We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad coz we stayed at the Hotel also”

Restaurant Kreuz & Post
Ranked #9 of 72 Restaurants in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $62
Cuisines: Italian, French, German, Swiss, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: In every one of our restaurants, in the Kreuz Restaurant, the Challistubli and in the Panorama-Dining room, it is all about pampering. You explore a fresh and nice cuisine inspired by the seasons and our local products. We offer honesty and great taste, regional but also international dishes, all prepared with great care.
Level Contributor
65 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Bad coz we stayed at the Hotel also”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

Seems this place is out to fleece the tourists by offering only a breathtaking view of the mountains but nothing to offer on the dining table.
Overall, bad experience with their hotel as well as the quality of food doled out at this so called ''chic'' restaurant.
You wont miss a thing if you skip it.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank globe_traveller_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    67
    22
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kiwi in London
Level Contributor
149 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“WATCH THE WORLD GO BY”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

The food was very good, even for a vegetarian and sitting on The Terrace I was well placed to watch the comings and goings of tourists to and from the station.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gerigenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great food in traditional Swiss restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

I discovered this restaurant with my friend Juan on our trip to Switzerland in October 2012. Its located on the ground floor of the ‘Hotel Kreuz & Post’ and is known as the ‘Kreuz Restaurant’. The price of the food and drinks on the menu when we looked outside seemed a bit expensive but we still decided to try it regardless. On arrival inside, the staff gave us a very warm welcome, smartly dressed and took us to our table. The restaurant decoy is fantastic, classic, old and typical Swiss chalet style. I loved it.

I ordered some pasta which was served very quickly but tasted rather nice and had a local beer to go with it. I also had some dessert and went for the ice cream (yes, a great combination of beer and ice cream) and then had a cup of tea with a biscuit afterwards (yes, I am really splashing the cash). The owners of the restaurant (and maybe also the owner of the same hotel), made sure everything was ok and to our liking, and I like that sort of service. It means the management does care about their customers, and I haven’t really experience this in quite some time.

The restaurant did get a little bit busy as it was a Saturday evening, but there was plenty of staff to cope with this which was great, and the personal touched remained. I do highly recommend this restaurant in Grindelwald, but for all of the above, it did cost me around €25-€30 (I can’t remember the exact cost). The restaurant is located next to the train station and is on the main road, can’t really miss it.

It is that good, that I am planning to go back there on my next visit to Grindelwald in September 2013.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daniel Raymond B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Very good, varied food and very friendly female staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

The menu was varied and the food was high quality. Over 3 or 4 evenings we tried a range of vegetarian and meat options including salads and all the food was well prepared and tasty. The female staff, particularly Steffi and the colleague who often works with her, were very friendly and efficient. Excellent view of the Eiger from the outdoor terrace.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DawnandSteveinLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen Scotland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Average food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

We had a salad and pasta dish here but it was ok and a bit pricey for what we got. The waiter was a bit grumpy.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank JudeAberdeenScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Kreuz & Post also viewed

Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
 
Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
 

Been to Restaurant Kreuz & Post? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing