We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of First

First
Book In Advance
More Info
$194.50*
and up
Mt First Top Adventure from Zurich
Ranked #1 of 31 things to do in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
140 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

We took the cable car from Grindelwald to First. The views from First are incredible. We hiked to a small lake and some of the paths were covered with snow. It was in incredible day and should not be missed.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank daveydave12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,064 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    779
    241
    35
    4
    5
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Buckland Monachorum, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Good introduction to Alpine Hiking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Good restaurant at top with stunning views - several walks centred on First that were reasonably gentle introductions to hiking. Particularly liked to trek across to Gross Schiedegg with the bus back down the hill

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Keith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
79 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great hike and great views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

We took the cable car from Grindelwald and hiked onward to Bachalpsee. The hike is quite gentle and the route is scenic. Throughout the way, it was hard to stop or put away the camera.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank AyushBasu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
182 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Literal and figurative 'high point' of Grindelwald visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

I love this spot in summer. The views are stunning, and the activity up at the top of the gondola (hikers, bikers, paragliders, zipliners, restaurant . . . ) is great. It's the first place I took friends visiting town. If you're a mountainbiker, THAT is the way to get up here (via Gross Scheidig).

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank HouTexTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
66 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Another must-do in Grindlewald”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

We purchased the Jungfrau VIP 3-day pass which included tram ride to First. Just down from the mountain top is where the paragliders launch. It's a steep walk, but a must see if you can get yourself down the mountain a ways and then back up. From there you can hike up, or down several paths. We hiked down to Bort and met some much hardier hikers coming up from Grindlewald. One of our favorite excursions in Grindlewald.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank MrsClean76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed First also viewed

Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
 
Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
Bernese Oberland, Canton of Bern
 

Been to First? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing