We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine dining in fabulous surroundings”

The Alpina Lounge & Bar
Ranked #14 of 51 Restaurants in Gstaad
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fine dining in fabulous surroundings”
Reviewed August 24, 2014

The 5-star Alpina Hotel is a newcomer to the Gstaad / Saanenland scene and we decided to try Sunday brunch at its restaurant out of curiosity. We were glad that we did. In the horrible parlance of our time, it exceeded expectations in so many ways.

First, arrival at this outstanding building is always an experience and, if you haven't already seen it, the Alpina is worth a visit for its interior architecture alone. Its design marries spacious, bright, contemporary spaces with traditional stone and old wood in an arts-and-crafts style that complements its mountain setting perfectly. Several of the top hotels in the region have recently been refurbished, not always successfully, and the Alpina is an object lesson to all of them.

We were warmly welcomed by the maitre d', who moved here from another fine hotel in Gstaad and is a pleasure to meet. The restaurant is airy and enjoys magnificent views of the Alps. It also benefits from being one of the few places in the village from which one does not get a view of the Alpina which, notwithstanding its many merits on the inside, is arguably a bit big on the outside. Service was well-drilled and professional. The buffet was fresh and appetising, which is not always the case even in Swiss 5-star hotels, with a good selection of dishes. Someone cares about this place.

Faults? None to speak of. The price for the buffet is comparable to others in this generally pricey region and we enjoyed excellent wine that was good value. We shall go again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 124Brian124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    11
    6
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ca
Level 6 Contributor
258 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“great for a drink or a meal”
Reviewed August 12, 2014

you will pay a high price, but if this matters don't visit the Alpina as its all about the best of the best. You can't deliver this without enough staff, excellent glassware and 10/10 ingredients. Don't miss the lounge, its one of a kind.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ask2416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
383 reviews
208 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“Excellent and soft atmosphere”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

What a great place to stay for a drink, nice and warm welcome, nice, fireplace, piano and singer come along and you just want the time to stops and enjoy. You feel like you have been wrapped in cotton and you lie down on a cloud...Excellent

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank jaynice1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheAlpina G, Manager at The Alpina Lounge & Bar, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Jaynice1

Many thanks for the excellent review. It makes us very happy that you felt so comfortable.
We hope to welcome you back soon.

Warm regards

Eric Favre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona del Mar, CA
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Bring lots of CHF's”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

My son and I popped in for a quick snack at the Alpina lounge. It had 2 other groups eating. Very quiet.
All the staff was attentive and pleasant.
It was a quick, quiet, expensive snack. No buzz.

Next time we will snack, ofor a similar price, at the Palace.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HiflyingB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Iconic Experience IT IS NOT-”
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

I beg to differ with the description of this hotel, and so do many friends! Most recent, Jan.1st, a group of us headed to the Alpina to watch the fireworks. Our friends who have chalet here for 25 years, had called 26 December to reserve for six, and were confirmed! Upon arrival at the bar lounge, we're told very rudely by maitre d' that they do not accept reservations! He finished his sentence with a curt "merci Madame and walked away with no solution! On three visits, the service was terrible! One time waited 40 minutes to be served, another time wrong drinks were served, another time water was spilled in our friends lap! This hotel one year after opening still does not have its act together. It's bar lounge staff does absolutely nothing to welcome guests, coming to eat and drink! None of our friends, could recommend this hotel to anyone; it is the furthest thing away from the iconic Alpine Experience it claims to be!,

Helpful?
4 Thank Josmshank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Alpina Lounge & Bar also viewed

 

Been to The Alpina Lounge & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing