We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greating launching point for Jungfrau!”
Review of Hotel Hirschen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Hirschen
Ranked #28 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Reviewed July 13, 2012

We traveled with my parents to Grindelwald a couple weekends ago to show them Jungfrau, but failed to reserve a hotel in advance. A day before we left, we booked Hotel Hirschen (because it was one of the only remaining places available within our budget). We didn't expect much, but we were very surprised and pleased once we arrived! The owner of the hotel and the staff are so kind and helpful and very enjoyable to talk with. The breakfast is a typical B&B spread in Switzerland and it was a great way to start our mornings! The location is perfect...at first we were disappointed that we weren't in Interlaken, but we quickly realized the benefit to being in Grindelwald. We were never bored! The hotel is located across the street from a tiny miniature golf course and it was so fun to have some wine and play golf in the middle of the Alps as the sun was setting. The train station is just down the road and we were glad to be closer to Jungfrau than if we had stayed in Interlaken...it cut down on the cost of the train ticket and the travel time.

The rooms were comfortable and quite spacious! We had a double room with a balcony in the chalet while my parents had a double room with a balcony in the main building. Both were nice, but theirs was larger and they had a gorgeous view of the mountains, whereas our view was slightly blocked by their building in front of us. The bathrooms were bigger than we expected, although not huge. If you want in-room luxuries like shampoo, nice soaps, fluffy towels, etc, this isn't the place for you... but if you want an enjoyable experience in a Swiss B&B, with easy access to Jungfrau, this place can't be beat! We would absolutely stay here again!

Room Tip: Try to get a double room with a balcony in the main building overlooking the street...the rooms are...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kameelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (88)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Hirschen
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 88 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2011

Stayed here early September 2011. Was a last minute booking and a place to ease back into civilisiation after staying in a mountain hut the previous night.

STAFF: The staff were friendly and helpful.

ROOM: Room was very clean and well appointed. Not sure if we got upgrade as it has a magnificent 4 poster bed in it.
Bed was very comfortable.

BATHROOM: Also very clean, plus a powerful shower however the shower mounting was
such that it was not possible to stand under it, but this was manageable.

LOCATION: Hotel is well located.

RESTAURANT: Only used the restaurant for breakfast and instead ate else where for dinner (plenty of places to choose from, with a 2 minute walk) as it was cheaper.

BREAKFAST: Really liked the breakfast, in particular the ability to cook your own eggs, so that you can decided on how runny/hard you like them, plus there was a good choice of cereals and breads.

Would we stay here again ... yes we would.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ChrisMorgan69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2011

The seven nights I spent at the Hirschen in the last week of August was the fourth time that I have stayed at this hotel and it was another great stay. The rooms are spottlessly clean and well maintained. The larger south facing rooms with balconies in the main hotel building provide what I consider to be some of the best views of the Eiger to be found in Grindelwald. The individuals manning the front desk were both professional and friendly, as were the majority of the waiting staff in the restaurant . The breakfast selection was excellent and the breakfast waiting staff were attentive and friendly. The set evening meals (which were included in the package) were somewhat disappointing and I would not include them in any future stays (opting for bed and breakfast instead); however, the general menu served in the restaurant did look good. The evening service was also a little hit and miss, with some of the staff friendly and attentive and others less so...though never unpleasant. Overall this is a great little hotel and I would not hestiate to stay again or to recommend it to anyone who is looking for a clean and efficiently run hotel ideally located at the centre of town with rooms with great views.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alwaystravelling67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2011

Wished I could have stayed more than one night. We arrived as they were finishing up some carpentry remodeling work on the very small lobby. The staff were very welcoming and they proved useful information about local activities. The room was somewhat small but our room on the back corner of the thrid floor had a gorgeous mountain view. the bathroom was modern and clean, not fancy. There is a small wall mounted safe in the rooms. The elevator is old and small but usuable. The decor in the staiwells and upstairs library was dated. Breakfast was buffet style and included the usual Swiss breakfast items: croissants, jams, cheese, meats, yogurts, juices and coffee. The fruit cocktail was the canned variety. Half way through breakfast, the hotel owner arrived with fresh bread and introduced himself. I had read the previous review which negatively commented on the owner. He seemed pleasant enough, as well as invested in the hotel being run well and explained that he was installing LED lights to reduce electrical use. He accomodated our request to leave our bags there after check out so we might take a hike and then pick them up later in the afternoon.
Also Wi fi is available, but only on the first 2 floors, which meant we couldn't use it in our room.
Overall it was a nice clean place in a good location. With remodeling it has a fresh appearance in the lobby and dining area. I would return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vardon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We've brought numerous tour groups to stay here over the last 20 years and always have looked forward to our return, but had never thought about staying here for ourselves after a tour is over. We did this time, and immediately thought of no other hotel.

The Hirschen is in the heart of Grindelwald, Switzerland, although the town is set up for walking everywhere you need. The Co-op (grocery store) is just 5 minute walk from the hotel, as is the sportzentrum, and shopping is immediately nearby. if you want to go up the First ski lift for unparalleled hiking, that's just up the street about 5-8 minutes. There is a small laundry facility ("waschsalon") 5 minutes walk up the street that has been there for at least 30 years (as long as I've been coming there) - just get coins ahead of time.

It is a family-owned and run property and as such, has that personal touch we prefer. We decided to spend a little extra for a Superior room with a view of the mountains (there is absolutely NOTHING like waking up to the Swiss Alps), and the view was truly spectacular. Our room was larger than an average room (you pay for it), but it was quite comfortable, and the decor is typically Swiss. Nothing wrong with that at all.

In Switzerland, it is quite rare that you find something does not work and the Hirschen is no exception. Everything in the room worked perfectly, immaculately clean, and if you have never been here, the dinners are outstanding. The breakfasts are very good as well.

Parking was included in the rate, and located across the street next to the mini-golf. Everything is fairly safe, no real worries about security.

My only issue is the cost. Everything in Switzerland is horribly expensive (typical), so unless you are looking for a budget motel and are prepared to find a small pension with very little amenities, be prepared to pay a lot.

We love Grindelwald dearly, but unless we win the lottery, I don't think we'll be going back unless it's with another tour group we lead.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cm632000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2011

We had a terrific stay at this hotel. The hotel is conveniently located to the train station and the room was very clean and comfortable. Everyone was very helpful and polite and we enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deliot01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2011

We were a party of 17, 8 adults and 9 teenagers. We didn't stay at the hotel but booked and had an evening meal there.
The food was fine, if I were the chef I'd leave as I would not want to tarnish him with the same brush as I apply to the rest of the 'experience'.
Out of 4 main courses ordered only 1 was available. This was 8pm on a Tuesday!
We had one of our party with a nut allergy, which was explained very carefully. So it was a surprise when the steak arrived with almonds sprinkled on it! When this was returned we were then told that it had been cooked with peanut oil.
Salmon, no sauce and rice on arrival became salmon, swimming in sauce with potatoes.
Drinks and side dishes ordered never appeared.
This list goes on, so I'll stop - you get the picture!!
Oh! by the way it was the most expensive meal we had while in Grindelwald.
Try Barry's its far better.

Stayed: March 2011
1  Thank KeithE00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.2 mi away
Central Hotel Wolter
Central Hotel Wolter
#16 of 41 in Grindelwald
248 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alte Post
Hotel Alte Post
#23 of 41 in Grindelwald
56 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Alpina Grindelwald
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Tschuggen
Hotel Tschuggen
#7 of 41 in Grindelwald
296 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Caprice
Hotel Caprice
#18 of 41 in Grindelwald
159 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#3 of 41 in Grindelwald
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hirschen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hirschen

Address: Dorfstrasse 135, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Price Range: $166 - $338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hirschen 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A *** hotel full of tradition, centrally located. The station, sports centre and First Cableway are reachable by foot in 3-5 minutes. In winter the skibus stop is situated in front of the hotel, in summer the hotel is an ideal starting point for hikes and excursions. All rooms are comfortaby equipped, with bath/WC, TV, radio, telephone and safe, some of them with balcony and mountain view. Breakfast buffet. Parking lots free of charge. Bowling. Conference room for max. 30 persons. Free W-LAN at the public area. Free entrance to the sport center (swimming pool and ice rink). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Hirschen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hirschen Hotel Grindelwald

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing