We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of First

First
Book In Advance
More Info
$194.53*
and up
Mt First Top Adventure from Zurich
Ranked #1 of 31 things to do in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
101 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Great value!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014

Really good cable car ride - 30 minutes long each way with a warm and welcoming restaurant at the top. Sadly cloudy day but still fun.

Only cost 28.50CH for me (they have a half price deal on until 25.10.15!) and FREE for my 7 year old daughter (not sure why - did mention I had a Swiss travel family card - which is also free by the way and gets your child on all the trains for free!!!). That morning I'd paid nearly the same amount to go on the Pfingstegg cable car - 15CH for me (that was with a 20% discount with my Swiss Half Pass) and 9.40CH for my daughter (full price). The ride was over in minutes. So if you have to choose - go for the First (ha ha).

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank jojozara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,065 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    780
    241
    35
    4
    5
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“great area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

wonderful walking, hiking and skiing area. Great views on Eiger, Jungfrau and surrounding mountains. Easily to reach bij cablecar .

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank tan t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
155 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Amazing Scenery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

So sorry for late review. We made a trek up after a visit to Mannlichen. We didn't check the time for last gondola, as a result, we couldn't hike to the lake. If we did, we would have to walk down and my mother couldn't handle it. So we just took in the scenery and made our way back down. My mother was very sorry, but I thought the view while going up and down the gondola alone was worth the trip. Although the area is surrounded by mountains, I felt each area offered a unique vantage point to enjoy. Definitely worth the trip.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank JOL2T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athens
Level Contributor
123 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“definitely worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

i visited first-grindelwald on may .Thankfully the weather was good with visibility and high temperature!.We stopped in every level before First and most of all we loved the children's playground where our son had a lot of fun and the view from the restaurant up First while eating a delicious schnitzel!Great views to take amazing photos !

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank ioanna31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“wow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

apprehensive of the nightclub downstairs but did not have any trouble during our stay

house has walls thin as paper

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank FLORDA L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed First also viewed

Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
 
Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
Bernese Oberland, Canton of Bern
 

Been to First? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing