We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely stay”
Review of Hotel Spinne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Spinne
Ranked #16 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 15, 2013

This was our first stop on a mini tour of some of the lovely sites in Switzerland and we were warmly greeted by staff. Rooms were lovely, with one having a balcony overlooking the Eiger which was enchanting. Hadn't picked up that the hotel restuarant was closed and worse, that it was our equivalent of 'factory fornight' so eating outlets very limited however this did not spoil our enjoyment. We found a bar/restuarant across the road 'Barry's and were met by a seemingly disinterested barperson but our charms won him over! Menu although limited was tasty and had an Eastern touch about it. After a fantastic day in Grindlewald and surrounding areas we found a fantastic Italian 'up the road' and a must visit.
Staff at the hotel were lovely, pleasant and very helpful. Parking a bit of a nightmare but overall a lovely Hotel and would go back

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcmdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (280)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

128 - 134 of 280 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights during the off-season. The room, although on floor negative-1, was very comfortable and clean. We had a lovely view of the Eiger and spent evenings on the balcony watching the clouds roll in. The hotel restaurant was closed for the season, but we did enjoy complimentary breakfast each morning. It was peaceful, the staff very friendly, and they had a generous assortment of breads, cheeses and hot items on the buffet. We walked to and from the train station daily, 5-10 minute walk. It was uphill, and a little exhausting carting our luggage from the train station to the hotel initially. On departure, we took the bus back to train station. The bus picks up right across the street from the hotel. Overall we had a great experience, and would definately go back.

Room Tip: I would definitely choose a room with a balcony and view of the Eiger. Next time, I would also reque...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Florida7609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Helpful efficient staff, good food (we were half board) and pleasant, comfortable rooms in this family owned hotel led to a good holiday for the second year in a row.

Our room was at the back of the hotel with breath-taking views of the mountains and a door opening on to a balcony. Not warm enough during our visit to sit outside, but good for summer visitors. We did use the sunny hotel terrace for a coffee on one day when we came back early from skiing.

Lovely dining room with staff always at hand to serve your drinks and food in the evening and an extensive buffet breakfast.

The whole village is very special - especially the trains that run up and down the mountain taking you skiing and there is even a little shop selling exclusive cushions with old ski photos printed on linen as the covers - we bought 2 as souvenirs.

The skiing is extensive - particularly if you take advantage for your ski pass and travel to Murren for the day where you can do the James Bond thing and lunch in the revolving restaurant before skiing down the Schilthorn black. - great fun.

The hotel offers a complimentary 'get to know you' drinks evening with the charming owners and a pre dinner curling session each week in the winter for the more energetic. We hope to return for another fantastic weeks skiing next year.

Room Tip: The rooms to the rear have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tickhillwendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This truly was an excellent choise. We decided to get away for a snowy weekend. We stayed down in the "guesthouse" as they call it, but it's part of the hotel. The room was enormous, beautiful new wooden floors. Complimentary tea/coffee. New bathroom. Lovely beds and bedding. Our room had a door to the outside. We were on groundlevel. Absolutely lovely views of the mountains. This hotel has a spa,but our stay was to short to make use of it. We also reserved our room the day before we left for Grindelwald and there was a discount. The hotel restaurant is one of the best we have eaten at in Suisse. Service in the hotel and restaurant excellent and they ALL speak English..snowboarding and skiing in winter and several sports and walking in summer.

Room Tip: Rooms with a veiw has bigger windows and doors to the outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissMocca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Huge plusses are 1) prime location- right at ski bus stops (in either direction to Kleine Sheiddeg or First) and a short walk to centre of town and shops, restaurants. 2) Service- very helpful and friendly staff- front desk, waitresses. 3) One of the better restaurants for dinner in Grindelwald. 4) Truly OUTSTANDING view of mountains (including the Eiger) from our terrace, where we enjoyed wine and cheeses bought right across the street at the Migros grocery store. Shortcomings: 1) Rather expensive and 2) very small room for 3 persons. We had to place suitcases on top of clothes closet to move in our room. 3) Clean but small bathroom too. 4) Buffet breakfast was good, not outstanding (scrambled or hard boiled eggs; no omelettes).I can recommend Spinne and I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thetraveldoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

If you want a clean, standrad swiss style family hotel, not fancy but excellent value for a winter ski break in a fabulous location - well worth considering. Restaurants also great, particularly the Italian style pizza's.

Room Tip: Rooms in the annexe can be better for families - larger, quieter etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank APWLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed here as a surprise birthday trip through Interlaken. After taking a nice little train up to the town to Grindlewald from Interlaken, the location is perfect. Situated right in the center of the small, yet beautiful town, Hotel Spinne was just a 5 minute walk from the train stop. We ate dinner at the restaurant at the hotel which was fantastic and overlooked the beautiful swiss mountains. The rooms were very nice, with what looked to be brand new floors and fixtures. The deck was also perfect with fresh flowers and a great view. On the bottom level of the hotel is the spa which included steam rooms, saunas and a pool and some sort of ice cave which was very refreshing. Just be warned that its clothing free for both sexes..... Location was great and the staff were very friendly. I would go here again in a heartbeat. Also, for an extra charge, you can have breakfast brought up to your room and enjoyed on the deck.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing away from town so you can have the beautiful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#3 of 41 in Grindelwald
580 reviews
0.1 mi away
Parkhotel Schoenegg
Parkhotel Schoenegg
#4 of 41 in Grindelwald
359 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Grindelwald
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
#2 of 41 in Grindelwald
970 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Gletschergarten
Hotel Gletschergarten
#1 of 41 in Grindelwald
841 reviews
0.3 mi away
Derby Hotel
Derby Hotel
#5 of 41 in Grindelwald
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Spinne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Spinne

Address: Dorfstrasse 136, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Grindelwald
#7 Luxury Hotel in Grindelwald
#11 Romantic Hotel in Grindelwald
Price Range: $172 - $348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Spinne 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive Year-round Four-story Hotel with shuttered windows & wooden balconies, located 500 meters from train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Booking.com, seekda GmbH, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Spinne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spinne Hotel Grindelwald
Best Western Grindelwald

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing