We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BEST PIZZA I HAVE EVER HAD” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Onkel Tom's Hutte

Onkel Tom's Hutte
Ranked #5 of 74 Restaurants in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Romantic, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Atlanta, GA
1 review
“BEST PIZZA I HAVE EVER HAD”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

Stayed in Grindelwald in early July 2013 for 4 nights, and ate at Onkel Tom's for 2 of them! The first night, my boyfriend and I split a medium half "Chef's Special," half margherita pizza and a salad, and we loved it so much (and were pretty hungry after a long day of hiking), we ordered another one!! Thin crust and very fresh, tasty ingredients. The second night, we ordered a large and a small to split. I still think about how delicious this pizza was ~ it was honestly the best I've ever had, and that's coming from someone who had just spent a month in Italy before going to Switzerland. The setting was beautiful, and the service was extremely friendly, helpful, and welcoming. As for the price....well, in Interlaken, dinner for two at McDonalds was 29 CHF...so that's Switzerland for you. (we spent about 60 CHF for 2 caravs of water, a large and a small pizza, salad, a glass of wine, and a large ice cream sundae....totally worth it in my opinion). If you go to Grindelwald, you HAVE to go here!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Addie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    64
    21
    10
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport Pagnell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Yummy pizza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

Lovely cosy atmosphere here and really tasty pizzas. The pizzas are 'wetter' than most with lots of cheese but very yummy.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent pizza with a great atmosphere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

This is a must for any visitors to Grindelwald. The pizza was excellent, and the atmosphere was even better!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelArizona8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best pizza in Switzerland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

The pizzas here are superb with a lovely thin base and very tasty toppings. They also have very good beer, a bit darker than the usual euro lager and with more taste.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A really pleasant surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Grindelwald has never been known for good, affordable food, but this place is a refreshing change from all the bog-standard, tourist-driven places in town. Their pizzas really are very good (way better than the mediocre ones across the street), which actually shouldn't be a surprise considering the large Italian-Swiss population, and the fact that they produce what is arguably the best cheese on the planet.
Very friendly staff, nice informal setting.

Two big thumbs up.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bomobob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Onkel Tom's Hutte also viewed

Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
 
Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
 
Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
 

Been to Onkel Tom's Hutte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing