We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple, clean and friendly hotel”
Review of Hotel Stalden

Hotel Stalden
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Stalden
Ranked #15 of 22 Grindelwald B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 18, 2011

We stayed here about 20 years ago and returned now for a weekend's walking. The hotel is best accessed if you have car, although there is a train station nearby. We were shown to our room and our room was simply appointed. Everything was very clean. There was no TV in the room, but that was ago for the purpose of our stay. Wireless internet was free with a good signal in the room and I measured about 0.7Mbps downstream (just about enough to stream some TV). With the window open there was the noise of the river and with the window closed it was very quiet. We slept well! The hotel's restaurant provides a good selection of local dishes, including fondue and raclette. It was a cosy atmosphere and everyone seemed happy. There were three staff, one serving and two in the kitchen, and two of these are the owners (since 25 years). The chef / owner popped around to each table to say "hello" in a friendly and informal way. Breakfast was simple with corn flakes, bread, cheese and meats, drinks, etc.. Again, all very friendly. We liked staying there. It had been hard to find a room and we paid CHF 120 via an online site. The owner indicated that it was less complicated just to call. Stay at this hotel if you want a simple, very clean, friendly base for your visit.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank eurocross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (13)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Stalden
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 13 of 13 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2010

We stayed here in July and had a lovely time exploring the Yungfrau valley. The location of the hotel is on a hairpin bend on the busy road to Grindlewald, but the rooms are at the back of the hotel and we weren't bothered by any traffic noise. The host was very friendly and the food was tasty and traditional- our first Swiss fondue, which included lovely new potatoes baked in a sack! sandwiches were made for us when required and the excellent rail link to Interlaken and Grindlewald is only a short (but rather steep) walk from the hotel. The room was very spacious as was the ensuite, not luxurious but clean and comfortable. The free car park is across the road from the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PJJPFJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2009

Basic no frills hotel with friendly and helpful staff. Nice relaxed atmosphere in quiet location.
Excellent food and clean rooms. Ensuite bathroom small but functional. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SurreyMurgatroyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
110
Reviewed December 31, 2003

We spent a truly heavenly time at this lovely inn. The Hotel Stalden is a private home and inn run by the Kaufmanns. They are warm, accomodating and very helpful. Our bed was somewhat small since my husband prefers a king size bed. Mrs. Kaufmann's immediate reply was, "we want happy families" and gave us an upgrade to a larger, nicer room with no extra charge. The center of Grindenwald is minutes away, as are mountain excursions. We spent a month all over Europe -- but our time at Hotel Stalden was one of our most delightful adventures.

10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.0 mi away
Alpenblick Hotel Pub & Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Gasthof Panorama
Gasthof Panorama
#35 of 41 in Grindelwald
34 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jungfrau Lodge Swiss Mountain Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Central Hotel Wolter
Central Hotel Wolter
#16 of 41 in Grindelwald
248 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mountain Hostel Grindelwald
Mountain Hostel Grindelwald
#1 of 24 in Grindelwald
137 reviews
0.0 mi away
Berggasthaus First
Berggasthaus First
#4 of 22 in Grindelwald
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stalden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stalden

Address: Stalden, Grindelwald 3816, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Grindelwald
Price Range: $116 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Stalden 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Stalden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing