We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Berghotel Faulhorn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grindelwald
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Berghotel Faulhorn
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2012

Berghotel Faulhorn is on the very peak of Faulhorn - the view is just absolutely spectacular. The building is historic and cosy. There is no heating, but you get hot water bottles at reception;-) The staff is very helpful.

Room Tip: Try to get a room to the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anid11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    11
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
8
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
241 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2011

My gf and I loved this hotel, the hike from First is amazing. It is quite dependent on weather, though. When we hiked up the mountain was completely engulfed in cloud so you couldnt see more than 15 feet or so, which I liked because I could pretend I was in some kind of horror movie like the mist lol, but it also meant we got very wet and cold along the way. All the better then that this hotel had an excellent restaurant with hot, hearty fair - the germans (well, Swiss-German) know how to fill a stomache let me tell you lol. The staff were also excellent, my back was hurting from carrying too much weight on the way up and the owner kindly gave me her own aspirin and muscle cream - where else would you get that service?

The next day the clouds, unfortunately, were still there. As such we didn't get to appreciate the view as much as we were hoping, but on the way back it started to clear and by the time we were half way to First had opened up nicely, giving way to gorgeous views of the surrounding mountains poking through clouds as they drifted up through the valley. Couldn't ask for a better view! (see my pics).

The only downside is that the hotel itself is not heated, or at least wasnt when we were there, and hence the rooms are the same temperature as the air outside, which for us was about 5 degrees celcius lol. Bring someone to cuddle with, or some good pajamas.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RyguyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2010

We stayed at this mountain inn while on a self-guided hiking tour of the Bernese Oberland arranged for us by Alpenwild. To get there we took a lift from Grindelwald to First, then hiked to Buchalpsee and then to Faulhorn. It was a great hike, though overcast, and at time raining heavily with thunderstorms. It snowed overnight (August 3!!!), but we continued on to Schynige Platte on yet another fabulous hiking trail. This is the oldest mountain inn in the Swiss Alps - we had a private double (two beds), and nearly every wall and ceiling was slightly crooked. The room was charmingly rustic, the dinner was great, and it was fun hanging out in the nice steamy dining room with all the other hikers while it rained outside. The staff was helpful and cheerful, speaking English quite well. This is one of the classic hikes in the Bernese Oberland and I highly recommend the hike especially if combined with staying at this Berghotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank namefunnel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worcester
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2010

I stayed with my family for one night. A really wonderful experience. We meet other travellers and the staff were great. Good simple, hot food and a great welcome. Good job really as the weather was awful - heavy rain and thunder storms. I'm sure the views are amazing but we didin't see a thing. Don't underestimate the location - we woke to 1/2inch of snow on the 1st August!

Would highly recommend though and would go back - weather willing. NB: limited drying facilities available.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jhgWorcester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2009

There's nothing like hanging out at the summit of the Faulhorn, and this hotel makes it all possible. I would set out on your hike early enough to arrive by dinnertime. Dinner menu ends at 7:30 pm. After that, they serve soup, sausage and bread. Hearty enough, but perhaps you were craving something else. The 30 person dorm rooms really fit 30 people. The dining room closed around 9 pm or 9:30 pm, and it was dark already, so people pretty much went to bed immediately. Pretty much what we expected to find on the summit of a mountain. It's great seeing the sunset from the summit. Even if you don't wake up in time for the sunrise, the morning views are great too. Worth every penny! Adventurers need only apply.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tccc12321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Tschuggen
Hotel Tschuggen
#6 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
0.6 mi away
Alpenblick Hotel Pub & Restaurant
1.0 mi away
Sunstar Hotel Grindelwald
Sunstar Hotel Grindelwald
#9 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Gletschergarten
Hotel Gletschergarten
#1 of 41 in Grindelwald
5.0 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#4 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
1.0 mi away
Derby Hotel
Derby Hotel
#5 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berghotel Faulhorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berghotel Faulhorn

Property: Berghotel Faulhorn
Address: Faulhornweg 6, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Grindelwald
Number of rooms: 70

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing