We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, but ask the right questions about the room before you book”
Review of Hotel Spinne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Spinne
Ranked #16 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 27, 2009

The hotel is nice enough. Good restaurant areas, wellness, lovely terrace. Dinners and breakfasts very nice. Staff professional and polite.

Our room was ok - nothing flash but clean enough with minibar, coffee & tea making facilities in the room, shampoos and lotions etc. But a main room light didn't work, there were a few cobwebs attached to the ceiling and paint was cracking off around the window frames. Towels were thin & basic. I think a 4-star hotel should invest in big fluffy towels - it is a small thing that helps convey a sense of being pampered. Similarly the TV channel offering is simply the bog-standard free throughout Switzerland cable offerring that includes only CNN. Why don't they subscribe to a few more digital channels to provide a better range of English-speaking channels?

We stayed for only one night and got very good rate via Booking.com. Being naturally a bit careful about these things, before booking I phoned the hotel to get some more details about the room. Was it southside with a good view of the Eiger? Yes it was it was I was told. We actually got given a room in the so-called "guesthouse" area, which you don't see in the photos on the website. I guess these are the worst rooms they have. We stayed on the lowest level which meant we had a tiny terrace area. There was no real view to speak of. In front of us was the roof of a neighbouring house and there were 4 medium-sized pine tress impeding any view of the mountains. If you walked to the left or right to try to see the mountains then you naturally crossed into other guests' spaces.

Now for 1 night & an internet special, of course they weren't going to give us their 'best' rooms. But I believed I was getting at least a good view. I spoke to a woman behind the desk about this. She was very polite and professional and assured me that all rooms are the same (while acknowledging that the views are not). My advice to other travellers is simply this. Phone them to make sure you don't get a ground-level room with terrace in the guest house. If you must be in the guest house try to get level 2 or 3 that have balconies and probably have a view over the trees to the mountains.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NateSwitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (280)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

179 - 185 of 280 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2009

Stayed for two weeks in this fantasitc hotel. Staff so friendly and helpful, nothing too much trouble, Food superb taken in dinning area with fabulous views of the Eiger and breakfast on the terrace under the snow capped mountains was really special.
Our room was clean light and had fabulous views from our balcony ( room 401) Free use of a computer allowed to keep in touch with home, and look up the names of the many beautiful alpine flowers we found in the mountains.. Great wellness area in basement which we made good use of. All together a superb hotel I would recommend to anybody

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anfy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2009

We arrived on 28th March on our honeymoon, and was greeted by courtious staff. The hotel was clean, well positioned and nothing was too much trouble.The food was first class with 4 courses every night, and the views from the restaurant were spectacular. The rooms were comfortable and everything you could want was provided. We had an excellent week and would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jackieCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2009

The Spinne Hotel was an excellent hotel for our family holiday. The hotel is located centrally in the town and there was a great bus service in the town to the First cable car, the Bodmi nursery area and the train station for connections to the Mannlichen and Kleine Scheidegg skiiing areas. The buses stopped 20yds from the hotel. The hotel felt more like a good three star hotel than a four star hotel, but the staff were very friendly, the rooms were well furnished and clean and the food was good. We had two connecting rooms which worked well for us and our two children. The hotel provided a free curling session at the sports centre (10 mins walk from hotel) on the Tuesday evening. The Swiss ski school was great (all English speaking instructors). We would definitely go back for a second year to this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LBMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2008

This hotel is just awesome....the room, the views from the balcony, breakfast, the pizza at the restaurant and the spa.

Great place and convenient to the station. All the receptionist are really nice and friendly and good with kids.

I loved this place and highly recommend it . Don't forget to enjoy the spa, it's awesome.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank shaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2008

Probably the best hotel experience our family has ever had.

Hotel Spinne was perfect -- from the fantastic food, to the nice reception, to a world class spa and comfortable rooms.

We stayed here 3 nights in June and loved it!

Get a room in the rear for fantastic views of the mountains.

Definitely get the half board option. Through Expedia, it was about $40 per meal our family of 3 and that's a great deal when you consider the poor euro conversion rate and the quality of food you get. The 4 course meals at dinner were world-class (keep your personal menu for a cool souvenir)

Be sure to do the summer toboggan (picture attached). It's about a 10-minute walk to the lift and the toboggan rides are about $5 each.

Free internet is a plus. The only drawback was no a/c in the rooms, but it was bearable.

Very clean rooms. And the spa is incredible -- with music, relaxing slide shows, scented showers and herbal tea. Wow!

You also get free visits to the local indoor sports facility with ice skating and a huge indoor pool & water slide.

What a magical corner of the world -- We will soon return.

Gordon,
Dallas

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ComCen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2008

Stayed here last week of May 2008. With 2 children we took a junior suite which had a bedroom and a lounge where the sofa converted into a double bed. It had the most magnificent view of the Wetterhorn and Eiger. The hotel staff were all superbly efficient and friendly. Breakfast was excellent and we had one dinner which was first class. The location of the hotel is the best in Grindelwald being only about 200 metres from the station and in the quietest location. It is about half way between the station and the First gondola. Will be going back to this hotel very soon.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank JohnGramps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#3 of 41 in Grindelwald
597 reviews
0.4 mi away
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
#2 of 41 in Grindelwald
982 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Grindelwald
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Gletschergarten
Hotel Gletschergarten
#1 of 41 in Grindelwald
843 reviews
0.4 mi away
Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof Grindelwald
0.3 mi away
Derby Hotel
Derby Hotel
#5 of 41 in Grindelwald
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Spinne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Spinne

Address: Dorfstrasse 136, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Grindelwald
#8 Luxury Hotel in Grindelwald
#11 Romantic Hotel in Grindelwald
Price Range: $170 - $346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Spinne 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive Year-round Four-story Hotel with shuttered windows & wooden balconies, located 500 meters from train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, seekda GmbH, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Spinne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spinne Hotel Grindelwald
Best Western Grindelwald

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing