We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular view from room, helpful staff, clean basic room”
Review of Hotel Hirschen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Hirschen
Ranked #26 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Reviewed June 15, 2011

Wished I could have stayed more than one night. We arrived as they were finishing up some carpentry remodeling work on the very small lobby. The staff were very welcoming and they proved useful information about local activities. The room was somewhat small but our room on the back corner of the thrid floor had a gorgeous mountain view. the bathroom was modern and clean, not fancy. There is a small wall mounted safe in the rooms. The elevator is old and small but usuable. The decor in the staiwells and upstairs library was dated. Breakfast was buffet style and included the usual Swiss breakfast items: croissants, jams, cheese, meats, yogurts, juices and coffee. The fruit cocktail was the canned variety. Half way through breakfast, the hotel owner arrived with fresh bread and introduced himself. I had read the previous review which negatively commented on the owner. He seemed pleasant enough, as well as invested in the hotel being run well and explained that he was installing LED lights to reduce electrical use. He accomodated our request to leave our bags there after check out so we might take a hike and then pick them up later in the afternoon.
Also Wi fi is available, but only on the first 2 floors, which meant we couldn't use it in our room.
Overall it was a nice clean place in a good location. With remodeling it has a fresh appearance in the lobby and dining area. I would return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vardon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (88)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Hirschen
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 88 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2011

We've brought numerous tour groups to stay here over the last 20 years and always have looked forward to our return, but had never thought about staying here for ourselves after a tour is over. We did this time, and immediately thought of no other hotel.

The Hirschen is in the heart of Grindelwald, Switzerland, although the town is set up for walking everywhere you need. The Co-op (grocery store) is just 5 minute walk from the hotel, as is the sportzentrum, and shopping is immediately nearby. if you want to go up the First ski lift for unparalleled hiking, that's just up the street about 5-8 minutes. There is a small laundry facility ("waschsalon") 5 minutes walk up the street that has been there for at least 30 years (as long as I've been coming there) - just get coins ahead of time.

It is a family-owned and run property and as such, has that personal touch we prefer. We decided to spend a little extra for a Superior room with a view of the mountains (there is absolutely NOTHING like waking up to the Swiss Alps), and the view was truly spectacular. Our room was larger than an average room (you pay for it), but it was quite comfortable, and the decor is typically Swiss. Nothing wrong with that at all.

In Switzerland, it is quite rare that you find something does not work and the Hirschen is no exception. Everything in the room worked perfectly, immaculately clean, and if you have never been here, the dinners are outstanding. The breakfasts are very good as well.

Parking was included in the rate, and located across the street next to the mini-golf. Everything is fairly safe, no real worries about security.

My only issue is the cost. Everything in Switzerland is horribly expensive (typical), so unless you are looking for a budget motel and are prepared to find a small pension with very little amenities, be prepared to pay a lot.

We love Grindelwald dearly, but unless we win the lottery, I don't think we'll be going back unless it's with another tour group we lead.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cm632000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2011

We had a terrific stay at this hotel. The hotel is conveniently located to the train station and the room was very clean and comfortable. Everyone was very helpful and polite and we enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deliot01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2011

We were a party of 17, 8 adults and 9 teenagers. We didn't stay at the hotel but booked and had an evening meal there.
The food was fine, if I were the chef I'd leave as I would not want to tarnish him with the same brush as I apply to the rest of the 'experience'.
Out of 4 main courses ordered only 1 was available. This was 8pm on a Tuesday!
We had one of our party with a nut allergy, which was explained very carefully. So it was a surprise when the steak arrived with almonds sprinkled on it! When this was returned we were then told that it had been cooked with peanut oil.
Salmon, no sauce and rice on arrival became salmon, swimming in sauce with potatoes.
Drinks and side dishes ordered never appeared.
This list goes on, so I'll stop - you get the picture!!
Oh! by the way it was the most expensive meal we had while in Grindelwald.
Try Barry's its far better.

Stayed: March 2011
1  Thank KeithE00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2011

We were in the party of 10 who had to pay for the tap water. Wehad become a bit suspicious that the house wine we `d ordered on the first night was unavailable on the next 2 nights. We were told we could have more expensive wine though!

The incident with the owner was quite unpleasant & he was extremely rude to us. He seemed to have an issue around his contract with Inghams our tour operator & was taking it out on us, insisting he was giving us free tea & cake. This was part of our package! It was always provided very begrudgingly, the same cake everyday & taking ages to bring it.

The situation created an atmosphere in the dining room at mealtimes for us, if we saw the owner he mostly ignored us .Very unprofessional!

Despite the good food, central location & the rest of the staff very nice, I would not recommend this hotel.


I

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chaletschool1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2011

We stayed with friends from 5th February 2011 for a week. We had a room in the annexe which was small but comfortable and very clean. Having to walk from the annexe to the hotel proper was inconvenient and getting out of the hotel after 11pm was a problem as the hotel doors were locked at this time. There was hardly any "lounge" type space in the hotel and after dinner it was a choice of staying at the table or going back to your room. The biggest complaint the 10 of us had was being charged 3.5 Swiss francs each for tap water unless you order a drink off the drinks menu as well. Hot drinks like coffee or tea do not count in this rule. It cost the 10 of us £24.00 in sterling and even though we had a long argument with the owner about this, he was totally intransigent! It did not make for a happy stay. We travelled with Inghams, who in their brochure advertised tea and cake in the afternoon included in the price, and in the middle of this argument the owner suggested he was already giving us "free" tea and cake, so why should he give us free tap water!!
It left a sour taste and unfortunately the tap water incident will be an abiding memory of what was a great holiday overall. Stuart Thompson

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank george186299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2011

I found Hotel Hirschen on TA and was very pleased. The hotel is in a great location in the center of town and across from the bus stop that takes you to the ski lifts. It is also next door to a Migros grocery store.

We had a very warm welcome. The receptionist answered all our questions politely and accurately.

We had room 42 which is actually featured on the hotel website, and it does look as good as in the photos. We had two twins pushed together (which is great for us - no fighting over covers) with nice toasty duvets. We had a pull out sofa for our 7 year old, and she was very comfortable. The sofa has a nice firm mattress - no cheap sofa-bed with springs sticking out. We had a lovely little crib for our toddler. My only bedding complaint is true for every Swiss hotel - terrible pillows! You have to get at least two piled up to have them resemble anything like a normal pillow. The room was very spacious and had a private balcony. There was a tiny bit of street noise but nothing too bothersome. The bathroom was an adequate size - not fancy but spotlessly clean and met our needs just fine.

There is a ski room out in the back that was plenty big enough. We also were able to store our stroller there. Note that the ski room is not secured; technically someone could walk in from the parking garage or street. This is Swizterland, but if you have expensive ski equipment, you may want to think twice about storing your skis there.

The breakfast was plentiful and tasty but not anything extraordinary. Very nice cappuccino.

There is a funky little bowling alley in the basement of the restaurant. This was highly entertaining for our kids one evening.

Ask the hotel staff for a free pass to the community sports center and don't forget your swim suit. There is a wonderful pool and spectacular water slide! Very fun in the evening if you have any energy left after skiing.

Overall this hotel was a good value for a family. The large room made it possible for us to all stay in the same room without being squished. And this was about CHF100 less per night than any other option I found.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank piedmontcamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.2 mi away
Central Hotel Wolter
Central Hotel Wolter
#16 of 41 in Grindelwald
248 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alte Post
Hotel Alte Post
#22 of 41 in Grindelwald
56 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Tschuggen
Hotel Tschuggen
#6 of 41 in Grindelwald
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Alpina Grindelwald
0.0 mi away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#3 of 41 in Grindelwald
567 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Caprice
Hotel Caprice
#19 of 41 in Grindelwald
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hirschen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hirschen

Address: Dorfstrasse 135, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Price Range: $170 - $366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hirschen 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A *** hotel full of tradition, centrally located. The station, sports centre and First Cableway are reachable by foot in 3-5 minutes. In winter the skibus stop is situated in front of the hotel, in summer the hotel is an ideal starting point for hikes and excursions. All rooms are comfortaby equipped, with bath/WC, TV, radio, telephone and safe, some of them with balcony and mountain view. Breakfast buffet. Parking lots free of charge. Bowling. Conference room for max. 30 persons. Free W-LAN at the public area. Free entrance to the sport center (swimming pool and ice rink). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Hirschen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hirschen Hotel Grindelwald

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing