hallucinations. We used the location as a base for a day hike on the Eiger trail.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brentsdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2010

Great hotel situated in heart of Grindelwald. Stayed in suite with Eiger view ( mind you it was cloudy for the 5 days we were there so didn't see much of it!).
Staff are really friendly and a great source of info about things to do in the area. The hotel is right on the train station platform so getting around is not a problem although we had a hire car also.... parking is interesting, you have to drive along the platform to get to the car park which can be a bit tight if you've got a larger car.
The hotel and rooms are spotless and would recommend a suite... the rooms are lovely.
We ate in the hotel a couple of times. It's typical Swiss food ie higher on quantity than quality but the fondue is passable. There is a nice little bar in the hotel. Would recommend this hotel as a great base to explore the area. All the staff are really friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank freodoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2010

Our stay at the Derby was excellent. Well worth the extra to stay in a balcony facing the Eiger. The staff was most helpful. The half-board was lovely, especially since it was low season and many other places to eat were closed. But still a great value in any season - especially after a long day walking around - it is good to be "home". The Derby is directly at the station but this is not a sound factor other than the whistle. Everything about the Derby is excellent. It is family run but boosts long-time employees that are not family members. Everyone was well trained and happy - good employees make a great difference. A fine operation and we will be back.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WandPG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2010

I stayed at The Derby 3rd - 10th April 10' (Easter week)

The hotel is in an excellent location, 2 minutes walk into town, door step for train station for Kleine Schiedegg ski area, 5 minutes walk to First gondola or 2 minutes ride on the bus.
The food was of excellent quality and always a good variety. I'm a very fussy eater but was always full. The manager was extremely nice and gave us vegetables, potatoes and chips if there wasn't anything on the menu we liked. One night we also had the choice of cheese or meat fondue instead of the set menu. Breakfasts were good too, there was always plenty of fresh bread, croissants, cheese, meats, boiled egg and toast.
The room was very clean and nice. Fresh towels each day and always cleaned well.
We paid extra for an Eiger mountain view. These rooms were bigger than the standard ones too. The pillows were very flat but I still managed to sleep fine every night.
There is wifi but you have to pay for it, I think it was $2 francs for 30 minutes which isn't that bad, although I didn't go on holiday to use the internet.
There is a fitness room and sauna in the hotel which we didn't use. You also get free access to the swimming pool in the sport centre which again we didn't use but it looked clean.
You cannot hear the trains from inside the hotel, and isn't noisy inside the hotel either when the train station is busy, so don't let this put you off staying here.
With it being the last week of season and Easter I expected it to be very busy, but it wasn't. I wasn't expecting the snow to be 10* but it was still pretty good. Runs into the village wasn't open. We found the First ski area to be the best although Kleine Schiedegg was very good too. There are plenty of restaurants in the mountains to eat at, although prices are quite high. The train to Kleinne Schiedegg takes around 40 minutes.
There is a board park in First, but more for the experienced.

We did the Jungfraujoch trip which takes you to the top of the Eiger mountain. We paid $53 francs each (half price with a lift pass with 3 or more days remaining). It was an interesting trip, but would have been a little disappointed if id paid $106 francs.

The resort isn't exactly lively, there are a few bars, sport centre with ice skating and indoor climbing activity and that's about it. Very good for a relaxing holiday where you will find no 'chavs' as it's a bit too expensive for them!

I would really recommend this hotel and would definitely return but earlier in season so we could board back into the village. Excellent hotel, great clean friendly resort.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank alex_austin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2010

We really enjoyed staying at the Derby on our recent ski holiday. We paid extra for a south facing balcony overlooking the Eiger. As it was a very sunny week this was worth the money, not sure if I would pay the extra £90+ each if it had been cold and mist lays in the valley obscuring the view. The room had everything we needed but could do with bringing up todate,eg the sliding wardrobes were quite hard work and the colour choice of the bathroom wall tiles made the room look rather drab. The pillows were very flat and I found it hard to sleep, Unfortunately despite asking at reception for another pillow, this did not materialise. However this is a minor point as the Derby had excellent service and food . My husband who is very fussy was able to have an alternative to the main course at dinner and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. The dining room manager checked every evening with the guests that they were happy and was there anything else he could do. The hotel laid on extra little touches which were really nice. One evening we returned to the hotel to find two bars of complimentary Swizz chocolate, another night you could have cheese or meat fondue as an alternative to the main course, the management laid on a welcome evening with free drinks and snacks which enabled guests to meet one another. I felt these were really nice touches. Another strength of the hotel is its position. Speaking from a skiiers point of view the hotel was just across the road to the bus stop which took you to the ski area called First. The train for another ski area stopped right outside the front doors of the hotel. This is my first time skiing in Switzerland as I usually ski bigger areas in France and I am not use to split areas. The location of the hotel certainly minimised the difficulties of accessing various areas. The hotel had a good ski room with seating to get boots on, boot warmers and was very secure. Trains, buses all ran to time-that is Swizz time! I would certainly recommend this hotel especially for those skiing.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank omeara352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2010

Stayed here in middle of January with a friend. We had a room on the 2nd floor facing the station and had thought it may be noisy, but this was not the case. it was enjoyable to watch the trains coming in, and being Switzerland they were always on time. The Hotel itself was excellent. The beds comfy, the food absolutely superb, with a good variety at breakfast and excellent 5 course meal every night. Nothing was too much trouble. It was evident that many people return here year after year and I can see why. I will be back next year.

An added benefit was the free entrance to the nearby swimming pool.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank huntergatherer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#3 of 41 in Grindelwald
615 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Gletschergarten
Hotel Gletschergarten
#1 of 41 in Grindelwald
865 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Grindelwald
Hotel Belvedere Grindelwald
#2 of 41 in Grindelwald
1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Central Hotel Wolter
Central Hotel Wolter
#16 of 41 in Grindelwald
261 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Spinne
Hotel Spinne
#15 of 41 in Grindelwald
288 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alpenhof Grindelwald
Hotel Alpenhof Grindelwald
#13 of 41 in Grindelwald
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Derby Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derby Hotel

Address: Dorfstrasse 75, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Grindelwald
#4 Romantic Hotel in Grindelwald
#5 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Grindelwald
Price Range: $174 - $329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Derby Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The very walls that greet you as you approach the Hotel Derby are steeped in history. The "Hotel de la Gare" was built here by the legendary Captain Gsteiger at the end of the 19th century. The same underlying principle applied then as it does now: we want to offer our guests a holiday that will long remain with them as a happy memory. Just travelling to the Derby is a pleasure in itself. The journey by rail could hardly be easier. We are passionate about hospitality and welcome you with a very special combination of attention to details and unobtrusive service. Stylish rooms and suites offer you plenty of space to unwind, relax and take in the splendid Mountain View. All rooms offer view to the surrounding mountains and are equipped with shower or bath/toilet, satellite TV, minibar and safe. The junior suites additionally provide a separate sitting corner. Most of the rooms have a balcony. In total 4 restaurants are at your choice. Either for an elegant dining experience, a tasteful 5-course-menu, a hearty Swiss dish or one of the various fondue specialities, our knowledgeable staff will be happy to advise you and to complete your stay by an attentive service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Derby Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derby Hotel Grindelwald

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing