We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bachalpsee walk”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of First

First
Book In Advance
More Info
$194.17*
and up
Mt First Top Adventure from Zurich
Ranked #1 of 31 things to do in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
Gurgaon, India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Bachalpsee walk”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

This is one of the most beautiful walks in Switzerland, after you reach Gridndelwald first you take a two hour round trip to the Bachalpsee walk. Easy and scenic walk, lots of snow even at end of June. Imagine you are surrounded by snow, sunlight and you don't even have to wear any jacket.The climate on the walk is so good, we just loved this trail. Don't miss it if you are in Burnese Oberland. I definitely preferred it over Junfraujoch.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank yaminimukul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,061 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    777
    240
    35
    4
    5
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wembury
Level Contributor
105 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Excellent starting point for walks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

It is a relaxing ride to the middle station or the top each of which is good starting (or finishing) point for walks

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Seascape20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great views and easy access”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

An easy cable ride from Grindelwald to great views at First and we walked from there to Grosse Scheidegg - about an hour - followed by bus back to Grindelwald. A great way to spend our first afternoon.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank WaynebAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Try the trottiebikes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

The trip up to First is spectacular with a very friendly bar for refreshments. We got off at Bort to hire trottiebikes for a ride back down (4.5km). These are like kids's scooters for grow ups and are controlled by brakes like those on bikes. Your hands get a bit tired but then you have lots of breaks to take in the views and marvel at the flowers. We loved the trottiebikes and they made us (over 60's) feel like 10 year olds. A highlight in a wonderful holiday.

NB If you have bought a Regional Pass for trains you get a discount when you hire the trottiebikes.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Jeanette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leyburn, North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
68 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Jungfrau,top of Europe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Grindelwald is an attractive little town with great places to eat, but very little to occupy you for a long time. However the trip on Grindelwald First cable car is a trip not to be missed. The views when both ascending and descending are spectacular. Unfortunately on my trip when I reached the top at 7100 feet the peaks were in the cloud, but the views were still brilliant

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank oapcameraman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed First also viewed

Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
 
Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
Bernese Oberland, Canton of Bern
 

Been to First? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing