We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on Earth”
Review of The Alpina Gstaad

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Alpina Gstaad
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Gstaad
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 25, 2014

The Alpina is a fantastic place: location, architecture, facilities, gorgeous service, and just sooooo cosy. Maybe the best place in the world to rest like Queen and King fo a few days.

Thank you to all the staff, we had a delicious stay!

Room Tip: All rooms are perfect, it's just a question of size (view on the mountains is guaranteed in ever...
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Pldegni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheAlpina G, Manager at The Alpina Gstaad, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

Dear Valued Guest

Greetings from Gstaad! The Alpina Gstaad and its Team would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your kind comments. Although it is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback, being “a project of passion” we believe that there is always room for improvement. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

With kind regards
Eric Favre and The Alpina Gstaad Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (410)
There are newer reviews for The Alpina Gstaad
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 411 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

We liked the stay in Alpina very much. The rooms are spacious and cozy, yet elegant, the food is excellent, the spa gorgeous. Reading dome negative comments I understood the authors. However, why should I not speak English to a nice Italian waiter or a polish spa staff member? I have not met any Swiss staff - so what.... I look forward to going again.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank BernhardZurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheAlpina G, Manager at The Alpina Gstaad, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

Dear Valued Guest

Greetings from sunny Gstaad!
Kindly note that we have integrated within our team an Innovation & Development department with the goal to improve and find solutions to our guests comments and desires while striving for the experiment and development of creative products, services and experiences. Kindly rest assured that The Alpina Gstaad Team will take prompt actions to improve and find solutions to the areas witch you have addressed. Your feedback was extremely valuable for us, we would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

With kind regards
Eric Favre and The Alpina Gstaad Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014

I am the president of a large travel agency. I just returned home from one of the best trips I have ever taken and I felt inclined to write about a hotel that is one of the finest I have ever stayed in my entire life. It is The Alpina Gstaad and I cannot say enough about it in terms of service, facilities and accommodations. From the second you drive up to the hotel you are taken aback by the entryway and the vast array of flowers everywhere. The staff is wonderful. We were greeted with smiling faces and whisked away to our rooms. Every room is different and are something you have to experience to believe. They have thought of every detail imaginable and the views from every room and terrace are breathtaking, showcasing the scenery for which Switzerland is famous. Every space in the hotel exudes the comfort of visiting a friend’s home. The spa is one of the finest I have ever visited. It has sauna, steam rooms, steam baths, cold baths, salt rooms, ice showers, hot showers, indoor and outdoor pools, juice bar, workout facility and every type of treatment room imaginable. There are so many facilities in the hotel from multiple bars, cigar rooms, restaurants and indoor and outdoor seating areas. I plan on making a return visit because I did not have enough time to explore the entire property. Gstaad is one of my favorite places I’ve visited, with fabulous restaurants, world class shopping and so many things to do. If you are visiting Switzerland, Gstaad is not to be missed and The Alpina Gstaad is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank TravelCorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheAlpina G, Manager at The Alpina Gstaad, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

Dear Valued Guest

Greetings from the beautiful Bernese Oberland! The Alpina Gstaad and its Team would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your positive review. Although it is always an honour to receive such positive comments, being “a project of passion” we believe that there is always room for improvement. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

With kind regards
Eric Favre and The Alpina Gstaad Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

Exquisite rooms, impeccable service, delicious food. One of the most beautiful hotels in the world with a majestic view of the surrounding mountains. It's not just a hotel stay it's an amazing. experience.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sylvia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheAlpina G, Manager at The Alpina Gstaad, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2014

Dear Sylvia B

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review. We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay. We will make sure to pass on to all The Alpina Gstaad Team your friendly words. It was a pleasure having you with us and we hope to welcome you again soon.

Warm regards from Gstaad, Eric Favre and The Alpina Gstaad Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014

We bicycled through the black limestone tunnel to the lobby entrance and began enjoying our stay in sheer paradise. Check in was quick, our bags were in our room before we got there and the hotel and our room was just gorgeous. The wooden ceilings and walls and the fireplace and the warm colors worked into the decor gave it a cozy alpine feeling, but the white carpet and plush furniture added an elegant touch. The two bathrooms were all travertine, there were two shower heads in the master shower and controls for lighting and curtains. From the outdoor patio, we could see mountains and enjoy the peaceful silence of Gstaad. All we heard outside were cowbells.

We enjoyed both the outdoor and indoor pool. From outdoors, you have lovely views all around you. Inside, the lighting changes and there are two hottubs and the whole deck is done in elaborate marble.

All the food was to die for. I'm not usually a foodie, but I could have sat at the outdoor patio in this restaurant 24 hours a day and never stopped eating. The lamb chops melted in my mouth, the creme brulee - accented with Chinese lemon and green tea sorbet had me groaning with bliss. The next morning's breakfast was equally delicious.

All the staff bent over backward to take care of us during our stay. They made us feel special and cared for all during our stay.

This was our all-time favorite hotel! This is an idyllic place for a romantic getaway or if you just need to be pampered and rejuvenate. I hope we will have the opportunity to visit again because we will always remember the Alpina Gstaad as a culinary and romantic paradise.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sabrina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheAlpina G, Manager at The Alpina Gstaad, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

Dear Sabrina D

Thank you for taking the time to value your stay at the Alpina Gstaad by writing this extensive report.
It is always a pleasure to read positive and supportive comments about our services !
We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards from Gstaad

Eric Favre
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

we just stayed for one night in that very nice hotel. Then arrival at the hotel is already an experience for itself. Friendly staff. Very nice decorated rooms. The decor in the whole hotel is great. The SPA is fantastic and huge. Ok, the prices are not for the fainthearted but why not pamper yourself once in a while. The Restaurant was also great but dont forget to bring your cheque book :) A nice treat is the free shuttle to the center of Gstaad.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RolandZug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheAlpina G, Manager at The Alpina Gstaad, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Dear Roland Zug

Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor. It is always a pleasure to read such positive comments regarding our guests’ experience.
We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again soon at The Alpina Gstaad.

Yours Sincerely,
Eric Favre
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

This must be one of the best hotels in the world ... a beautiful location in the Swiss Alps, an outstanding physical structure, lovely well-decorated rooms and suites, a really excellent team and a lovely outdoor pool area. We stayed in the Alpina three times last year and have come back again for a weekend stay ... This is a different world and one we will be returning to soon again. And, as an added plus, we have always met very interesting fellow guests during each of our stays.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LakeView10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheAlpina G, Manager at The Alpina Gstaad, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Dear LakeView10

First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay at The Alpina Gstaad. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our great location, the outdoor pool and the confortable rooms. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Gstaad.

Warm regards
Eric Favre
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gstaad
0.3 mi away
Le Grand Bellevue
Le Grand Bellevue
#2 of 21 in Gstaad
541 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gstaad Palace Hotel
Gstaad Palace Hotel
#3 of 21 in Gstaad
326 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ultima Gstaad
Ultima Gstaad
#12 of 21 in Gstaad
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
HUUS Hotel Gstaad
HUUS Hotel Gstaad
#5 of 21 in Gstaad
140 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Spitzhorn
Hotel Spitzhorn
#4 of 21 in Gstaad
237 reviews
7.2 mi away
Lenkerhof gourmet spa resort
Lenkerhof gourmet spa resort
#1 of 12 in Lenk im Simmental
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alpina Gstaad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alpina Gstaad

Address: Alpinastrasse 23, Gstaad, Saanen 3780, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Saanen > Gstaad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Gstaad
Price Range: $576 - $1,752 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Alpina Gstaad 5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alpina Gstaad is a luxury hotel in Switzerland for the world’s most discerning travellers opening December 2012. More than a place to stay in the Alps, it is a new icon for Gstaad combining Swiss tradition and thoughtful luxury. The hotel’s design makes use of materials and craftsmanship typical to the region, including centuries-old fir wood crafted by master artisans. The result goes beyond Swiss stereotypes to create a fresh interpretation of Alpine chic. Facilities include 56 rooms and suites, Japanese cuisine from Megu, a Cuban cigar room and a Swiss ‘Stübli’ restaurant. Other year-round attractions include our Six Senses Spa, indoor and outdoor pools, and alpine activities in the Bernese Oberland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Alpina Gstaad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing