We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extraordinary service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Alpine Lodge Gstaad - Saanen
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Gstaad
Certificate of Excellence
Watertown, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Extraordinary service”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We visited on a bike tour, and pulled up late in the day. They greeted us by name, and started us with a drink before we went to our room. They had already delivered our luggage to the room. Extremely nice indoor-outdoor pool. The restaurant was good but not great, but the room and the service couldn't have been nicer.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dbates509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    59
    18
    11
    2
See reviews for
54
69
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Booked for a week ended up staying for 10 days and would have stayed longer but unfortunately the hotel was fully booked by then. Totally harmonious holiday for everyone, in our case a family with one child. We stayed in August while there is a Super Sommer Program, which is just terrific. In the morning rafting, mountain climbing, canoeing with a swim in the icy cold lake. Hiking in the beautiful mountain surroundings plucking wild strawberries and listening to the bells of the cows. (Finally understand the Milka chocolate commercial). Hanging around the pool in the afternoons, sipping the complimentary afternoon tea plus cake and in the evenings a wonderful dinner, with ample opportunity for our child to run off to play on the grass field in between courses. Oh an did I mention the appartment, it was simply gorgeous, old skool design, ridiculuously large with a fireplace as if we just stepped into a James Bond film. As it appeared later on, all the rooms are different, as we stayed in a smaller, but still large, very modern design room the last couple of days. These owners understand what hospitality means! Completely recommend this hotel.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank yanyan222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We can't wait to visit this hotel again. We stayed last year July 2012, and have found nothing has been able to match it. The indoor out door pool was lovely, there is a petting zoo walking distance from the hotel. The bus stop is not far from the hotel and the hotel picked us up and dropped us off at the station a number of times. The restaurant in the hotel is lovely and the children's food and menu is spot on.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShelleyLloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

I don't think it is possible to find fault with the service or facilities of this hotel. We stayed there last year, and have found that the baseline it set has made us realise what a Gem it is in Europe.
We stayed a week and were lucky enough to have one of the apartments facing the hotel, the views were spectacular and accommodation spacious and cosy.
The hotel facilities are amazing, and made staying with a young family very easy. The restaurant was excellent and the children's food absolutely spot on, they loved it. Whilst the hotel is not in either Gstaad or Saanen the public transport means that it is easy to get around, and the hotel picked us up and dropped us off at the stations a number of times.
Excellent accommodation at a fair price in a great location.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
155 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Avoid staying in cheaper north facing rooms. Checked into a room that had such a stench that I needed to book into another hotel. Hotel is not in Saanen or Gstaad so travellers need to have a car. Room offered was tiny.

Room Tip: Avoid north facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vazerol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blonay, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

After a 15 minute stroll from Saanen train station, my wife and I arrived at the Hotel Alpine Lodge, not really knowing what to expect. We had gone for a little get away and from the moment we entered the door we knew we had made a good choice.

Alex, the receptionist, took our names to check the booking before telling us to leave our bags with him. He quickly fetched us a drink of our choice and told us to go sit on the patio and that the rest of the details could be sorted after we had relaxed for a minute or 2.

We went and sat in the sun, feeling pampered before we even got started! After finishing our drinks, we met Alex at the desk who showed us to our unique room. We had the hiking suite, which had a directions post in case you couldnt find the bed, computer etc. 1 word of warning - they have actual rocks as part of the floor in that room so watch out for stubbed toes!

The room was great. Fresh apples on the bed, large balcony, good bathroom. No minibar but no matter, the bar downstairs is only 2 minutes away and a wonderful setting.

We didnt try the food whilst we were there opting to explore Gstaad and Saanen instead. However we were given a tour and the dining area was very nice indeed.

I would not think twice about staying there if we go back to the area. After many years of traveling, and many 4-5* hotels visited, I dont think I have had such good service from the 1st second as I did there. Thanks again Alex, you made that little extra effort which made our weekend that little bit more special.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mattunwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Me and my wife had a 1 night stay at the Alpine Lodge (06.03.2013) in Saanen, a little chalet village near the wonderful city of Gstaad (5 minutes by car).
The stay was a gift (smartbox) that we got for our marriage, and we couldn't be more satisfied from our choice.
When we arrived at the hotel we could easily find a park in front of the structure (for free). At the reception were on duty Alex, a young blond man that fixed all the best way possible. At first he invited us for a glass prosecco, then he showed us the house and at the end he presented our room, giving us the key (a very original one). The room was spacious, clean and very welcoming.
Later we went to the restaurant for the dinner. We enjoyed a great high-class treatment from the waiters (a plus also to them); another chapter is dedicated to the Maitre of the restaurant, a real showman. The food was delicious, from the starter until the dessert. The same for the breakfast, an unpayable buffet which comprends every kind of food, which guarantees you the best mood to start a great day.
The sleep-quality has been very good.
Our experience has been positive from all the aspects. We had not time to test the pools and the other facilities but maybe next time will be possible.
We suggest to everybody to have a stay at this hotel. Great value for money (considering that the place is practically in Gstaad, comparated to other hotels).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LucMayfair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlobRes_14131, Owner at Hotel Alpine Lodge Gstaad - Saanen, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Mrs. Camasso

Thank youu very much for your review. We are glad the Hotel Alpine Lodge was a great fit for you and your family vacation. Glad our kind staff, pristine accommodations and spacious guest rooms exceeded expectations during your stay with us. It would be a pleasure to serve you again soon here in Gstaad.

Greetings the Alpine Lodge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gstaad
1.0 mi away
The Alpina Gstaad
The Alpina Gstaad
#1 of 21 in Gstaad
374 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Spitzhorn
Hotel Spitzhorn
#3 of 21 in Gstaad
220 reviews
0.6 mi away
HUUS Hotel Gstaad
HUUS Hotel Gstaad
#6 of 21 in Gstaad
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Arc-en-ciel
Hotel Arc-en-ciel
#8 of 21 in Gstaad
150 reviews
1.1 mi away
Gstaad Palace Hotel
Gstaad Palace Hotel
#4 of 21 in Gstaad
277 reviews
1.4 mi away
ERMITAGE Wellness- & Spa-Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alpine Lodge Gstaad - Saanen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alpine Lodge Gstaad - Saanen

Property: Hotel Alpine Lodge Gstaad - Saanen
Address: Wyssmuelleriweg 10, Gstaad, Saanen 3792, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Saanen > Gstaad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Gstaad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alpine Lodge Gstaad - Saanen 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Alpine Lodge Gstaad - Saanen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing