We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Breakfast...but a poor night's sleep”
Review of Derby Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Derby Hotel
Ranked #4 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
Venice, CA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast...but a poor night's sleep”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

The breakfast buffet at this hotel was among the best I encountered in Switzerland. In all other ways I found this a deeply disappointing place. The room I had was small even by European standards and the furniture in it was worn and outmoded – it brought back depressing memories of my dorm room in college. Worst of all was the noise. Half the rooms in the hotel face the train tracks which are immediately outside the hotel (it is as if you had a room inside the Bahnhof) and since there is very little insulation in the walls between the tightly packed rooms, every time someone opens the doors of their bathrooms or rolls open the heavy sliding doors of their closets you hear it in your bed. I had a pair of ear-plugs in all night but was still woken constantly, partly because the bed is built directly into the wall and so you feel the thumps and bangs in the other rooms just as much as you hear them. In my opinion poor value for the money -- I have been considerably more comfortable in hostels for one third the price.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room at the back away from the train tracks..and try to get a bed that is not bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Proustfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    174
    38
    6
    3
See reviews for
114
227
35
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Stayed there for 3 night in June 2012
at the station
great for arrival from Interlaken
and for departure to Jungfraujoch
right in front of the hotel
right on Main street as well
Food reasonable rich breakfast buffet
Would recommend for a short stay for single or couples.

Room Tip: Not a problem to be on the station side no night traffic on the rail line
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Experienced_Tr0tter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

My wife and I spent four nights here. Our room was very nice and the whole hotel appears to have been remodeled recently. It was extreemly clean and the rooms were wonderful. the staff was very nice for the most part and the lady who greeted us was especially friendly. They gave us a complementary upgrade on our room which made us feel pretty special for no good reason on our part. Breakfast was much better than most. We fell in love with a walnut bread they serve . Our room overlooked the train station which was a little noisy early in the morning if the windows were open. But, when all closed up, we heard nothing of the trains coming and going.
We ate dinner in the resturant for two nights and were pleasantly surprised at how good our meals were.
Our overall experience here was excellent. We would stay again if we ever return.

Room Tip: A top floor room at the back of the hotel facing the mountains would be wonderful. We like to peopl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cwhoughton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven
Level 6 Contributor
355 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Wonderful location, srupulously clean, comfortable, free parking, free internet, but not cheap.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chuck52310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

We booked this hotel after reading reviews on tripadviser in 2011 and was impressed by the results so we decided to go for it in May 2012 and what a choice we made.We hit the Jackpot with this hotel.From the moment we arrived in the pouring rain,we were greeted at reception by a smiling member of staff and when we got our room card to un-pack,we were on fourth floor and reserved a superior room with a view of the mighty Eiger Mountain and when we got to our room,we noticed that they had given us a free up-grade to a family suite with two bathrooms,two balcony"s a bed settee with double wardrobe space,we were overjoyed by their hospitality.They said as it wasn"t peak season,they decided to give us a free up-grade as a way of saying thankyou for choosing their hotel.
The location,right on the station tracks was perfect for getting to and from Grindelwald without having to walk too far and there wasn"t any noise when the trains arrived as they were electric.
We asked if we could have tea-coffee facilities in our room as they weren"t compulsery and they gladly obliged and brought them up to our room straight away.
They served a 5 course evening meal each night as we were half board which over the week ,saved us alot of money and the food was excellently presented and cooked and we weren"t rushed between each course so we could enjoy and digest each of the courses.
we had a mini bar in our room but we hardly used it because it was quite expensive and also we was hardly in the room most of the time as we were exploring the Jungfrau region every day.
Breakfast was served between 6.30 and 10am and you have a choice of cereals,cheese"s,cold meats and bread and croisants with jams and honey etc.You could go back as often as you like.During our stay,they gave us a couple of bars of swiss chocolate in our room which was a nice gesture and at the end of our stay,when we checked out,they gave us a big block of Grindelwald cheese which rounded of our stay perfectly.We will definately come back to this hotel again,they treat us like V.I.P."s.
Thanks again Hoter DERBY.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simonGrimsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Location stands out as superb ! If you think a hotel on a train platform sounds odd .... Then you're wrong ... This was the appeal of the hotel. 30 minutes stepping outside the door onto the train with a beautiful journey through the Swiss alps and you are at Kleine Sheidigg ready to ski! Standard rooms (north facing) are very small in fact are single rooms with a double bed squeezed in however the south facing Eiger view rooms are lovely and a very different experience , worth the extra. We found the senior Hotel staff fantastic with the owners making a real effort to ensure you were happy and interacted with the guests, there were a couple of staff who seemed quite stand offish but we put that down to the 'Swiss German' way ... Food was okay if you like lots of cheese and fried rich food ... I was longing for a bit of fresh fruit (banana, berries) by the end of the week. Be warned Switzerland is generally very expensive , wine is an average of 30 pound a bottle and the shops / ski wear is a third more than the UK. Grindelwald is sleepy at night probably more so as we went at the end of the season. We used Altitude ski school and had Rob as our instructor who was excellent. We would recommend The Derby for anyone going to Grindelwald.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2012

We've just returned from a week's holiday in Grindelwald through Crystal Ski and the whole area has so much to offer. My wife and her cousin are skiers, and the husbands non-skiers, but we all found so much to do and all had a great time.
The ski pass recommended by the Crystal reps covered all the trains etc through the whole valley, proving great value.
The Derby Hotel was ideal. Lovely breakfasts and 5 course dinners each day were very good, but the little touches provided by the owners really made our stay complete. They obviously know how to care for their guests.
I would agree with the previous contributor, Toby S, that I too didn't relish being on platform 1 of a railway station, but it really did add to the holiday, watching all the comings and goings of the people either traveling up the mountain or down the valley. Excellent visit, plan to return!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stewart_dmfb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.2 mi away
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
#2 of 41 in Grindelwald
940 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#3 of 41 in Grindelwald
558 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Gletschergarten
Hotel Gletschergarten
#1 of 41 in Grindelwald
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Parkhotel Schoenegg
Parkhotel Schoenegg
#5 of 41 in Grindelwald
334 reviews
0.8 mi away
Alpenblick Hotel Pub & Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Central Hotel Wolter
Central Hotel Wolter
#16 of 41 in Grindelwald
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Derby Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derby Hotel

Property: Derby Hotel
Address: Dorfstrasse 75, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Grindelwald
#4 Romantic Hotel in Grindelwald
#4 Family Hotel in Grindelwald
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Grindelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Derby Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The very walls that greet you as you approach the Hotel Derby are steeped in history. The "Hotel de la Gare" was built here by the legendary Captain Gsteiger at the end of the 19th century. The same underlying principle applied then as it does now: we want to offer our guests a holiday that will long remain with them as a happy memory. Just travelling to the Derby is a pleasure in itself. The journey by rail could hardly be easier. We are passionate about hospitality and welcome you with a very special combination of attention to details and unobtrusive service. Stylish rooms and suites offer you plenty of space to unwind, relax and take in the splendid Mountain View. All rooms offer view to the surrounding mountains and are equipped with shower or bath/toilet, satellite TV, minibar and safe. The junior suites additionally provide a separate sitting corner. Most of the rooms have a balcony. In total 4 restaurants are at your choice. Either for an elegant dining experience, a tasteful 5-course-menu, a hearty Swiss dish or one of the various fondue specialities, our knowledgeable staff will be happy to advise you and to complete your stay by an attentive service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Derby Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derby Hotel Grindelwald

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing