We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for views”
Review of Bussalp

Bussalp
Ranked #6 of 31 things to do in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
Stony Point, NY
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place for views”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

I stayed in Grindelwald for 9 nights from Aug. 24th and visited several view points including Mannlichen, Pfingstegg, First, Schilthorn, Almendhubel and Jungfraujoch. Bussalp is one of my favorite places. I didn't have time to hike(I wish I had), but walked up 10-15 minutes from the Busalp bus stop. I loved the views of Eiger, Monch and Jungfrau and an atmosphere. Because there is no gondra/funicular to Bussalp, the atmosphere was calmer and more peaceful compare to other view point places.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank photographerT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    32
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“the most exciting bus ride ever?”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Its fun to ride here on the mountain bus, and the restaurant at the top has a terrace with amazing views and is the start point for some challenging walks

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TheRunningClub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Level Contributor
164 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic views!”
Reviewed June 30, 2012

We love the views of the Eiger, Munch, and Jungfrau. And it's a wonderful trip up by bus. You can either admire the view and go back by bus, walk to Bort to have lunch, walk in the other direction and enjoy the scenery, and more. We like the coffee and drinks on the terrace, but weren't impressed by the food.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank susanmccallum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bearsted, Maidstone, Kent
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Walk from Bussalp to Bort”
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Excellent walk with wonderful views of the mountains.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Swissfriend418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best bus ride ever”
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Golly these drivers are good. What a trip, you can walk down various ways, really great or just take the bus back down.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Victoria_Fish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bussalp also viewed

Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
 
Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
 

Been to Bussalp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing