We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, wouldn't hesitate to book again!”
Review of Hotel Spinne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Spinne
Ranked #15 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 14, 2011

On the contrary to the previous review. I found my stay at the Spinne hotel in Grindelwald very pleasant.

We were there for a snowboarding holiday so we did spend a good portion of our time in the hotel. It's located centrally in the small town, so very handy with a supermarket around 15 metres away across the road.

The rooms were decent albeit the decor is beginning to age, though they have managed to place a flatscreen tele which is always welcomed. The free wifi was a nice touch. Our room had a stunning view across part of the town and the mountains.

Overall, the stay was very comfortable, the staff were very friendly and the food was simply amazing (4 courses every day, we were booked in for halfboard). Almost forgot to mention, the spa is a must. With a number of steam rooms, we went 4 nights out the 6 we were there, spoiling ourselves after a long day on the mountain. Recommended.

Room Tip: A must is the spa in the Spinne, amazing.
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msg84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (279)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Spinne
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

159 - 165 of 279 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2011

the balconies facing the mountains make up for a lack of service and quality. of course, all is ok as can be expected in a four star hotel ... but: the rooms are basic, the breakfast boring, staff is not very passionate about their job. we expected more for the price we paid.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank STraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2011

I can't say that Grindelwald is an exceptionally exciting town. In fact, I found it to be a tad boring, with most people staying around here to make a visit to the Jungfrau glaciers. Nonetheless, the stay at the hotel made the visit extremely memorable.

Firstly, about the hotel - rooms were clean, and if you were lucky, you would have a room that would face the alps (I've no idea what they are called), but the view was just AWESOME. I was never a fan of nature or snow or mountains, but this view just blew me off. The rooms were decorated in some sort of an old-fashioned wood kind of style, which I was quite neutral to. A great perk would be the free wifi (albeit sometimes a little slow, but acceptable) that the hotel provides. A safety deposit box is also available for use in the room.

Nextly, the staff. I've always been impressed by Swiss hospitality, and the staff in this hotel were no exception. Extremely cheerful and always ready to help, everytime we walked past the reception, or along the hotel corridors, they would always greet us and make us feel at home. When we needed help or whatsoever, they would always be there to render us the assistance we needed.

The people in this town were also extremely affable. The quaintness of this town, along with the awesomely friendly people, just made the stay totally worth the time and made our day(s).

One thing to note is that not all the rooms are housed in the same building. If I'm not wrong, the rooms in the main building face the street (I'm not sure). However, the room that I was allocated to (that was facing the ranges), were in a different building (that was not exactly very far or inconvenient). For me, I had to take the lift in the main building down to the basement, walk along a corridor and past a small parking, and then take another elevator to the room. I felt that it was a little confusing at first (and I'm a direction idiot), but I soon got used to it.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing the alps - just amazing
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dragrex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2011

Stayed here 19th March for one week i travelled with Inghams on hb package.
Hotel entrance and staff brilliant, free internet..... there is even a pc with internet use on the first floor that you can use for free if you dont have a laptop with you. Although travelling alone i was given the keys to a double room which i thought was a bonus. My room was a little tired in need of redecorating but did have everything i needed tea maker with complimentary tea and coffee a good flat screen tv with quite a few english channels. My on suite bathroom looked to have been very recently refurbed it had a high quality white suite with a nice deep bath with overhead shower. The food was 5***** with a very good breakfast selection and very nice evening meals 4 courses in all 3 of them preset with a choice from two main courses. In the basement of the hotel is a disco and bar but i never once heard and noise. Also in the basement is a spa area which was also 5***** excellent variation of saunas etc lovely bubble pool. Staff were very helpful and although i dont think i would go to Gridelwald again but if i did i would head sraight for the Spinne.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew-Melton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2011

We stayed in the Hotel Spinne for one week (possibly the sunniest Winter week for a long while), glorious weather, picture postcard resort, stunning scenery and warm and welcoming hotel.

We had a room facing the Eiger with a terrace (not terribly private) suggest asking for a higher room to get a private balcony, but the amazing views made up for it. Lovely comfortable room, reasonable size, bathroom a little small. Restaurant very popular and good quality and variety of food. Lovely varied breakfast. Great packed lunch on checkout day as we set off very early. Wine a bit pricey but Switzerland isnt a cheap country to visit.

Take the train to the Jungfraujoch for an experience of a lifetime. Superb skiing and efficient swiss transportation. Gepsi bar (Hotel Eiger) good for drinks in the evening. We felt the hotel Spinne lacked a proper bar. Wellness area was good. Very close to bus stop to First or train to Kleine Scheidegg / bus to Mannlichen Gondola.

Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizzy068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
11
Reviewed February 21, 2011

I have stayed at many hotels all round the world and this is one of the best from the rooms to the staff to the food, it has it all. Make sure you try and get a south facing room, waking up looking at the eiger can't be beat !

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2011

We stayed in the hotel for a week half board. The food at both breakfast and evening meal was of a very hgh standard, with the evening meal being very balanced and interesting. We both looked forward to the meals and did not venture out to other resturants during our stay apart from up on the mountain at lunch time.

The staff were very friendly, knowledgeable about the area and also very helpful if we had any questions.

The room we stayed in looked like it had just been renovated and was very clean and had a great view over the Eiger and ski area.

Altogether one of the most enjoyable ski ing holidays we have ever been on, and I have been ski ing for 30 years!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PennyStorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#3 of 41 in Grindelwald
569 reviews
0.1 mi away
Parkhotel Schoenegg
Parkhotel Schoenegg
#4 of 41 in Grindelwald
352 reviews
0.4 mi away
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
#2 of 41 in Grindelwald
956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Grindelwald
0.4 mi away
Hotel Gletschergarten
Hotel Gletschergarten
#1 of 41 in Grindelwald
832 reviews
0.3 mi away
Derby Hotel
Derby Hotel
#5 of 41 in Grindelwald
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Spinne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Spinne

Address: Dorfstrasse 136, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Grindelwald
#7 Luxury Hotel in Grindelwald
#11 Romantic Hotel in Grindelwald
Price Range: $172 - $551 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Spinne 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive Year-round Four-story Hotel with shuttered windows & wooden balconies, located 500 meters from train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with seekda GmbH, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Spinne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spinne Hotel Grindelwald
Best Western Grindelwald

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing