We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, but a little Dated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Hotel Regina Grindelwald
Ranked #31 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel, but a little Dated”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Our family spent two nights at the Grand Hotel Regina in July 2012.

Overall, we thought the hotel was nice, but the rooms-- and especially the bathrooms-- have a glitzy 1970s look: lots of faux gold-brushed faucets, mirrors, etc-- that is difficult to overlook.

That said, in general, the hotel is well situated with stunning views of the Bernese Alps. The rooms are spacious (we had three to accommodate our family), especially the corner rooms, and the beds are very comfortable.

The service was excellent, and we found that each of our multiple requests for extra pillows, chargers, towels was handled efficiently by friendly staff.

Meals were quite good.

We would stay at the Hotel again, despite the ktichsy bathroom fixtures. Value was mixed in light of high Swiss France.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brandt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    40
    12
    4
    10
See reviews for
27
57
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
137 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

This hotel reeks of class in every action... For a quaint little village of Gindelwald to have such an amazing property.

To begin with the view from our room was so good I could have spend the week there!

To top it all, this place provide a child bathrobe and toiletries for my son - nope it wasnt the standard hotel pack dished out, but a special kids set.

Location, just next to train station meant that we got to Jungfraujoch much earlier without the pain of getting up early :)

All staff were extremely helpful & polite. Only element I think which could be better is wifi in rooms :) as part of the package.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank apbanerjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Lovely hotel in the centre of Grindlewald with amazing views of the Eiger and Jungfrau. Breakfast was very nice - great selection of meats and cheese, eggs if you want.

Bar was very nice - excellent barman. The spa was really fantastic - massage treatments were quite reasonable for Switzerland and very good.

Rooms were nice if a bit tired - not really 5 star. Also extremely hot!

Room Tip: Ask for an Eiger view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VLS234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2012

I had been on a tour to Europe last winter and trust me this was the best hotel of all we stayed in.. The Rooms are spacious.. Bathrooms are royal.. 10 on 10 for this hotel.

Very friendly Staff here.. location is also good.. had a walk as early as 6 am in the morning on all the days we stayed there.. very scenic..

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Vipulrjain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
basel
Level Contributor
102 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2012

We had a weekend night here with family of four in two rooms. A hotel from a bye gone era with thoughtful renovations.
The location is perfect for all arriving by train or going up to the jungfrau region for outings or skiing. Good service, nice spa. would go again.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank businessmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2012

We booked this hotel for our honeymoon, having visited Grindelwald many times before, but wanting something more luxurious this time.

The hotel staff were always friendly and helpful (sometimes too friendly - it would have been nice to get 10 minutes to ourselves in the bar!), the hotel is spotless, and our room was serviced twice a day, always being left immaculate. The pool and spa were fabulous, clean, tidy and mostly deserted. Bar, lounge and restaurant were lovely, with stunning views, and breakfast was tasty and plentiful. We received a free room upgrade, wine and chocolates on arrival, just the icing on the cake!

So, the downside.... Food in the restaurant was ridiculously overpriced (even taking into account the Swiss ability to over charge for everything), and the standard in no way lived up to the price. Oh, and the double bed was two single mattresses.... Great for your honeymoon!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Louwilson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jena, Germany
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2012

Pros:
Location - 2 min walking from the train station, 3 min walking from the ski bus
Staff - always kind and helpful
View - amazing from the hall, the restaurant and the room facing South

Cons:
Furniture - to be renovated, probably great in the 70-80's but not meeting international standards anymore
Accessories - no free wifi available, no boiler in the room
Restaurants - the offer is quite poor

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madpal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.1 mi away
Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof
Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof
#9 of 41 in Grindelwald
161 reviews
0.2 mi away
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
#2 of 41 in Grindelwald
921 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Kreuz & Post
Hotel Kreuz & Post
#11 of 41 in Grindelwald
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Parkhotel Schoenegg
Parkhotel Schoenegg
#4 of 41 in Grindelwald
314 reviews
0.0 mi away
Derby Hotel
Derby Hotel
#5 of 41 in Grindelwald
475 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Grindelwald
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Regina Grindelwald? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Regina Grindelwald

Property: Grand Hotel Regina Grindelwald
Address: Dorfstrasse 80, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Regina Grindelwald 5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Regina welcomes you at a prime location with panoramic views of the famous EIGER-Northface and within Walking distance to the the village center and railway Station. Here you will expericence the unique and traditional charme of a Grand Hotel with his typical individual ambience and charm as it is found only in Belle Epoche Hotels.We welcome our international guests with heart and spoil you with charme and personel attention so you can enjoy your holiday in Grindelwald and simply relaxe. Our restaurant professionals await you with a neat and seasonal market-fresh cuisine with a focus on the Swiss food and wine world. Fresh summer cocktails and our wide selection of whiskeys and rums , you can enjoy during summer at its best on our panoramic terrace or on cooler days in our fireplace lounge . Our Alpine Spa with 1600m2 area invites you to relax and slow down . The sauna area, the large indoor pool and our diverse application program helps you take care of your personal wellbeing.In our spacious and timeless, classically furnished rooms , equipped with the classic comfort, you will enjoy peace and security as well as a unique mountain panorama. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Grand Hotel Regina Grindelwald reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing