We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful apartment, shame about the hidden costs”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Jasmine Apartments

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grindelwald
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jasmine Apartments
UK
Level Contributor
54 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“Beautiful apartment, shame about the hidden costs”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2009

We stayed in one of the 4-bed apartments, and it was excellent. The kitchen is large and modern, and was equipped with a hob, oven fridge/freezer and dishwasher. There was also a toaster, kettle, tea-pot, caffetiere, washing up liquid/dishcloth/brush and one tea-towel. Two dishwasher tablets are provided. The dining area/lounge was large with ample seating. The TV has many English channels, including BBC1-2 and ITV1-3, and also has a DVD player. The bedrooms were lovely with very comfortable beds and pillows. The bathroom was a reasonable size with a bath/shower; one hand- and one bath-towel is provided per person per week, plus a bottle of liquid soap. The whole apartment was very modern and tastefully furnished. Our favourite aspect was the private balcony, which was huge and had views to the Wetterhorn to the east, the Eiger to the south and the Lauberhorn to the west. We loved the apartment, and could easily have stayed another week! For photos see the website, they show it very accurately.

Monica, the chalet manager, is helpful and very friendly and speaks good English. She will happily collect you and/or your bags from nearby stations.

There are just a couple of things that could be improved. As a previous reviewer has mentioned, a handtowel in the kitchen would be useful. There is also no sugar or salt provided in the kitchen, which would be a nice touch - far more convenient than bringing it yourself or buying it in large quantities from the supermarket. It may also help to know that they do not provide you with much toilet paper (one roll at most); if you ask you are given some more, but they obviously do not provide this routinely.

The only disappointment was the booking procedure. The owners will no longer take payments directly, you have to use what appears to be an external service which you access via the chalet website. This would be fine, except there is a £12 booking fee for using this service. Worse however was the non-optional, non-refundable "damage waiver" fee of £30; in the event of breakages/damages, you would not have to pay anything. I have no problem with paying a refundable deposit which I would forfeit in the event of any breakages, but I strongly resent being made to pay for damage I haven't caused! (We offered a deposit instead of this waiver fee, but were told it was not possible). Then, at the end of the booking procedure, a £6 fee was added for paying by credit card. So there was nearly £50 of unwanted extras added to our final bill, something which is not highlighted in the prices on the website. I realise booking fees and credit card fees are now common practice, but the damage waiver fee we felt was unacceptable.

Grindelwald is an expensive place, and even with these additions we decided that the apartment was still competitively priced (which is why, after much deliberation, we proceeded with the booking). However, these compulsory extras were a disappointment in an otherwise memorable stay.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel_S_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2009

We stayed at jasmin with our two daughters ages 7 and 9 in July. The apartments are very modern, clean and comfortable. The view is amazing from all angles on the balcony. A short walk to grindelwald steep but ok. Beds very confortable and pressure in shower amazing. Lovely area, lovely apartment and everyone very friendly. Our girls loved it. Great family holiday. We all want to return. Special memory Jungfrauhoch.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DublinThorns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2009

We rented a studio apartment during the last week of June 2009. The chalet is well located, very close to Grindelwald Bus and Railway stations. If you are walking back, there is a steep climb up that makes the journey a bit tougher but definitely shorter. The caretakers Monica and Jose live on the property. The friendly and easy access to them is a very big help if you are new to the region.The property is in excellent condition and very well looked after. We liked the ample space in the living area, the bathroom and the very modern kitchen. Our apartment also had a private balcony and easy access to a communal play area for kids of this property. The views of Eiger from the apartment was simply breathtaking.There is WiFi access, a big flat screen TV, DVD on request and a comfortable sofa if the weather forces you to stay indoors. But on a good day there is so much to do outdoors that probably the stay in the apartment would be a very short one! One word can sum up the apartment - modern. Another word can sum up the view of the mountains from the apartment - stunning. And a final word to describe the experience - smooth. The whole process of booking, check in, stay and check out was as hasslefree as you can imagine. Although we enjoyed our stay very much, I would still like to point out a few things that we felt would have enhanced the experience. Kitchen towels and a hair dryer were two things that we were expecting to find in a rental property of this type. We booked this apartment for some summer hiking expeditions from First. The Jungfrau region is a treasure for hikers and First is a good place to start. The weather was fantastic during our stay and we had quite a memorable experience. I would highly recommend this apartment if you are considering summer hiking in Switzerland.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asarkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2009

Last minute dash to Grindelwald for the end of the ski season and we could not have been more delighted. Our accommodation was bright, comfortable and clean and we received a warm welcome which is always a good start to a holiday. Jasmine apartments are well situated only a few minutes walk from the village. Great eascape to a classic Swiss chalet. Lots of local bars to choose from although we didn't stay up too late as we wanted to ski with a clear head! We live in Champagne Ardenne in France which makes it an easy 5 hour drive to the Swiss slopes. Will definately return.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grant E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2009

We stayed in the Matterhorn appartment (appt 6) which has 2 bedrooms (a double and a twin). The appartment was very clean, had fantastic views across the valley towards the Eiger, and was comfortably furnished and modern. This is real chocolate-box-chalet country and probably the most picturesque ski resort I've been to.
The onsite manager (Monica) is without dount the friendliest and most helpful person I think I've ever met.
It's a bit of a steep walk up to the village of Grindelwald, but only takes about 5-10 mins, and if you rent skis from Intersport Graf, they will keep your rental equipment free overnight so you don't have to trudge around the village in ski boots (and it's right next to the railway station).
Our Jungfrau area ski pass worked out at 50CHF for 5 days which covered the entire Grindelwald, Wengen and Murren area. This includes the cablecar up to the Piz Gloria on the Shilthorn. With this pass you get a 50% discount on the Jungfraubahn railway up to Jungfraujoch (Top of Europe).
Restaraunt prices were dear not excessive. In the village of Grindelwald expect to pay about 4-5CHF for a large beer and 20CHF for a main course meal. Bars on the slopes were about the same.
All in all, a great location, great mix of skiing and sightseeing in one of the most beautiful and architypal ski resorts in the Alps.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheChucklebus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2008

We stayed in the Pilatus studio for 2 weeks in September. The studio is very spacious with lots of natural light and spotless. There is a Soutn facing terrace with beautiful views to the Eiger and towards the Lauberhorn. The location of the chalet was perfect only 5 minutes from the main street but vey quiet and peaceful. Jenny and Dan were the perfect hosts and meeted all of our needs. They certainly offer more than just a self catered apartment. We will be back for sure!

  • Liked — Spacious,modern and clean
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mikebarrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2008

We stayed here for a week, and it was perfect for our needs. We had the Pilatus Studio, which had a large south-facing terrace as well as views to the west from both the terrace and studio. The view of the Eiger and surrounding mountains was very good, although as the chalet is situated below the main village it is perhaps not as dramatic as one from a more elevated position.

The location was extremely quiet, and noise from other guests was minimal. The chalet is only a 7-10 min walk from both the station and the Co-op supermarket, although it is very steep! The Co-op was very well stocked and sold just about everything you could need to prepare any meal. There is also a delicatessen next door which does more interesting, but much more expensive, items.

The studio itself was large, modern and light. The bathroom was a decent size and was clean. They supply one bath- and one hand-towel per person, but if you require more I recommend taking your own as they charge around 25 pounds for further towels! The bed was very firm, and the kitchen was large and well-equipped. It had a hob and an oven, a dishwasher (you will need to bring your own tablets), a large fridge with a freezer box, kettle, pots/pans/dishes for cooking, plenty of crockery, cutlery and utensils, and a cafetiere. It may help to know that there was no microwave or teapot.

The flat-screen TV has satellite with a bewildering array of channels, including many English channels. There were not, however, any Swiss channels, which made getting a local weather forecast very difficult. The Grindelwald tourist office only supplies a general one for the whole of the country.

The owners were friendly, and collected us from the station when we arrived. We made a couple of requests during the week which were promised but never delivered, but apart from that we had no problems.

We can highly recommend this as a self-catering base in Grindelwald, and look forward to returning soon.

  • Liked — Value for money adn well-equipped studio
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Anonymous100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Gletschergarten
Hotel Gletschergarten
#1 of 41 in Grindelwald
5.0 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
0.9 mi away
Alpenblick Hotel Pub & Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
#2 of 41 in Grindelwald
5.0 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#3 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tschuggen
Hotel Tschuggen
#7 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Grindelwald
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jasmine Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jasmine Apartments

Property: Jasmine Apartments
Address: Endweg, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Grindelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 7 modern and spacious self-catered apartments ranging from studios to a 3 bedroom. Each apartment has either a terrace or large balcony all facing south towards the mountains. Set in the beautiful resort of Grindelwald, a hiking mecca in the summer set beneath the foot of the Eiger mountain and a vast skiing area in the winter. Our apartments are all fully equipped. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Jasmine Apartments Grindelwald

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing