We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Derby Hotel Grindelwald - wonderful!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Derby Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Derby Hotel
Ranked #5 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh Area
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Derby Hotel Grindelwald - wonderful!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

As an American on my first European ski trip, I quite enjoyed the Derby Hotel in Grindelwald. Here are some highlights and thoughts:

1. The staff is WONDERFUL. They'll bend over backwards to accomdate you - hotel and restaurant wise. Very friendly people who are multi-lingual.

2. The restaurant is great. Our plan included breakfast and dinner. While breakfast is certainly different from our overly greasy/fatty American breakfasts, dinners were wonderful. A wide assortment of very tasty dishes were provided and we delighted in the cuisine. We were able to enjoy a fondue night as well, and while it isn't my favorite dining experience, it is fun. (The cheese has a unique soft texture and pungent aroma that takes a little getting used to. And I hate leaving a restaurant smelling like the fry cook.)

3. Location! Right on the rail line, you just need to step outside to grab a train to the slopes or neighboring towns. The town is quaint, but alas, like most ski resort towns is fast becoming overly commercial. Expensive shops abound. The beautiful church at the upper part of town is open for visits - my fiance and I got engaged there! :) Ski lift tickets can be purchased at the train station. There is a sports center that has a wonderful swimming pool that we were able to enjoy. The view from the pool of the mountains is incredible!

4. The rooms: I've learned that European hotel rooms are ADEQUATE and charming. By American standards, they are small. Small bathroom, no tub, and small room. If you're spoiled then make sure you spend your money and buy the room you're used to. We got by, and really have no complaints. Also, our room was right near the train - I've read other reviews that complained about the noise. HUH? They're electric trains that coast in and out. You never hear them.

5. Internet connection: You must purchase 30 minute blocks. (A free pass is given when you arrive.) Sometimes the connection was fast, but many times I barely got 2 emails out before time expired.

6. THE VIEW. It was like staying inside a postcard! It was beautiful - every where you turned there was another breathtaking scene. We loved Grindelwald, and we recommend the Derby Hotel. For Americans, make sure you know whether your electronic devices have an input of up to 240 - and you bring adaptors. If you don't know, don't try. You'll blow up your device and blow hotel fuses!

Overall, we loved it. We can accept the smaller rooms - it's just the way things are. The hotel was clean, the staff was fantastic, and the food was great.

Room Tip: As mentioned above, I've read reviews where people complain about being on the train side. We w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Haunted_Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    161
    33
    6
    3
See reviews for
107
201
33
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Goxhill, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

This is a short review to recommend the Derby Barnhof Hotel to anyone considering a holiday in Grindlewald. I stayed there with my husband and brother during a skiing holiday. The hotel is comfortable in a traditional style and the food very good. For me it was the professionalism and the friendliness of the staff working at the hotel that made the visit outstanding. The customer service experienced during the visit was excellent. One of the best winter holidays to date.
A big thank you to everyone at the Derby Hotel

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zoe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
283 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

This is our favourite restaurant in Grindelwald - we have to go here for fondue and raclette at least once every trip (and we have been 5 times) - the standard of food and service is always the same - with a very nice wine selection too. I highly recommending eating here. I have not stayed in the hotel but whoever has stayed here has said only positive things. Def worth checking out

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Nirbhay K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

I would like to highly recommend what to me is one of the most wonderful locations in europe shared by one of the best experiences in this wonderful family run hotel. It is so professionally run that you are made to feel right at home as if you could come down into the lounge wearing slippers and dressing gown., The hotel is always immaculate yet warm and friendly, the staff so superbly courteous and professional yet friendly like you have known them for years., the bedrooms feel like an extension of ones home and the meals are just incredible., As for value for money, we have always felt that whatever the cost it has been money well spent., My wife and I have now spent the past seven years re tracing our visits to this hotel and every one has been an exceptional experience to the previous. we once left Italy on our way home sent a text to ask if they could fit us in on a moments notice and was replied to immediately as if we were relations returning to a long lost family and made to feel welcome yet again., I cannot speak highly enough of this location, this hotel and the staff that help run it and cannot wait to our return this year with other members of my family for a stay at Easter.,

Room Tip: it is worth enquiring about the junior suites that are so beautifully prepared and give that little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allan7228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

I stayed at The Derby for a week just after New Year with my husband and 10 year old son. We had the perfect room for 3 - a huge room with a king size bed and big sofa bed over looking the street with two balconies - room 205. Perfect for families of 2 adults & 1 or 2 children. The hotel is perfectly and romantically situated - the tiny toy train pulls up noiselessly outside the door to take you up to the top of the mountain. That alone makes it an incredible spot to stay ( I know as i have stayed in hotels at the other end of the village). So romantic, so full of history with the three huge mountains feeling so close that you could almost reach out over the balcony and touch them. In summary : hotel Derby - perfect room, best location, friendly staff, delicious fondue both cheese and meat in the Cava, delicious coffees and icecreams and drinks in the bar.
Oh forgot to mention : the most perfect skiing on this earth.

Room Tip: We were on the 2nd floor in a room with a sofa bed. Perfect for 3 or 4. We had the best sleep ever.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JillStockerHutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, U.K.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Second visit to the Cava restaurant underneath the Hotel Derby next to Grindelwald train station, and based on our first visit we were expecting good things. All was just as we remembered it, very cosy and informal, with staff that seem to really care about your eating experience. We shared a cheese fondue with bread and potatoes (which are delivered, hot, to your table in a cute little sack), and shared a bottle of Swiss white wine. Both food and wine were great, and the service from Roberto was excellent. A lovely place for a romantic dinner for two.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kenandcath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at the Derby many times, and we're never disappointed.
We've always been lucky enough to get rooms on the mountain side and the views of the Eiger are superb. It's worth splurging on a balcony - we'll never tire of sipping a beer while watching the clouds move across the north face. Far better view than from any of the bars in the village in my opinion.
Location, right at the railway station, is perfect for skiing and/or Swiss railway enthusiasts. Noise is not a problem. We've also never had a problem getting a parking space.
The food and service are excellent. We usually opt for the half board option, and they're always happy to let us have one of their excellent cheese fondues one evening.
The staff are very friendly and Frau Markle, in particular, is a most genial and generous hostess.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SussexSmithy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#4 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
0.2 mi away
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
#2 of 41 in Grindelwald
5.0 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Gletschergarten
Hotel Gletschergarten
#1 of 41 in Grindelwald
5.0 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Jungfrau Lodge Swiss Mountain Hotel
0.1 mi away
Central Hotel Wolter
Central Hotel Wolter
#15 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tschuggen
Hotel Tschuggen
#7 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Derby Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derby Hotel

Property: Derby Hotel
Address: Dorfstrasse 75, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Grindelwald
#4 Family Hotel in Grindelwald
#5 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Grindelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Derby Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The very walls that greet you as you approach the Hotel Derby are steeped in history. The "Hotel de la Gare" was built here by the legendary Captain Gsteiger at the end of the 19th century. The same underlying principle applied then as it does now: we want to offer our guests a holiday that will long remain with them as a happy memory. Just travelling to the Derby is a pleasure in itself. The journey by rail could hardly be easier. We are passionate about hospitality and welcome you with a very special combination of attention to details and unobtrusive service. Stylish rooms and suites offer you plenty of space to unwind, relax and take in the splendid Mountain View. All rooms offer view to the surrounding mountains and are equipped with shower or bath/toilet, satellite TV, minibar and safe. The junior suites additionally provide a separate sitting corner. Most of the rooms have a balcony. In total 4 restaurants are at your choice. Either for an elegant dining experience, a tasteful 5-course-menu, a hearty Swiss dish or one of the various fondue specialities, our knowledgeable staff will be happy to advise you and to complete your stay by an attentive service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Derby Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derby Hotel Grindelwald

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing