We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, and sensational value”
Review of Hotel Arc-en-ciel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Arc-en-ciel
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Gstaad
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
140 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
“Great hotel, and sensational value”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

No, this is not the Palace, or the Grand, but it costs a fraction as much, and in many ways is just as nice. If you have young children...say between about 3 and 7, there is NO other choice in Gstaad as far as I'm concerned. The amenities for children in this hotel are amazing. There are not one but two indoor playrooms, including slides, climbing wall, and a bunch of other goodies that kids love. An outdoor playground for good weather.....and the crown jewel (at least as far as my son was concerned).....a mini race track with little electric cars that allow kids to drive a car around a small track in complete safety. My son was over the moon.

There are also many bicycles on site, that are free for hotel guests.

The rooms are very nice, at least 4 star in quality, and in some ways better than the Palace, which costs three times as much. Service is 5 star all the way, including evening maid service, instant and friendly room service, and smiles from every employee.

The grounds aren't extensive, as they are at the Grand and Palace, but there is a nice enough outdoor pool, and there is a nice spa.

Food is good, though there is only one restaurant, though in all fairness it has a pretty wide range of cuisines on offer.

The bottom line is that if you don't mind paying 2 or 3 times as much for the Palace of Grand, you will get a bit more, though not that much, to be honest. If money is of ANY consequence to you, the Arc en Ciel is the only choice.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Johnb8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    61
    12
    4
    2
See reviews for
43
55
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We spent 7 nights here during August 2012 and definitely plan to return.

Gstaad is a lovely town with all the amenities you need (supermarkets, pharmacies, restaurants etc) as well as a number of high end designer boutiques. It is clearly an upmarket town and hence the accommodation options were a little pricier than for other towns. It offers fantastic hiking possibilities and looked like it would offer good ski options in winter. Train and bus transport options are available, although we did find that sometimes there was a long wait between connections.

The hotel is a ten minute walk from the centre of town and train station, and consequently is very quiet and peaceful. It is also located next door to a cable car/gondola which although not operating over summer, would be very convenient in winter.

We had a junior suite which was pricey, but it was spacious and included a very functional balcony. The bathroom was modern and the views were beautiful. The hotel has an outdoor pool, an outdoor dodgem car track for children, an indoor playroom for children, 3 restaurants with a wide range of options and car parking. Although there is a spa, this needs to be booked and paid for. There are also self catering apartments available.

All staff members were very helpful during our stay - particularly the concierge who helped us plan our hikes. The restaurant was well priced and very popular with locals. We ended up eating all our meals here.

Overall, we really enjoyed this hotel and plan to return next summer or possibly in winter.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sashenka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
69 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

We ate here after we'd hiked down from the cable car and we were pretty tired, although it was late the staff organised a table for us and went to check what was available - but basically we could have what we wanted. So we opted for two salads with wine and a long rest!! We were there a long time bu there was no pressure on us to leave. A nice place with good food.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Divaphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2012

We stayed here for 5 days during January 2012. The room was great, comfortable, large by
European standards. The views were beautiful. The staff was attentive and helpful. Downtown was a short 5 minute walk. Would love to go back.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L3qtrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

We stayed only one night in a superior room in the Residence near the hotel. The room was large, cosy and modern for this kind of "chalet architecture". No bath tub but a beautiful design bathroom. Breakfast (included) is awesome and staff people were very nice in the morning. At night, in the restaurant, the Maitre D' was not very friendly to us (two gay male sharing dinner was apparently not his cup of tea).

Only one problem to mention: not enough hot water for my partner who took his shower after me in the morning!

Room Tip: Spa is private and is not included in the room price (you have to pay 200 francs for a 3 hours visit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hixaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
memphis, tn
Level Contributor
120 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2011

I stayed here with nine family members ages 9-79. We took over the 4th floor and had plenty of room. The hotel is directly across from the ski rental place and right next to the slopes. It is ideal if you are here on a ski vacation. It is an easy 10 minute walk to the center of town if you want to explore the shops and restaurants. The restaurant at the hotel has an excellent buffet style breakfast which is included and a great pizza at night if you choose to stay in.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank popartpooch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2010

There rooms were pretty big for the money we paid, nice terrace and big bathroom.
The breakfast buffet was really awesome: everything you might want to eat in the morning was there. Eggs, sausages, potato, juice, the great swiss "Sunday bread" (even if it was not Sunday), muesli, hand-made jam, croissant, and much more.
Downstairs there is also a restaurant/pizzeria and if it's too cold to walk to the city center (which is just 5-10 min away) you can definitely eat there: the food is good and is not as expensive as most hotel's restaurant are.

I went in winter so it was frozen, but there was also a nice swimming pool outside.

The only problem I found was Internet connection: there were cable ADSL in the room, wifi and a internet access on public PC, but all of them were for a fee. And the fee was pretty high for what I'm used: 5CHF for half an hour for the WiFi, and I think it was 30CHF for 24hrs.
I would expected the shared kiosk to be free at least.
Not really a big problem as if you go skiing or relaxing you can get along with the phone for checking emails, facebook and twitter and if you are from Switzerland or have a cheap data roaming plan on the phone this costs less then the internet access at the hotel, but still, at least one out of three internet options should be free.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simonech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gstaad hotels
1.9 mi away
HUUS Hotel Gstaad
HUUS Hotel Gstaad
#6 of 21 in Gstaad
91 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Spitzhorn
Hotel Spitzhorn
#3 of 21 in Gstaad
220 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Alpina Gstaad
The Alpina Gstaad
#1 of 21 in Gstaad
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Solsana
Hotel Solsana
#16 of 21 in Gstaad
53 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Le Grand Chalet
Hotel Le Grand Chalet
#9 of 21 in Gstaad
108 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ultima Gstaad
Ultima Gstaad
#18 of 21 in Gstaad
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arc-en-ciel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arc-en-ciel

Property: Hotel Arc-en-ciel
Address: Egglistrasse 24, Gstaad, Saanen 3780, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Saanen > Gstaad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Gstaad
#7 Luxury Hotel in Gstaad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Arc-en-ciel 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful chalet-hotel, personally run by the family Matti, has a peaceful location near cable-cars and ski-slopes. You will immediately feel at home in our comfortable rooms and apartments in the hotel and Residence. Cosy Pizzeria, restaurant "La Sarine" and Wintergarden with Swiss and Italian specialities. Cosy lounge with fireplace. Private Spa & Fitness. Massage and beauty treatments. For children we offer: bikes, playrooms and playground with electric cars and in summer a heated pool. Enjoy a relaxing holiday in the Swiss mountains. The hotel is open all year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Arc-en-ciel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Arc En Ciel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing