We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Longest gondola ride in Europe”

Maennlichenbahn Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Staffordshire, England
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Longest gondola ride in Europe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

these small (4 person) gondolas take you from Grund up to Mannlichen. The ride offers fabulous views of the valley and across to the Eiger, Tchuggen and Lauberhorn mountains. When you get to Mannlichen you can walk up to the top of the Mannlichen a World Unesco Site, or take a gentle walk along the well marked path to Kleine Scheidegg or take the Luftseilbahn down to Wengen. Just keep an eye on the time as the gondolas stop running about 5pm even in the summer and the only alternative is a long walk home

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank tc241103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    78
    13
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Strongsville, Ohio
Level Contributor
97 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Breathtaking!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Taking the lift to the top of Mannlichen was one of my top 2 favorite activities in the area.
Amazing views!! trails of several levels including beginners and views that you cannot describe and do justice to their magnificence!

Cows graze even at the top and while you are walking the trails, you can hear cowbells tinkling and the waterfalls from far off mountains.

Beginner trail is estimated to take about 1.5 hours. We are very active and outdoorsy folks but it took us over 2 hours since we kept stopping for the jaw dropping views and to take photos. Since we had not been there before, we chose the beginner trail, which was easily walk-able and child friendly. Children will also find, Felix, the Mannlichen rabbit (bigger than life carving, at the top of the trail to welcome them.

Highly recommended!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Morgan1025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Such incredible flowers!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

This was my first experience with the Swiss Alps. The gondola ride is quite long (about a half hour each way) but also very lovely and peaceful. The views are beautiful and the gentle clang of cow bells makes for a very Swiss atmosphere.

At the summit, you have beautiful views of the surrounding peaks, and there are many wonderful hikes to be taken. The day I went it was about 30C in valley below, and so the coolness of the mountain air was incredibly refreshing.

I was incredibly lucky when it came to the timing of this trip. I was up on the mountain right when all the mountain flowers were in bloom! I didn't know it at the time, but apparently there's a window of only a few weeks to see this stunning sight. The mountains were littered with every possible shade. Red, orange, yellow, purple, pink, blue, indigo, white... The views, as I mentioned, are lovely, but it was the addition of all these incredible flowers that really made the visit magical. I've been traveling through Switzerland for eight months and this will always be one of my most treasured moments.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank saltimbanquina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamshedpur
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautifull place of nature”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

This is a place which can be reached with minimum expenditure arround 15euro ticket from interlaken. Train rout is full of natural beauty with ice capped mountains. Those who can not afford to go to Jungfu thay must visit this place at least. One can stop in any station and have the pleasure of the beauty as the ticket is valid for a day. WE visited with family having small kids.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TMishra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
237 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Lovely gondola ride to Männlichen”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

This gondola starts from Grund near Grindelwald and is Europe's longest gondola ride. It is very quiet and smooth and takes around 40 minutes to get to the top, where there are toilets.

There are a lot of walks from the top. Start my going to the Männlichen peak where the views are stunning, walk down to Wengen via a very steep path, back down to Grindelwald, or our favourite, the walk to Kleine Scheidegg then down to Wengen. The views on the whole of this walk are absolutely fantastic.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Silberhorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maennlichenbahn Grindelwald also viewed

Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
 
Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
 

Been to Maennlichenbahn Grindelwald? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing