We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Winter wonderland”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Parkhotel Schoenegg
Ranked #4 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
“Winter wonderland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

My room at the Parkhotel Schoenegg had a balcony with an awesome view of the Eiger north face & the Schreckhorn mountain with the Grindelwald glacier in between.

Stayed 5 days 4 nights half board. Dinner was a pleasant surprise: 5 course, delicious & staff were attentive & courteous. As for breakfast I truly appreciate the variety of fruits & a wide selection of tea including my favourite Darjeeling which Jorge remembered that I like it with 2 slices of lemon & never failed to serve me. It was most enjoyable watching the flurry of snow falling softly while leisurely savouring breakfast & my favourite tea.

The staff at the reception were helpful. Janis in particular deserves special mention as he was knowledgeable & patiently answered my many questions. On his recommendation took a train ride to Jungfraujoch & was totally transfixed & swept away by the glorious breathtaking views on the way there & at the mountain top. It is really a trip not to be missed!

Also enjoyed the heated jacuzzi & swimming pool at the hotel spa. Time stands still while sitting in the jacuzzi soaking in the awesome sights of the mountains all around.

Tom the friendly owner comes around during breakfast/dinner to say hi to all guests & check if we have everything we need. He noticed that I was disappointed when it was too foggy to take the gondola ride up the First & suggested that I took a trip up to just the first station at Bort where the altitude was lower & the views would not be fogged up & I could get off the gondola & take a walk in the snow. I took up the suggestion & was so glad I did. The gondola ride up was most enjoyable & the sights lovely as we swept pass the snow covered slopes, trees & houses dotting the slopes below.

Grindelwald is a small village with breathtaking views & the Parkhotel Schoenegg a very nice homey unpretentious hotel in a good location. It is just about 3 minutes walk to the bus stop & gondola station & about 5 - 10 minutes walk to the train station.

One of my best holidays & I would not hesitate to recommend Parkhotel Schoenegg & Grindelwald! Tom my only regret was I did not get a chance to try your famous home made potato chips which I read about in your book Gydis Geheimnis:)

Christine

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisKL2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schoenegg, Leiter Front Office at Parkhotel Schoenegg, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Dear Christine

Thank you very much for your nice comment - with great pleasure we hear that you had and enjoyable and unforgetable stay with us!

We hope we see you soon again and send you our kindest regards

your friendly SCHOENEGG-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    61
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
99
134
27
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

What a wonderful holiday! The hotel is clean and modern, is very well located with stunning views, and the staff are extremely helpful, friendly and welcoming. The pool, jacuzzi and spa facilities are excellent and the food superb. We would definitely recommend the Parkhotel Schoenegg.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schoenegg, Leiter Front Office at Parkhotel Schoenegg, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Dear guests

Thank you very much for your comment - it would be a great pleasure to welcome you again here in Grindelwald!

Kindest regards

all of the friendly Schoenegg-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

We had a wonderful experience at the Parkhotel Schoenegg. The staff is very friendly and helpful and by the time you leave you will feel like you have stayed with family. The location and views are excellent. This is a Spa Hotel and I highly encourage you to enjoy all that it has to offer. We went sightseeing most of the day and got back o the hotel around 4:30 or 5:00 and then enjoyed the whirlpool, steam room, sauna, cold tank and pool before getting ready for dinner. We did the half board food option and the food for breakfast and dinner was delicious. I highly recommend the Parkhotel Schoenegg.

Room Tip: I highly recommend a room with a view of Eiger. it will make your experience a special one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

The Parkhotel Schoenegg is a very comfortable hotel in a great location with fabulous views of the mountains. What makes it so special is the hospitality, friendliness and caring of the owners and the staff. You genuinely feel like a valued guest - more than that, you feel like you are a dear friend who has come to visit. The Aqua well swimming pool and spa are wonderful after a day of walking or sightseeing, the breakfast and dinner which were included in our package were always delicious, and to sit on the balcony or at dinner looking at those spectacular mountains is just magical. We are already planning how soon we can go back!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sujepa2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neuchatel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

The hotel is very confortable and the staff very friendly. The water center is great and they make sure you have everything you need to enjoy it! Mainly, we had a great stay and would definitely recommend Park Schoenegg.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pizzatodaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Having stayed in the Sunstar and the Regina in Grindelwald I would rate this hotel as best overall.
The Regina is lovely but very pricey. The Sunstar should be the best but it suffers from its policy of accepting large coach parties of Japanese and other tourists. This means that it is often full, but the huge and wonderful lounge, that should be the highlight of the hotel is empty (the aforementioned coach parties arrive late and leave early, so its dinner and straight to bed for them).
The Schoenegg offers much friendlier service and it appears that many people return there every year. It has the same views as the Sunstar. If you are considering staying at the Sunstar I would advise the Schoenegg instead. It caters more for couples, familes etc and has a very convivial atmosphere.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the Eiger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steve s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

Tom Stettler and his team excel in running a hotel. Their friendliness, anticipation of the needs and wishes of their guests and attention to detail are unparalleled in my experience. The leisure facilities on offer, particularly the swimming pool and fitness area and the electric bikes, and the comfort of the rooms are first class.
The upgrade to the dining room and kitchens and the creation of the smaller Stubli dining area have been of the highest quality and the variety of the food, both at breakfast and dinner, is always impressive.
I especially like the interest taken by Tom, Anja and the staff in the activities of the guests. They are ready with knowledge and advice on request - most useful when the weather is very hot or wet. This personal touch is the trump card and complements the glorious and sunny views of the Eiger and surrounding mountains from the terrace and the attractive situation, neatly set back from the main street.
The Stettler family have every right to be proud of their hotel - it is first class in every respect.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front, looking out to the Eiger, are the best,with plenty of sun on their balconies...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gletschergarten
Hotel Gletschergarten
#1 of 41 in Grindelwald
5.0 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
0.5 mi away
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
#2 of 41 in Grindelwald
5.0 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#3 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Grindelwald
0.4 mi away
Derby Hotel
Derby Hotel
#5 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tschuggen
Hotel Tschuggen
#7 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkhotel Schoenegg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkhotel Schoenegg

Property: Parkhotel Schoenegg
Address: Dorfstrasse 161, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Grindelwald
#3 Family Hotel in Grindelwald
#3 Spa Hotel in Grindelwald
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Grindelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Parkhotel Schoenegg 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Parkhotel Schoenegg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkhotel Schoenegg Grindelwald

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing