We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service, dirty restaurant” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ristorante Pizzeria Da Salvi

Ristorante Pizzeria Da Salvi
Ranked #10 of 73 Restaurants in Grindelwald
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Poor service, dirty restaurant”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stopped here for a meal on a first night in Grindelwald. It was the worst meal of our holiday and possibly of any holiday. The restaurant was very busy so we were seated inside - a big mistake. The room was very hot and uncomfortable. The floor was covered with food from previous diners and it was infested with flies - not just one or two but loads. The staff clearly didn't want to be there any more than we did, as our waiter was charmless, but it was late and we needed to eat so we stuck it out. At the end of the meal, our waiter came over with the credit card machine and shamelessly pointed out how we could leave a tip... I don't think so. Perhaps those lucky diners sat outside had a different experience but we didn't eat here again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Haddock2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    72
    35
    22
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Philly Burbs
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great pizza and fries!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

This place was on our way up to our hotel and they were open so we decided to stop in. The staff is so very friendly and helpful. We don't love Swiss food, so we are always looking for the most American meal we can find when we travel. The pizza and fries certainly met our standards! A pizza can be split between two, and the fries are more than enough for two! The best part was being recognized on our third night....our waitress said, "The usual?" We all laughed and then enjoyed our pizza. The prices are reasonable as well. Our meal was usually around 35 CHF, but then again we don't have wine with our dinner. If you get a chance, please try this place. Always a jovial atmosphere with the owner cooking at the outdoor grill during dinner and then sitting with guests as the night continues. Highly recommend if you are looking for a break from Swiss food. (Though I was tempted to get the raclette...can't go wrong with cheese!)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank krisptoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baughurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
367 reviews
213 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“A good pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

The staff here are very efficient and friendly. Tables are cleared quickly, our order was taken quickly and no mistakes, also we had a couple of questions that were answered very honestly.

The food was good quality and very tasty, however I cannot rate the pizza I had as the greatest but it was good. The wine was fine, but only a small selection of wines by the glass - only one white wine and this was not dry. The red I had was not memorable. However they had a very good selection of deserts, which may be a reason to go back!!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Anthony A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A great place to eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

We spend our ski vacation in Grindelwald every year and this is the only restaurant in Grindelwald we keep going back to. It is located right at the Firstbahn gondola station in Grindelwald, it is run by Italians, and the food is excellent. Service is efficient and friendly, atmosphere is relaxed and family friendly (which is not a given in Swiss restaurants), pizzas are great, and our kids love watching the pizza cooks prepare the pizzas. Even some meat dishes are grilled in the wood oven right in front of your eyes. Make sure to reserve a table for dinner, because the place can get extremely crowded. Another plus: Restaurant is open all day, i.e. you can come in and eat lunch also between, say 2 and 6pm, when other restaurants might not serve hot food in Switzerland.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Philip T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious food! You must eat there!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

We just spend somw days in Grindelwald and we had dinner at this fantastic restaurant two days in row; the service was great, fast and the food is awesome! I had the best tomato soup ever!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Georgia1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Pizzeria Da Salvi also viewed

Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
 
Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
 
Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
 

Been to Ristorante Pizzeria Da Salvi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing