We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun & Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sonnenhof

Sonnenhof
Ranked #4 of 49 Restaurants in Gstaad
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Swiss, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Lugano
Level Contributor
86 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fun & Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

I love this restaurant and absolutely have to go each time I am in Gstaad. Their fillet that comes warm on a piece of slate is so delicious. And so was the tuna carpaccio I had. The crowd is always good there and we were 25 people and the service was impeccable. The wine list also merits a mention. The bill was atrocious but hey, it is Gstaad after all.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lopalops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    23
    5
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
90 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“My favorite restaurant!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

Definitely my favorite restaurant in the region. When is Gstaad always visit this restaurant. The veal Zurichoise is amazing and so is the tuna carpaccio. Also an amazing wine list with great friendly service. Must visit!!

Helpful?
Thank RAK1574
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Firenze
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic as always”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

We have been going for many years at Sonnenhof, went there again last week. The food was superb as always, we had a selle de chevreuil and a filet on the stone. When it comes sizzling on the table , it's a pure jo!. The ambiance is cosy but elegant, and the ladies attending the service, always smiling , attentive but discrete. In my opinion the best restaurant in Gstaad region.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“If you are going to Gstaad, don't leave without having dinner at Sonnenhof”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

Best place to eat white truffle pasta, superb service and a great view of the mountains , bit expensive but worth every penny

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DharmK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jersey
Level Contributor
76 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A stunning Sunday lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

We have been regular diners at the Sonnenhof for many years. It is delightful to eat at all seasons. We have often enjoyed lunch there on Christmas Day. We lunched there yesterday and were once again pleased to be sitting on its lovely terrace enjoying incredible October sunshine. In our view Erich Baumer is one of the most talented local chefs and his charming wife Louise always welcoming.The menu is always interesting with a good choice of seasonal dishes. On this visit we started with an amuse bouche of tuna, beautifully flavoured and spiced. We then ate ravioli, a wonderful mixed salad, a cream soup followed by pigeon with spaetzli, sea bass with vegetables and veal with mushrooms in a cream sauce and rosti- all excellent . Mint teas and coffee served with delicious petit fours concluded our lunch . We are always happy when we are able to return to the Sonnenhof , one of our most favourite restaurants.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mangerbien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sonnenhof also viewed

 

Been to Sonnenhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing