We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”
Review of Hotel Spinne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Spinne
Ranked #16 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This truly was an excellent choise. We decided to get away for a snowy weekend. We stayed down in the "guesthouse" as they call it, but it's part of the hotel. The room was enormous, beautiful new wooden floors. Complimentary tea/coffee. New bathroom. Lovely beds and bedding. Our room had a door to the outside. We were on groundlevel. Absolutely lovely views of the mountains. This hotel has a spa,but our stay was to short to make use of it. We also reserved our room the day before we left for Grindelwald and there was a discount. The hotel restaurant is one of the best we have eaten at in Suisse. Service in the hotel and restaurant excellent and they ALL speak English..snowboarding and skiing in winter and several sports and walking in summer.

Room Tip: Rooms with a veiw has bigger windows and doors to the outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissMocca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (284)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

134 - 140 of 284 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2013

Huge plusses are 1) prime location- right at ski bus stops (in either direction to Kleine Sheiddeg or First) and a short walk to centre of town and shops, restaurants. 2) Service- very helpful and friendly staff- front desk, waitresses. 3) One of the better restaurants for dinner in Grindelwald. 4) Truly OUTSTANDING view of mountains (including the Eiger) from our terrace, where we enjoyed wine and cheeses bought right across the street at the Migros grocery store. Shortcomings: 1) Rather expensive and 2) very small room for 3 persons. We had to place suitcases on top of clothes closet to move in our room. 3) Clean but small bathroom too. 4) Buffet breakfast was good, not outstanding (scrambled or hard boiled eggs; no omelettes).I can recommend Spinne and I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thetraveldoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

If you want a clean, standrad swiss style family hotel, not fancy but excellent value for a winter ski break in a fabulous location - well worth considering. Restaurants also great, particularly the Italian style pizza's.

Room Tip: Rooms in the annexe can be better for families - larger, quieter etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank APWLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed here as a surprise birthday trip through Interlaken. After taking a nice little train up to the town to Grindlewald from Interlaken, the location is perfect. Situated right in the center of the small, yet beautiful town, Hotel Spinne was just a 5 minute walk from the train stop. We ate dinner at the restaurant at the hotel which was fantastic and overlooked the beautiful swiss mountains. The rooms were very nice, with what looked to be brand new floors and fixtures. The deck was also perfect with fresh flowers and a great view. On the bottom level of the hotel is the spa which included steam rooms, saunas and a pool and some sort of ice cave which was very refreshing. Just be warned that its clothing free for both sexes..... Location was great and the staff were very friendly. I would go here again in a heartbeat. Also, for an extra charge, you can have breakfast brought up to your room and enjoyed on the deck.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing away from town so you can have the beautiful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

What a lovely suprise! Having stayed in Grindenwald for many years this was our first stay at the Spinne Hotel. Went here with a group of close friends. Hotel was frequented by families and couples. Great atmosphere, very clean throughout the hotel and rooms excellent. Breakfast very easy and plentyfull.. Excellent location with easy walking access to either the Gondola straight to the top of the mountain to First (about a 500 yard walk). Alternatively, if you don't fancy the short walk up the hill, the bus stop to Grund where you can take the gondola straight to Manlichen is literally right outside the hotel door. All of the staff were excellent and very friendly. The room upgrade was a nice touch. Skiing was just excellent in Grindenwald. for the more adventerous, go to Kleine Sheidegg where you can ski for the whole day wihtout travelling on the same runs twice. Wixi is a real treat! Overall, can't recommend this hotel highly enough.

Room Tip: Ask for the mountian view rooms as these are at the rear of the hotel and more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rod000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Excellently positioned in the resort of Grindelwald. Very easy access to ski lifts and transport. Food is exceptional and the hotel are only to willing to cater for Vegetarians etc. the rooms are comfortable with amazing views of the mountains behind. All the staff are helpful and management is very visible. The weekly drinks party is a great way to meet others. Have stayed here 4 times now and never been disappointed.

Room Tip: For a quite room go for south facing. Fantastic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annb528789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Very comfortable recently refurbished room. Choose south facing if you can, it's quieter and a great view of the Eiger. Food of a good standard and exceptionally good at catering for a gluten-free diet. Pretty extensive breakfast buffet and four course served evening dinner both in a pleasant spacious dining room with lovely view. The dining room ceiling is designed to reflect the shape of a spider's web - Spinne means spider in German.

The owners held a "welcome reception" which was very welcoming with much free-flowing wine! There was also a free of charge evening where guests were able to try out the sport of curling at the nearby sports centre with tuition and glu-wine provided by the owner.

It is well positioned for skiing being one skibus stop from the "First" lift or in the other direction two stops from the train station for going up to Kleine Sheidegg or down to the Mannlechin lift.

The "wellness" centre is good but you need to be prepared to get naked. Not many British guests seemed to use it!

Room Tip: South facing are quieter with a good view. Ours was on the SE corner was spacious and had a good vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#3 of 41 in Grindelwald
609 reviews
0.4 mi away
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
#2 of 41 in Grindelwald
998 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Grindelwald
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Kirchbuehl
Hotel Kirchbuehl
#11 of 41 in Grindelwald
310 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Gletschergarten
Hotel Gletschergarten
#1 of 41 in Grindelwald
852 reviews
0.2 mi away
Central Hotel Wolter
Central Hotel Wolter
#15 of 41 in Grindelwald
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Spinne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Spinne

Address: Dorfstrasse 136, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Grindelwald
#8 Luxury Hotel in Grindelwald
#11 Romantic Hotel in Grindelwald
Price Range: $159 - $465 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Spinne 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive Year-round Four-story Hotel with shuttered windows & wooden balconies, located 500 meters from train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, seekda GmbH, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Spinne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spinne Hotel Grindelwald
Best Western Grindelwald

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing