We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Rösti”
Review of Derby Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Derby Hotel
Ranked #5 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
Ancona, Italy
Level Contributor
1,335 reviews
174 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,700 helpful votes
“First Rösti”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

I can't say anything about the hotel side because I didn't stay there, but the restaurant produced the best rösti I had anywhere in a ten day tour of Switzerland and Liechtenstein. Called "First Rösti" on the menu, I noticed. Good wine too. Not too expensive. Friendly service. The dining room was full of local people, which is always a good sign.

(Because of its old-fashioned sounding name, I thought this may have been where Lord Byron stayed in Grindelwald. In fact, he seems to have stayed at the Adler, now demolished. The people at the Derby will know where it once stood.)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ELear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    169
    36
    6
    3
See reviews for
110
215
35
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We were fortunate to have a room with a great balcony on the 4th floor right in front of the Eiger Mountain. Nice hotel, good food, ate dinner here each night and you cannot get more convenient to the train as it is right next to the front door. Value in Switzerland is a relative thing, but the convenience of staying here was great - local buses just outside, free of course. They offered 30 minutes free internet, then it was only CHF 2.5 for an additional 30 minutes....

Room Tip: Can't beat the view of the Eiger if you get on the back side of the hotel, at least from floor 4...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank osumike1145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed October 21, 2012

This is a great hotel, reasonably priced for Switzerland, friendly owner & staff. The meals & restaurant 1st class. We want to return!!! Thank you for the room upgrade. We initially booked for 2 nights but stayed another 3 days. The hotel is perfectly sited, next to the railway station, great for train passes, can visit the local arear & the amazing Jungfraujoch, a great experience for sun drenched Aussies!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller896
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northfield, Minnesota
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I stayed at the Derby for 3 nights with a group. We had the half-board plan (breakfast and dinner both included) The food was excellent! Our clean, comfortable room with a balcony overlooked the street behind the hotel and we had no problem with noise. Two little frustrations: to access the internet (Monzoon), you must buy a little card with login codes for 2.5 Swiss francs per 30 minutes. The system is cumbersome and I needed the help of the patient desk clerk to help me access it initially. And I didn't understand that when the 30 minutes has expired for one set of login codes, you must go to the desk and buy another little card with a new set of codes. Within 1.5 hours (over the 3 days), I was disconnected several times and I think that I never got the full value of internet time that I paid for. There is no business center in the hotel and no free internet access in the lobby or anywhere. This was the only hotel on our tour where we encountered such a restrictive internet access system. The second frustration was no pot for heating water in the room. The book of information says that a pot can be borrowed at the desk if available, but a couple of us asked and it seemed that rather than their being in use, they simply were not available. The water from the tap is quite hot, so I used that for my instant coffee before breakfast time, but boiling water is better. I also found the family of sparrows that would come to eat crumbs from my balcony railing to add a friendly touch. Location is excellent for trains (especially to the Jungfrau), buses, and gondola to First.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MNfemrail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Located between the railway station and the main road, it was very noisy (until 1am and then again as of 3 am). The rooms are rather old especially the bathroom. The staff was quite unfriendly and customers were smoking inside of the hotel. The breakfast buffet was very poor. It was definitely a bad experience. Really not worth the price we paid !

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mammutti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We walked around quite a few of the hotels in the centre of town (ie by the train station). We found the Derby to be nicest, for around the same price point.
Unfortunately, it seems none of the hotels in Grendelwald are cheap. Infact, all of them were expensive for what you get.
The rooms are okay (nothing flash), the view is great (assuming you face the Eiger), and the staff are certainly pleasant. The breakfast was really good. An ample size buffet and there is (although very limited) onsite parking.
The hotel is right on the trainstation (literally, on the platform), so you couldn't be more conveniently located. You'd think you'd hear the trains arriving, but we never did.
The Derby is a 3-star hotel, with the only negative being that it's expensive (but no more expensive than any of the other equivalent hotels we looked at).

Room Tip: Ensure you face the Eiger. Who wants to look at a train-station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jungl3Boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

This hotel was excellent. We were very surprised at how nice it was for what we paid. The room was large and the biggest surprise was the very large soaker tub in the bathroom. The internet worked in the room and the breakfast bufett was very plentiful. The staff were helpful and knowledgable about what we needed to see and do. The hotel is located right next to the train station but the noise didn't bother us at all.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IainWalter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#3 of 41 in Grindelwald
535 reviews
0.2 mi away
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
#2 of 41 in Grindelwald
919 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Gletschergarten
Hotel Gletschergarten
#1 of 41 in Grindelwald
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Alpenblick Hotel Pub & Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Grindelwald
0.1 mi away
Central Hotel Wolter
Central Hotel Wolter
#16 of 41 in Grindelwald
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Derby Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derby Hotel

Property: Derby Hotel
Address: Dorfstrasse 75, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Grindelwald
#4 Family Hotel in Grindelwald
#5 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Grindelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Derby Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The very walls that greet you as you approach the Hotel Derby are steeped in history. The "Hotel de la Gare" was built here by the legendary Captain Gsteiger at the end of the 19th century. The same underlying principle applied then as it does now: we want to offer our guests a holiday that will long remain with them as a happy memory. Just travelling to the Derby is a pleasure in itself. The journey by rail could hardly be easier. We are passionate about hospitality and welcome you with a very special combination of attention to details and unobtrusive service. Stylish rooms and suites offer you plenty of space to unwind, relax and take in the splendid Mountain View. All rooms offer view to the surrounding mountains and are equipped with shower or bath/toilet, satellite TV, minibar and safe. The junior suites additionally provide a separate sitting corner. Most of the rooms have a balcony. In total 4 restaurants are at your choice. Either for an elegant dining experience, a tasteful 5-course-menu, a hearty Swiss dish or one of the various fondue specialities, our knowledgeable staff will be happy to advise you and to complete your stay by an attentive service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and getaroom.com so you can book your Derby Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derby Hotel Grindelwald

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing