We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful area”
Review of Hotel Spinne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Spinne
Ranked #15 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 19, 2007

We stayed at the Spinne for two weeks in June, on a half board basis.
The hotel is very clean, the staff are very pleasant and helpful.
If you visit this hotel book a room at the back and pay the extra, the view from our balcony was beautiful, one direction the Eiger another direction the Wetterhorn and straight ahead the Fiescherhorn . The bedroom was quite large and well furnished but not airconditioned.
The hotel is on the main street of Grindelwald, five minutes walk to the station. If you are with a Travel company you will get a half price travel ticket, if not you should buy one as going up the cable cars, railways and on the lakes at Interlaken make it well worthwhile.
Everything runs like clockwork, we didn't see any litter and the area is beautiful.
Our only moan was that the evening meal lacked choice a choice of two main courses only, definitely not for you if you don't eat meat, the soup was delicious though.
We had a lovely holiday and this year were lucky with the weather.
We did take the train up the Junfraujoch but be warned we felt very weak when we arrived and is spoilt it for us, the view was beautiful view and it was an amazing place, it is much larger than you imagine with an ice palace, exits to view the glacier, viewing areas and restaurants and shops. You could spend many hours up there.
Mrs Ferguson, Sheffield

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank BurtonSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (288)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

192 - 198 of 288 reviews

Reviewed May 22, 2007

Excellent hotel. What you would expect from a 3* but good value. We had a large room with balcony, clean & comfortable with fantastic views of the Eiger. Breakfasts great, staff very helpful, good location although parking bit of a problem.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank redcafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2007

We booked this through Crystal holidays and found it good value for money. They rooms were a decent size even with a cot, and clean. The hotel staff were friendly and the food good. There were some events organised by the hotel in the early evening for those not with a larger group. There was a disco below, but it was never a nuisance.

It was well located mid way between the railway station and First ski gondola, with a bus stop just outside. We tended not to use the bus unless travelling to the Manlichen lift, but would not have chosen a location nearer this lift as it was well away from the village centre. The Ski school met mainly on the First ski area, which was just one stop on the bus if you were feeling very lazy.

As snow conditions weren't that good we used the spa on several afternoons and never found it too busy. Judging by the boot room the hotel was almost full.

The only negative point I could find is the lounge is small and smoking encouraged by a display of whisky and cigars. As we were with a baby we were limited to staying in the hotle in the evenings and would have prefered a little more space, but I doubt that this would have been of concern to most people.

Stayed: February 2007
3  Thank HApple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2006

We stayed at the Spinne a couple of years ago, and whilst it was fine (after all, we booked to return), it didn't knock our socks off!

However, it was apparent during our recent visit that serious investment is being made in the facility. The reception area has been refurbished, and a magnificent Spa opened.

The staff seemed much more friendly, and we certainly enjoyed our stay more.

The room we were in is in need of refurbishment, but whether this applies to all of the bedrooms, I do not know.

If we returned to Grindelwald, we would certainly be happy to stay at the Spinne, although it is not cheap!

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank fairyjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2006

This was our first time staying HB in a hotel for our skiing holiday (we have previously stayed in catered chalets) and we were very impressed.

The highlight of staying in the Spinne was the new spa facillities that were absolutely fabulous and even though the hotel was fully booked during our stay the spa was never busy.

The staff were very friendly and even took the effort to print me off a special vegetarian menu each night.

Location wise it is right in the cente of the resort. We were not aware of here being any ski on ski off hotels in Grindelwald and being right in the cente of the resort means a 5 minute walk in either direction to get to the nearest lift / ski train. However, the bus stop is right outside the hotel so it is possible to completely minimise walking with heavy ski equiptment if you wish.

The hotel provides a variety of entertainment areas including sphisticated piano bar with log fire, small apres ski bar, pizzareia and night club. At various points in the holiday we tried all of these and it was great having the variety of entertainment within the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Brett_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2004

I thoroughly enjoyed a week's stay at the Hotel Spinne in September 2004 - what wonderful views !! Very peaceful, despite being in the centre of Grindelwald, comfortable and very nice staff, who were happy to handle any query. The food provided was excellent, a great selection for breakfast and a lovely (and huge) 4 course dinner - the sweets were 'works of art' - almost too pretty to eat (but only almost...) - a vegetarian main course was provided every night for me. Just a 5 minute stroll to the railway station / bus station. I would recommend the Spinne to anyone and will definitely return for another stay - Grindelwald and the surrounding area are so beautiful.

  • Stayed: September 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank amarillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
220
Reviewed July 21, 2004

We stayed for 7 days at the Spinne in July 2004.
Booked through a UK Travel Agent.
We payed extra for South Facing room. On arrival we did not like the low level room, the hotel staff were superb and changed our room the next day.
There was nothing too much trouble for any of the staff.
The food was excellant, we eat in the main dining room. Italian and Chinese was an alternative.
Rooms on the second and third floor of the "Guesthouse" are the best, the ground floor rooms are shielded by trees.
Central location was ideal for us, although other hotels on the outskirts I am sure are idealy placed, it is a matter of taste.
I would always stay at Grindelwald rather than the other villages, it seems more central for the region.
Was warned Grindelwald expensive but found food and drinks just a touch higher than UK.
Buy the main pass in UK if you can, saves pounds on trains cable cars etc.
If you can not enjoy the sight of the Eiger you can have no immagination.........

19  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#3 of 41 in Grindelwald
616 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Grindelwald
Hotel Belvedere Grindelwald
#2 of 41 in Grindelwald
1,011 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Grindelwald
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Gletschergarten
Hotel Gletschergarten
#1 of 41 in Grindelwald
866 reviews
0.2 mi away
Central Hotel Wolter
Central Hotel Wolter
#16 of 41 in Grindelwald
262 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Kirchbuehl
Hotel Kirchbuehl
#9 of 41 in Grindelwald
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Spinne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Spinne

Address: Dorfstrasse 136, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Grindelwald
#7 Luxury Hotel in Grindelwald
#11 Romantic Hotel in Grindelwald
Price Range: $182 - $558 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Spinne 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive Year-round Four-story Hotel with shuttered windows & wooden balconies, located 500 meters from train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, seekda GmbH, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Spinne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spinne Hotel Grindelwald
Best Western Grindelwald

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing