We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware of extreeeeeemely bad service and very steep uphill carrying of luggage. You cannot drive close to entrance!!!!”
Review of Hotel Sonnenberg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Sonnenberg
Ranked #25 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Reviewed July 29, 2010

We arrived late (10PM 22:00) and is was completely dark out so we spend a lot of time looking for the hotel entrance and driveway. There were hardly any signs to where to go. We were completely exhausted after the trip and carrying our luggage up a really steep hill as my husband tried to find another way to drive closer to the entrance. He came back and we carried all baggage in. As it was dark we did not see until the next day that the hotel is situated a slope and not way to drive behind it.

As I entered the hotel the owner, an old woman, jumped at me and accused us of arriving late without notifying her witch we had tried to do but got a strange signal in the phone. She wanted a complete story of why we came at 10PM, when our flight left at home, how long it took for us to drive to them. I said that we had dinner on the way...she got crazy. (?!?!?!?!?).

I was so stunned at her reaction; it was so out of proportion and impolite!!!!!!! I had trouble sleeping of irritation. I still get so very upset at the thought of someone like her destroying that part of our vacation. Can you imagine a hotel owner doing that???
They had not written their phone number in any mail (they don’t want to answer telephone calls due to bad English) and had not written that they wanted to know about late arrivals (most hotels do) but we had tried to reach her anyway but had problems with my husbands phone or their phone.

We rented 2 rooms for 4 days (quite expensive). During that time she had avoided to talk to us. When we left she finely spoke in an angry tone: “Ze key, Ze key?!” we had left “the key” in the room.

She did not say anything nice!! No thank you, no good bye, no have a nice trip…nothing!!!
Well, you can guess our judgment… nice view from the balcony…nice service from the breakfast hostess. That’s it!
When my husband asked for an extra pillow at 10PM one evening se looked at him as if …”how can you ask for service at this our?”

It was a horrible experience that unfortunately is difficult to forget.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank UllaLennart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (58)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

26 - 32 of 58 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2010

We decided to stay in Grindelwald spontaneously, after a long hiking day in the mountains so our stay at the Sonnenberg was not planned in any way, however we were all very pleased with the hotel and it was a great place to know about for the future.
The Hotel is UP the hill behind the station, it is a good climb up pedestrian paths (no roads) but this also gives the hotel its great view over the town, valley, and mountains. The hotel is an old chalet style building, but the (modest) rooms have been tastefully renovated this last year. It is very clean, the décor is very “mountain Swiss” and comfortable. The dining room and the lounge are also nice, comfortable, and have great views over to the Eiger.
Dinner is usually only for the half-pension guests, and needs to be reserved in advance. The dining room is NOT a restaurant, as it only has one set menu per night. Because we were a spontaneous arrival we did not have a reservation, but the staff accommodated us (including 2 small kids) after the main sitting, and we had a very nice meal. The breakfast in the morning was a standard cold buffet, but lots of choice including local cheese and freshly baked croissants.
This is a small, family run, 2 star hotel. , when we were (quickly!) asking around town for room prices, the hotel Sonnenberg was half the price of the 3 star hotels – so we found it to be a VERY good value, just don’t expect the Ritz.
All in all we were extremely pleased with our overnight stay at the Sonnenberg. It was a nice quaint Swiss mountain hotel that had spectacular views, was very comfortable, and was a good value… and THAT is a really lucky find in Switzerland!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canswiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2010

We have just returned from a wonderful weekend in Grindelwald. We were 6 couples staying the weekend in Hotel Sonnenberg, and we were all very satisfied with the hotel. We did not have any other meals in the hotel than breakfast, as the kitchen closed quite early, but the receptionist suggested a restaurant nearby where we had dinner. Breakfast was nice, the service was nice and the value for money was great as the price was quite low compared with neighboring hotels. The only "drawback" was that the hotel was situated 50 meters from the parking and there was no access with car, so for people with problems walking, this could be a problem. We rather saw it as a warmup for the next days' skiing. The hotel rooms were neat, and clean, the mattresses were of high quality and the view was breathtaking. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susiq_ch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2009

This was recommended by our Allianz travel guide. I traveled there with my 70 year old mother and a niece. We had one piece of luggage for the 3 day trip. Before we arrived, we called to see if they could send someone to help us with the bag. NO!
We walked up and up and up and finally got to the place. I inquired if someone could help us take the bag down in the morning and the reply was: "if you needed that, you should have just stayed down by the train station."
We were then told to take a look at the room to see if we like it. When I asked what if we don't? She replied that we would have to pay the full price anyway even if we decide not to stay here.
I have to say that this is a bit surprising given the quality of the various hotels, Inns, apartments and B&Bs we have stayed in in Switzerland (we live here) and certainly hope that this is an isolated incident.
The food at the hotel's restaurant was better than its service and reasonably priced with the half board option we took.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sliceOfToro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled on business
Thank sebseb92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Frustradamuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Lauberhorn
Hotel Lauberhorn
#18 of 41 in Grindelwald
180 reviews
0.1 mi away
Central Hotel Wolter
Central Hotel Wolter
#17 of 41 in Grindelwald
250 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Alpina Grindelwald
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Caprice
Hotel Caprice
#19 of 41 in Grindelwald
160 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hirschen
Hotel Hirschen
#27 of 41 in Grindelwald
88 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alpenhof Grindelwald
Hotel Alpenhof Grindelwald
#15 of 41 in Grindelwald
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sonnenberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sonnenberg

Address: Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Price Range: $170 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Sonnenberg 2*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Sonnenberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing